Chevron Left
Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,506개의 평가

강좌 소개

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

최상위 리뷰

ES

2022년 5월 4일

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

2020년 6월 11일

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

필터링 기준:

Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop의 614개 리뷰 중 576~600

교육 기관: Aastha M

2016년 7월 11일

i find this course highly helpful to learn new aspects of poetry, embrace new thoughts and new ideas to write upon.

교육 기관: rick h

2022년 5월 12일

D​oug is excellent. Section 6 was not helpful. Some of the other studens' submissions were confusing.

교육 기관: Eric N

2019년 12월 23일

Some good ideas to progress your poems. Could be more interaction between participants.

교육 기관: trish d

2015년 9월 2일

Gently entertaining introduction to writing poetry with some good examples and advice.

교육 기관: Donna A

2022년 1월 19일

This course challenged me to think in ways I hadn't before (that's a good thing).

교육 기관: Safa S S

2020년 10월 15일

Nice experience. Very good and useful course to the English beginning poets

교육 기관: Shwetha

2019년 1월 21일

Great course! Recommend everyone who wants to write poetry to take this up!

교육 기관: Trish S

2015년 10월 17일

Very interesting and thought provoking. I found the instructor amusing.

교육 기관: Susan W

2016년 6월 6일

I enjoyed the ideas, but the peer feedback was less than helpful.

교육 기관: S S

2021년 5월 14일

Nice Course. Gave good insights and motivation to write poems

교육 기관: Michelle S

2021년 1월 4일

The prof is engaging, but it was not the course I needed.

교육 기관: Niharika B

2015년 10월 8일

I am finding it really interesting and helpful. :)

교육 기관: AJ D

2020년 6월 27일

Informative and creatively challenging.

교육 기관: Enyang W

2021년 4월 23일

the lecturer was soo cool!

교육 기관: Sumaiya A

2016년 7월 23일

very informative course.

교육 기관: Dr.Halowine C

2016년 6월 29일

It is a riveting

교육 기관: mario g

2020년 11월 1일

Excelente curso

교육 기관: Xhanti M

2015년 11월 19일

i

교육 기관: Brian B

2021년 8월 13일

Although the level of the course is very basic (it is definitely designed for total beginners), I appreciated the opportunity to write to a prompt and with a deadline, both of which kept me motivated. That said, the peer review system was a bit disappointing; it is important for people considering this class to understand that your workshop poems are ONLY reviewed by other people taking the class at the same time as you, so you are basically at their mercy. I appreciated most of the feedback I got, but I did have one peer reviewer who just wrote "nothing" in every single space where a written comment was required. This was a bit annoying since I had worked quite hard on the feedback that I provided for her!

I also must join the (many, many) other reviewers who have commented on the antics and silly energy of the instructor. While it was obvious that he was trying to keep the viewer engaged with all the jokes, banter, etc. I must admit it did get old... for several of the videos, I turned off the sound and just read the transcription.

I would recommend this class for people who want a very basic introduction to writing and appreciating poetry. More experienced writers might be less satisfied.

교육 기관: Nguyen C C A

2020년 5월 4일

The course material, assignments, and the instructor are fine. The only problem I have with this is the "Peer-graded Assignment", while a lot of the time they are helpful, there is a handful of people who have no idea what they are doing. They do not read the instruction (as for grading) at all and give the wrong mark (as in technical requirement, not in whether the poem sounds good or not). For example, it said "give 2 points if response to the other prompt" and yet the "peer" give 0 point? Some people cannot read and their response show that they have no knowledge about certain types of poem and their feedbacks are even sometimes contradictory? This same problem occur in other courses as well so I will stop using Coursera due to its inttelligent "peer" grading syste.

교육 기관: Carol M

2020년 6월 17일

I learned one thing from this course- that I write poetry in trochee, not iambs. I can't think of a poem that I've written that hasn't begun with a stress ... and emphasis. Best exercise of the course, for me, came in the Forms week. I gave writing in iambs a try and think that I should practice more as routine.

I have peer reviewed before and have found it helpful in revision. In this community, I'm not sure that all of its participants were familiar enough with poetics to closely review a poem. I would say that one reviewer would give insightful consideration of their read, and the second lacked experience in reading poetry.

With that said, learning one thing is learning something, so I was generally satisfied.

교육 기관: Scott D

2016년 11월 22일

Doug's lectures were great! He's entertaining and he gets the concepts across very clearly. I struggled with the course itself, however. The participation rate was low and the iOS app was so buggy I deleted it. The web interface was better but still difficult to work with.

The iOS app would forget I was in the course and lose my assignments. It also wouldn't let me open the discussion forums. With the technical problems and low participation I can only give the course 3/5.

교육 기관: Victoria B

2019년 7월 6일

I think this course is good if you're just starting out and want to know the basics. But it's not a great course for more advanced students. The peer graded assignments are a gamble because some people fail to understand what the assignment actually is before they try to grade your assignment. Also, I don't like how certain sections are heavily focused on rhythm and rhyme. This course isn't really geared toward free verse poets.

교육 기관: Elizabeth D

2016년 8월 1일

The annotations of the different poems were great and taught me a lot about different poetic elements, but the lectures were unbearably corny with all of the different sound effects and bits. I found myself reading the transcripts because I could not watch the videos without feeling like I was being talked down to or that the instructor didn't take the course seriously.