Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
8,349개의 평가
1,942개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

2015년 10월 7일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,943개 리뷰 중 1601~1625

교육 기관: KomodoKhan

2017년 12월 4일

An insightful course, doing well to present the student with the basis of philosophical thinking, although it may have introduced some more advanced topics too soon while missing a few of the basics. But it provides the necessary foundations for anyone wishing to further pursue the subject.

교육 기관: Jaybird O

2020년 5월 31일

Really exciting having so many different professors with varying styles. A very challenging course intellectually. Raises many, many provocative ideas. The tests were sometimes vaguely worded including some typos but generally a highly useful introduction to a broad, deep subject.

교육 기관: Hamdanil R

2016년 6월 25일

Good course. It covers various disciplines in philosophy (e.g. of science, of mind, ethics), with interesting presentation and discussion topics. However it doesn't feel very systematic. It feels more like a series of videos about philosophy than a holistic course at philosophy.

교육 기관: Andrew T

2015년 11월 20일

An exciting and worthwhile introduction to the philosophical fundamentals! While there was not as much focus on the major philosophers themselves as I was expecting, I gained a lot from this course and would recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about philosophy.

교육 기관: Jing Y

2016년 2월 10일

Very helpful introductory course for people who are interested in philosophy. Varied topics in each module and rich reference reading materials. The only problem I found is the lectures in some modules are too simple and not as inspiring and thought-provoking as some others.

교육 기관: Ervin J D P

2020년 9월 17일

Some lectures/topics really take a lot to absorb, which doesn't make it beginner-friendly, especially if it's to be labelled as an Introductory course. Nevertheless, it was still fun learning these concepts, though it may be hard for some to see or apply them in daily life.

교육 기관: Tom H

2019년 9월 21일

Briefly covers each of some of the larger topics within philosophy; morality, the law, epistemology, philosophy of mind, etc. The lectures are fairly well done but each topic is covered by a different teacher. People already familiar with philosophy may find it a bit basic.

교육 기관: Meghna V

2021년 7월 28일

I really liked the course content - a wide range of topics was covered with a good amount of depth.

However, I feel that the topics of 'consciousness', and 'individuality', would make a great addition to this course, because philosophy just seems incomplete without them :)

교육 기관: William P

2016년 3월 31일

From an engineer perspective this was hard to see obvious value in but i enjoyed the thought provoking topics. Some of the tests were very hard and the questions were not directly form the lectures while others were. Some presenters were hard to understand due to accent.

교육 기관: vanita T

2020년 8월 28일

I enjoyed this course. Curiosity about philosophy increased. contents of this course bring a new way to see philosophical arguments separately as per subjective fundamental questions. Readings will help me to conceptualized philosophical questions and arguments further.

교육 기관: Seyyed F A N

2021년 10월 10일

It was a great and exciting course. I only had problems with choosing options. Sometimes I couldn't finish a week (module) by finishing one of the options. So I had to do both of the options. I think that u have to get rid of this to option system or at least fix it.

교육 기관: Tom K

2022년 2월 5일

I​ really enjoyed taking this course. I felt that the way the course was organized made learning easier through the mid lecture quizes. I felt that the use of the forums made it easy to interact with other taking the course and contiue the learning out the lectures.

교육 기관: Sabrina B

2022년 2월 25일

Really very interesting, plenty of information, extremely good to open your mind and a great invitation to re-think a lot of ideas and previous conception of reality and ourselves. Thanks for give us this oportunity to enjoy such a interesting lectures for free.

교육 기관: Yee C H

2020년 4월 24일

As this is a Introduction courses, the course content that presented are fairly easy to understand for any new beginner. Is a good starting point for anyone who is intend to start to understand philosophy. Looking forward for much deeper courses for Philosophy.

교육 기관: Adem O M

2015년 9월 18일

a lovely introduction class. touches some of the most important philosophical fields and multiple approaches to said fields. if you are into philosophy in a beginner level, you should check this out (for the fancy steampunk clothes in week7 if nothing else)

교육 기관: Joe

2022년 5월 5일

I enjoyed the course. it was a good intro to various topics. My only real issue is the uselessness of the forum section. It's essenially dead and unfortunately means that the engagement aspect just doesnt exist which would be really useful for this course.

교육 기관: Huang Z

2020년 9월 25일

It's my first lesson taken in Coursera. It is a good lesson but some Chinese subtitles are wrong, this make some trouble to me. I hadn't take the whole lesson, however, I think this lesson is a little boring. Nevertheless, it still a good class, UpVote!

교육 기관: Akash S

2021년 12월 17일

Course is systematically structured and is a good launch pad into philosophy. I would recommend anyone interested in the subject to consider doing this course. However, a small caveat is that there are few lessons for which handouts aren't available.

교육 기관: LillyV

2021년 5월 26일

Great introduction into Philosophy. Several themes and philosophers and their ideas are introduced. The videos are clear and interesting. I would have liked some of the review questions to of a higher level, but overall I enjoyed this course a lot.

교육 기관: Alex M

2020년 2월 22일

Interesting course, gives a bird's eye view on the fundamental topics of philosophy. I'd prefer it to go deeper on some topics, like philosophy of science, but it's just an introduction and they had to cover everything in a relatively short time.

교육 기관: Ivan D G

2017년 8월 3일

I am an Engineer, always with a curiosity for Philosophy. This is an excellent course to understand some of the basic concepts in philosophy, but the best I got is the vocabulary, the meaning of language and some historic context.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Shivani M

2020년 9월 19일

This was a decent course for an introduction to Philosophy. The lectures and the topics were pretty thought provoking. It could have had maybe a few assignments apart from the quizes. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it and learned quite a lot.

교육 기관: SUNDAY M

2021년 4월 16일

Good course the teaching method are very good and it holds lot of skills and topics. Videos are short but giving lot of information. The course HELP with everyday life and how we live as societies and have different perspective.

교육 기관: Jaideep J

2019년 7월 8일

This course really helped me in exploring the field of Philosophy on the surface level which was my objective of joining the course. I still felt that course content was much tilted towards western culture and hence gave 4 star.

교육 기관: Zain A

2017년 1월 12일

This is an excellent course but some complex topics could have been explained more like Quantum indeterminacy and the time / travel part to help the new person grasp the idea. However, its an excellent course to start with!!