Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
7,973개의 평가
1,859개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT
2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG
2021년 4월 10일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,851개 리뷰 중 276~300

교육 기관: marc k

2019년 5월 27일

The course was a good introduction to parts of philosophy allowing for a non philosopher to begin learning the thought processes needed to want to take the next steps in a philosophic education. Thank you to the entire staff.

교육 기관: Atif G

2020년 6월 27일

Amazing Course

This course taught me the basic concept of philosophy, The way of teaching of all the teachers was very nice and interesting, the lectures were accompanied with examples which really helped a lot. Great course.

교육 기관: Martín P C

2018년 1월 26일

Very interesting class. Includes several pathways to engage understanding of philosophy in classical and contemporary ways. The videos are clear and effective. The quizzes are really interesting. A great introductory course.

교육 기관: Dženan M

2021년 1월 8일

I have gained some new and great insights into the way philosophy works. I learned new methods and recalled a lot of what I previously knew. Lecturers are brilliant and so are modules in which various topics are discussed.

교육 기관: Duygu B

2016년 12월 29일

Dave is a great narrator. He talks in an impressive way. So, everyone who watches the videos can understand it more easily. In addition to videos, there are also helpful documents. It was a very enjoyable course for me. :)

교육 기관: Diya C

2020년 9월 15일

This course is really amazing, because I've learnt about so many interesting facts, theories and they are all very necessary for my further studies. It's really fruitful. Thank you Coursera for such an amazing opportunity

교육 기관: Edison C

2020년 3월 18일

I really enjoyed the course, even though Im coming from a different branch of knowledge (engineering), its been a very nice approach. Absolutely recommended for those want to know more and explore the world of philosophy.

교육 기관: mahmood s m

2018년 12월 1일

great course , and i would love to thank the teachers of Edinburgh university , they helped a lot to understand and pass the course , i had a great time with those great teachers and subjects ,

thank you thank you so much

교육 기관: Francisco P

2015년 10월 30일

I really enjoyed this course because contents were very interesting and contemporaneous. Reading about travelling time was a real pleasure. Teachers nice, quizzes and texts supported well my development. Congratulations.

교육 기관: M V

2020년 5월 4일

Really nice and an intuitive course. I really liked the concept of giving us the options to choose the topic which interests us the most. I learnt a lot from this course and also am very much fascinated with philosophy.

교육 기관: Ravi

2020년 8월 17일

Loved the course thoroughly and so many interesting arguments in different fields of philosophy,great instructors and very explained sessions.It has gotten me more interested in the field of epistemology and free will

교육 기관: Pamela P

2020년 7월 30일

I enjoyed this course. I liked having a different instructor for each section, and I really loved the incorporation of contemporary topics that made it feel relevant to my life and fostered conversations with others.

교육 기관: Carlos E N V

2020년 6월 28일

Great introductory course to Philosophy, it makes you ask all the world around you, and with all these questions I guess you can make a real and positive changes to your set of mind and the societies in which we live.

교육 기관: Viktorija B

2020년 2월 3일

I really enjoyed this course! All the lecturers were obviously very dedicated to their topic. The content was fascinating and clearly presented, and I feel genuinely inspired to further pursue philosophy. Thank you!

교육 기관: Viktar K

2020년 7월 19일

An excellent course that introduces a viewer to a wide range of intresting philosophical questions. No prior knowledge of philosophy is required and the explanations are mostly clear even to a newbie in philosophy.

교육 기관: Norma J

2018년 2월 20일

This class provides a terrific, concise overview of basic terms and ideas, key philosophers over time, and arguments raised for and against. I appreciate especially the many links to free quality online references.

교육 기관: Trang N M

2017년 3월 3일

I appreciate how some of my messy thoughts about the world is organized and justified when I finished this course. I would like to learn some more advanced courses because there are still many unanswered questions.

교육 기관: Vibert A M

2015년 9월 18일

A basic teaching of Philosophy. The idea of having specialists lecture in thei indivvidual concepts was a direct enhancement in the themes presented. I consider that the course will be repeated ,for several years.

교육 기관: Onur Ç

2020년 10월 6일

WONDERFUL. Thanks to this course, I discovered the relationship between fields I do not know about philosophy and especially "time travel". Can you think about everything, but can you think about every thought?

교육 기관: JUAN H S B

2020년 7월 18일

Realmente un curso excelente y muy bueno, personalmente me ayudó a desarrollar nuevos planteamientos de mi ser y conciencia, obtuve nuevas herramientas para desenvolverme de mejor manera en el mundo filosófico.

교육 기관: Tamsin C

2016년 1월 19일

Excellent first week! Promises to be a very interesting course. Unfortunately, I won't get back to it for a while, due to other pressing projects, but I'm looking forward to exploring it more later in the year.

교육 기관: Ana K

2016년 1월 8일

Very interesting course with different approaches and topics on philosphy. Nice way to refresh knowledge or to get a new ones. Everything is really understandable with good videos and course materials provided.

교육 기관: Graeme C

2016년 1월 2일

Excellent introduction to the subject from a great cast of different and interesting characters. Subject covered to a depth that was accessible enough to a novice yet deep enough to be interesting and valuable.

교육 기관: Nicholas B

2021년 6월 9일

I​ commend the course and it's lecturers for bringing great content in a very accesible way. Their ability to truly teach fundamental concepts made it easy to grasp and encouraged further curiosity and study.

교육 기관: Alberto M

2020년 9월 27일

It was an amazing course and i enjoyed it just too much! I'm an electrical mechanical engineer but i love learning from different topics and choosing "Intro to Philosophy" was definetely a wonderful decision.