Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
3,839개의 평가
869개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 855개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Gustavo B R B

Nov 11, 2015

Very good course, the classes were very elusive and the teacher is amazing.

교육 기관: Nico S

Sep 24, 2015

Muy bueno!

교육 기관: Antonio D J B Q

Nov 23, 2015

Was a great experience, I learned more about Philosophy and I developed more knowledge, Thanks!

교육 기관: Leyla G

Nov 06, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed taking part in this course. The modules covered a multitude of diverse branches of philosophy which helped me to broaden my knowledge of the subject overall and the lecturers were incredibly helpful in explaining simply, and with useful examples, new information. The course has further deepened my love for the subject and the platforms of assessment were challenging, but did not feel labourly. I would without a doubt recommend anybody, regardless of former experience of the subject, to partake in this course and I am highly glad to have had the experience.

교육 기관: Ujjwal B

Mar 07, 2016

This course is informative and enjoyable. I would highly recommend it to anyone interest in Philosophy!

교육 기관: Karolina K

Feb 07, 2018

Such a shame that my previous philosophy lessons were focusing on ancient philosophers only. This course gives you a whole new perspective, covering many philosophical questions from diverse points of view, including those ancients and the very modern ones. It makes you want to dig dipper! :)

교육 기관: Jean D B D

Sep 13, 2016

Very interesting

교육 기관: Chris

Aug 23, 2015

Good course,i absolutely gained more knowledge about human beliefs and thoughts.Thank you instructors.

교육 기관: AI L

Sep 16, 2015

So clear and objective. Love it.

교육 기관: 方冠华

Aug 26, 2017

A great introductory course. It makes me really curious about the answers to many fundamental questions, and also challenges the way I used to think about other things.

교육 기관: Vibert A M

Sep 18, 2015

A basic teaching of Philosophy. The idea of having specialists lecture in thei indivvidual concepts was a direct enhancement in the themes presented. I consider that the course will be repeated ,for several years.

교육 기관: Andrés A B

Sep 28, 2017

I loved the course, every topic was amazingly interesting, I loved the first week and the third week, both aspect moved me forward to learn more about those topics.

교육 기관: Adam M

Nov 10, 2015

A smooth and engaging initiation into philosophical thinking with a practical path amid this world filled with so many semantics and distorting propaganda.

교육 기관: Francisco P

Oct 30, 2015

I really enjoyed this course because contents were very interesting and contemporaneous. Reading about travelling time was a real pleasure. Teachers nice, quizzes and texts supported well my development. Congratulations.

교육 기관: 李锐

May 15, 2017

i don't take the course.

교육 기관: Sohail N K

Jun 08, 2017

An excellent course to make sense of philosophy... and I really loved the possibility of time travel... even though it was only an intellectual possibility ... kudos to the faculty to make it an interesting experience... thanks everyone.

교육 기관: Trang M N

Mar 04, 2017

I appreciate how some of my messy thoughts about the world is organized and justified when I finished this course. I would like to learn some more advanced courses because there are still many unanswered questions.

교육 기관: Carlos M

Jan 23, 2016

Excelente! Es una dicha poder acceder a la filosofía de una manera clara, simple, y sobretodo, para todo aquél estudiante buscador.

교육 기관: Lucas R P

Aug 30, 2015

Really informative and interesting course, learnt a lot and enjoyed it

교육 기관: Diana M

Oct 05, 2015

:)

교육 기관: Yasmin A H A

Apr 15, 2017

I've enjoyed this course greatly, and look forward to delve further into philosophy. I loved all of the talks by all the lecturers, and found their follow-up videos to be particularly helpful. Unfortunately, that also meant that there was no forum to access and discuss the questions posed by the lectures with other people taking the course, which I believe would have helped to hone my argumentative skills, which I believe is necessary to have (and further develop and enhance), when learning about philosophy.

Thank you very much for this amazing course. If you could introduce more philosophy courses (particularly ones that are more advanced and in depth), that would be great!

교육 기관: Lan Q L

Feb 13, 2017

Well prepared materials that provide simple, basic understanding of philosophy. Great effort from the team! Big thanks!

교육 기관: Omar A

Feb 01, 2016

Good course.

교육 기관: Tejaswi V A

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!

교육 기관: Deleted A

Dec 03, 2015

amazingly concise and well picked topics!