Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,035개의 평가
229개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

최상위 리뷰

CG
2020년 2월 10일

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
2020년 6월 24일

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

필터링 기준:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences의 228개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Naz Y

2017년 9월 1일

A perfect introduction course ! Lecturers, subjects, and slides are intriguing; the sources and further readings at the end of each week are amazing and rich.

교육 기관: Biani P S L

2017년 8월 2일

It is a simple and clear introduction to the current topics of philosophy of the cognitive sciences. Videos and additional readings are very interesting!

교육 기관: Eric R P

2018년 6월 13일

Los temas son fundamentales para iniciarse en el estudio de la cognición, a parte de los videos, las lecturas complementarias me parecieron excelentes.

교육 기관: Karanveer S

2017년 6월 2일

An amazing course where you get introduced to concepts like cognitive science, philosophy of mind, consciousness, etc. Simple and crisp content matter.

교육 기관: Himanshu D

2020년 8월 17일

A very helpful course that is easy to understand. Lecture Slides could have been better, especially the week 2 ones, but they were sufficient anyways.

교육 기관: Ilias P

2017년 8월 14일

A course for anyone interested in gaining a theoretical background about cognition,the brain and their links to artificial intelligence and robotics!

교육 기관: Christos G

2020년 6월 7일

Extremely interesting approach of cognition. I have been astonished! The structure of the course should be used an example for all online courses...

교육 기관: Martin W B

2020년 5월 27일

Embodied cognition is a new concept to me and very interesting. But it doesn't address the hard question of consciousness or the mind/body problem.

교육 기관: Frank R

2017년 4월 24일

Outstanding introductory philosophy course, taught in an accessible format by knowledgeable instructors. This is a rewarding and enjoyable course.

교육 기관: Hanna a

2020년 10월 1일

Great course! The course structure and material makes it easier to grasp the different concepts and makes navigating through the topics seamless!

교육 기관: Francisco A M

2017년 9월 26일

Fantastic experience. I really enjoyed the explanation of such complex topics. It is really a unique opportunity regarding philosophy of science.

교육 기관: Javier P M

2017년 12월 22일

Loved it. Never thought it was going to be this insightful. Grateful for running into this one and will tryout some more from this university.

교육 기관: Ipekpinar C

2018년 11월 25일

This course is quite helpful for the people who are coming from different disciplines just like me. It is quite interesting and informative.

교육 기관: FRANCISCO D C P G

2017년 4월 17일

The course focuses the top issues involving philsophy of sciences at present time, it is hosted by top figures in the field. Great course!

교육 기관: Michael T

2019년 5월 9일

Great. Very interesting, not an overwhelming amount of work, but a great starter for anyone interested in philosophy of the mind.

교육 기관: luis j

2019년 4월 20일

Fascinating, the course catches you from the first instances, the story is agile, interactive, enjoyable and very professional

교육 기관: Michael O

2020년 1월 7일

Very insightful introductory course on the subject with ample creatively shot video material and additional reading sources.

교육 기관: Essaq A R

2018년 3월 20일

At the first I would like to thank you from Edinburgh university to offered and especially thank you from all of my teachers

교육 기관: Yingyi Z

2018년 5월 16일

A very good introductory course to the philosophy of mind and machines. Ideas are well explained and very easy to follow.

교육 기관: Nguyen V L

2017년 5월 19일

This course has boarden my point of view and it also has shown me the link between artificial intelligent and philosophy.

교육 기관: Jamie H

2020년 5월 3일

Excellent course. I learned so much. Pairs really well with the first course on the philosophy of the physical sciences.

교육 기관: Jilly M

2019년 9월 2일

Awesome, I learned lots, loved the McGurk effect just for the name. Great intro to this interesting and growing field.

교육 기관: Karina R J

2017년 7월 9일

Thank you for a great and interesting course. It gave a lot of inspiration and new angels to how our brain thinks!:)

교육 기관: Salvatore F

2020년 5월 7일

Very fascinating tutorial. An open mind point of view about our brain and its relation with the world surrounding it

교육 기관: Laura V

2020년 4월 22일

It is a great introductory course, covering a vast variety of topics. I truly enjoyed taking it! Thank you so much!