Chevron Left
Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,511개의 평가

강좌 소개

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

최상위 리뷰

ES

2022년 5월 4일

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

VS

2020년 6월 22일

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

필터링 기준:

Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop의 615개 리뷰 중 501~525

교육 기관: Jessica S

2020년 5월 10일

I love this course

교육 기관: AI L

2015년 9월 16일

Excellent dynamics.

교육 기관: Alexander P G

2018년 6월 6일

Loved this course.

교육 기관: Olga S

2017년 2월 18일

Juuuust fantastic!

교육 기관: Jhon E G

2015년 8월 25일

Just great! Thx.

교육 기관: Ojasvi G

2020년 8월 6일

I learnt so much

교육 기관: Debanjon M

2016년 2월 6일

Simply Splendid!

교육 기관: Gaurav R

2019년 3월 4일

A lot to learn.

교육 기관: Momo N

2015년 9월 10일

GREAT COURSE!!!

교육 기관: Myra F T

2017년 9월 14일

Great class!

교육 기관: LUIS O R G

2016년 3월 8일

Gran curso.

교육 기관: C E

2021년 3월 13일

Wonderful!

교육 기관: Djuro S

2016년 11월 11일

Inspiring!

교육 기관: MUHAMMED M K

2020년 8월 20일

Excellent

교육 기관: RobertBoucher

2017년 12월 28일

great fun

교육 기관: Ayman A

2021년 5월 31일

p​erfect

교육 기관: Diego S G

2018년 9월 27일

awesome!

교육 기관: Silvana A

2015년 10월 21일

¡Genial!

교육 기관: Luis C P D l R

2015년 10월 20일

Great!

교육 기관: Mario R P

2016년 1월 17일

S

교육 기관: Halimah A S

2016년 1월 3일

I

교육 기관: Angela B

2022년 6월 3일

While the content of the course was excellent, I felt that the assessment components were frustrating in that you were forced to wait until someone on the course, from whatever area of the universe, might give some feedback on your work.

I​'m sure I originally completed the work by the beginning of March and decided to cut my losses after that since I was waiting for an operation anyway.

I​ have learned a lot because the American approach is so different from poetry writing in Scotland.

I​ am simply critical of the time it took for feedback to reach me and feel that the staff from CalArts could perhaps re-think how to monitor the progress.

F​rom flagging up an issue, I realise that a lot of students did not have English as their first language. Having been a high school teacher of modern languages and now voluinteer in schools with the 826 organisation, The SuperPower Agency in Scotland, I realise that other students should be advised to be more tolerant and kinder to those whose first language is not English.

교육 기관: Randall S S

2020년 8월 17일

Really great introduction to poetry and its construction. Inspired me in a way that I did not anticipate. Douglas Kearney is both entertaining and knowledgeable. The exercises were well thought out and provided a challenge that led me to develop new skills. A couple downsides are in need of mention:

1) The expectations were fairly minimal. This suited me when I had a busy week, but left me wanting more instruction and more exercises during an average week. The expectations should be enough to require near daily writing, not a once a week process.

2) The peer review process is broken. Many of my peers did not take their reviews seriously. Instead they provided minimal, meaningless reviews or no review at all ("good" is not a review!). The course organizers should be monitoring this and asking these students to terminate.

Despite these real problems, I truly enjoyed the content and the exercises, and learned from the comments of other serious students.

교육 기관: Alden B

2018년 3월 5일

I found the course both interesting and helpful. I had always shied away from formal poetic forms, preferring free verse, but I really enjoyed writing the crown cinquain. In fact, after I wrote in that form, I also wrote a sestina (though not as part of the course). I used to be involved in theatre, and I recall how structural limitations often stimulated creative solutions; I made the same discovery when working within poetic limitations. I found most of the suggestions from other readers quite helpful and believe that they enabled me improve the poems that I submitted. The course was structured well, and the video lectures were clear. I thought the prompts were good. The only thing the course lacked was feedback from a professional poet (the teacher), but I understand that the volume of work and the finances would militate against personal attention. Thanks for the course.

교육 기관: Meher A

2017년 10월 25일

The revision process was the most frustrating and challenging part of this course. I felt that more instruction could have been provided on this process such as providing extra readings, especially on how to tell when your work is done/revised. The rhythm section was also very confusing and attempted to cram together a lot of information in one section so the course could do with being more evenly paced, rather than introducing us to complex concepts all at once. Overall though, for a course that is available for free, this was a great resource for someone interested in writing poetry. It was engaging, especially yhe videos, and inspiring, especially the poems that were used. It also made me more aware of the tools that a poet can use to make their poems better. Thank you so much!