Chevron Left
Introduction to Probability and Data with R(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Introduction to Probability and Data with R 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
5,199개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

최상위 리뷰

AA

2021년 2월 24일

I always wanted to learn statistics from scratch, but I never had a good university teacher. Here I found a good teacher and also the opportunity to learn whenever I want ( and skipping parts I knew!)

AM

2021년 2월 7일

After trying several courses to get me started with R programming, this one came to the rescue and had all the info I wanted. It also provides a great way to practice through labs and a final project!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Probability and Data with R의 1,237개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Mariusz S

2016년 8월 16일

I really liked this course.

The course comprises of lectures, which are clear and are rich in examples, and of practical assignments, which you do in R.

The practical tasks is where the course shines - everything is explained very clearly, there is a lot of content, and the course works with databases that are huge (thousands of cases and hundreds of variables) and have some of the more common problems (eg. missing data). I have little to no prior programming experience, just for the record.

Mind you, this is an introductory course, as the name states, so don't expect to be a master of R or data handling after finishing it, but I feel I learned a lot here.

교육 기관: FLAVIA N L A

2020년 1월 6일

Excellent course. Classes were intense and the professor was very didactic. It took me around 10 hours a week of dedication, and the Final Project of the last week required around 40 hours of work. I am very pleased with the final result, but I think it is important to let it clear the real time expected of effort here. Unless you are already really familiarized with the concepts and with the R platform, the course requires a strong commitment. My final verdict: I am very grateful to have done a course of this quality from where I am. Thank you: professors, mentors, developers and fellow classmates! Every minute of my time was worthwhile with you.

교육 기관: Neringa B

2017년 10월 5일

Introduction to Probability and Data (by Duke University) is an excellent course. It's like a beautifully and clearly presented piece of the history of statistics. This course must be taken by all who are interested in the type and dynamics of relationships between various elements of life. At the same time, the duty and responsibility of mental reality (=ideology) is to reflect the actual reality. The dogmas of the traditional statistics revolve around a traditional family model which excludes present day gender diversity. This makes traditional statistics no longer reflective of the actual reality unless it incorporates gender diversity.

교육 기관: Blaize G

2019년 9월 3일

Very rigorous course. No you don't need programming experience to complete, however you will be thanking your self if you spend as much time throughout the week learning R as you do on the content of the course. I was stuck at the week 5 project for a while until I buckled down and spent a few days on Youtube and on Google learning R. So with that said, if you have no prior exposure to programming or Stats, this course is very difficult, however if you stick with it, it is very worth the time spent. My tip is to reset your deadlines as many times as you need to if the content is more difficult than you anticipated.

교육 기관: Tanika M

2020년 5월 18일

I really enjoyed taking this course. The accompanying book builds builds and teaches the concepts very well, and the videos are great resources to help solidify the readings. There is very occasionally some tricky wording in a quiz question, but it is barely an issue. Like many other reviewers, the Week 5 project stopped me in my tracks at it felt very daunting, but I then found further information from instructors/mentors on the forums, which were a great help (I would suggest maybe sharing some of the forum information in the project description, or linking to the forum more clearly for further support).

교육 기관: yc19f C

2017년 2월 23일

The course was well-structured and the instructor clearly illustrated statistical concepts to students who have no prior experience in the field. Although the lab assignment for each week may seem a bit stressful for beginners, the overall learning is highly inspiring and does prove rewarding as students finally get to apply the technical skills to their final project. Also, the guidance for each lab assignment was very helpful. It would be even better if there are example code answers for the lab questions, since some of the questions are a bit more complicated. Overall, this is a worth-taking course.

교육 기관: Marwa A E K

2019년 6월 18일

Though you may feel at the beginning that the pace is somewhat fast, but you'll learn a lot if you stick to the material and worked on the labs and the hands-on tutorials. Not to mention the project example in week 4, it was incredible I really liked learning through the errors and interpreting what are these errors and why they may arise. In the project I learned a lot, I felt it's not an easy task to start working on a dataset from A-Z with complete freedom to formulate research questions, clear the data and get the appropriate inference! Overall it was a great course that I really enjoyed :)

교육 기관: Deleted A

2017년 6월 15일

I really enjoyed this course - the instruction and materials were high quality and very helpful in clarifying statistical concepts that had seemed unnecessarily confusing to me prior to taking this course. The assignments were very helpful in teaching R, with the final assignment requiring slightly more familiarity in R than the first 4 weeks prepare students for. My advice for students who take this course is that if you have the time in the first 4 weeks, try to learn a bit more than is minimally required in R to be best prepared for the final project. Overall a great course!

교육 기관: Bharat K

2016년 7월 18일

One of the well made MOOCs. There are many courses in Coursera taught by good professors from good universities but are badly designed for an MOOC environment making it a bad experience. This course is really well designed. The contents is modular and lectures are split into easy to grasp chunks. The weekly lab exercises using R using real datasets is a plus. Though not much of R syntax is taught and it is up to us to explore(understandable since the goal of this course is not to teach R). The final project was a bit challenging but fun. The course 'mentors' are helpful.

교육 기관: William S H

2020년 5월 18일

Very clear and simple to follow along with. This allowed me to brush up on and formalize my stats knowledge a bit more, but I have no doubt that it would be good for a complete newbie. The lectures are succinct and comprehensive and there is a free online textbook for reinforcement as needed. Moreover, the R labs and project really add a LOT to the course, jumpstarting my knowledge of R, R studio, and how to perform some exploratory data analysis. For prospective data science folks, I recommend taking this in conjunction with The Data Scientist's Toolbox.

교육 기관: Mark F C

2017년 6월 30일

Great intro course into both stats and R. I especially like how the videos succinctly explain all the concepts in such short lessons, supplemented by the thorough readings that provide more details and the lessons in R.

The data analysis project, while challenging at first, did a good job of providing an interesting data set and forcing us to come up with the rest. If I had my hand held all the way through, I wouldn't have learned as much as I did, as I was forced to look throughout the internet for code to perform functions I was anxious to use.

교육 기관: Derpmaiden A

2019년 4월 10일

This is an excellent course to lay down the ground works for further courses within the specialization. You'll get the necessary introduction to statistics along with beginner level knowledge of the statistical tool R package. While certain area of the course, especially week 5 data analysis project, can be challenging. Know that the discussion forum is always there to help you if you are stuck. The quiz and project is never outside the scope of the course materials. Totally would recommend this course for anyone who interested in statistics.

교육 기관: Erin A

2019년 10월 18일

This course made principles of probability interesting, going beyond the usual examples of coin flips, dice rolls, and card draws. The discussion about the limits of which observed trends can be applied to a greater population of interest was clear and the project gave us an opportunity to put it into practice ourselves. I especially liked the opportunity to ask questions of a large dataset and generate tables of data and graphs to illustrate these tables a bit more clearly. I feel I now have a good foundation upon which to build!

교육 기관: Filipe L L

2022년 5월 10일

Excelente equilíbrio entre teoria e prática. O material de leitura é muito bem elaborado e bastante completo. As aulas são excelentes, vídeos curtos que focam diretamente no assunto em questão, com uma apresentação bastante visual e compreensível. Exercícios bem equilibrados entre as funções matemáticas e seus correspondentes na linuagem R. O material de leitura possui mais de 400 páginas, mas não se assuste, esse curso cobre pouco mais de 150 e o restante se refere aos demais cursos da série. Curso altamente recomendável.

교육 기관: Monique O V

2020년 2월 19일

I highly recommend this instructor and this course! Excellent teaching, good practical examples that show you why statistics are such a useful technique, very clear lectures, good step-by-step explanations of solving example problems. The free textbook (written by the instructor) that accompanies the course is likewise excellent. If you watch the lectures, read the book, do the problem exercises at the end of each section of the book, you will pick up an excellent grounding in statistics.

교육 기관: Lenka B

2020년 4월 24일

I enjoyed the course very much. I appreciated that the course was teaching practical skills that we could immediately apply to solve problems using real data. I was pleasantly surprised that I was able to explore a big dataset from a US survey, formulate my own questions and actually get some answers! Although I found some of the assignments challenging, and I spent on them more time than expected, it was worth it. I guess it helps to know some basics of R programming beforehand.

교육 기관: Richard N B A

2016년 4월 13일

Interesting, information-dense and well presented lectures by someone who obviously has a deep understanding of the topics and who is passionate about teaching the subject. Added to that: a great course textbook and useful R tutorials with a focus on commonly used libraries such as dplyr and ggplot. Beginner and intermediate statistics students, as well as teachers interested in the presentation of statistics theory and practice, can't go wrong with this course.

교육 기관: Grace I E

2022년 4월 1일

Great course! The tutor is exceptional and the hands on practicals were very thorough. It was almost unbelievable that a person like me with no prior knowledge in any programming language could have so much fun learning one for the very first time. However, I feel it might be a little more helpful if the introductory instructions at the Week 1 lab could be a little more comprehensive as some of us actually have absolutely no prior knowledge with R.

교육 기관: Nur H J

2020년 9월 24일

The lecture were great and it was easy to digest and remember. At first, it was hard trying to familiarise with R and understanding the technical aspects of R programming but I survived the course and was able to complete the assignment. I would say that the most learning came from my own peers through the discussion forums and peer-review assignment. This course has definitely increased my interest in learning R and performing data analysis with R.

교육 기관: Sujoy S

2017년 10월 18일

Instructor is excellent. While I bought the recommended book I hardly referred to it. The response from the mentors (especially David Hood) in the discussion forum to every question has been very prompt and precise. Overall the combination of the Instructor, the illustrations in the videos, the practice tests and the online support of the mentors makes it an ideal online course. I was able to finish this despite being in a fairly demanding full time

교육 기관: LIZBETH P B C

2020년 7월 22일

Al enfrentarme al proyecto final me di cuenta que quería hacer muchas cosas y no contaba con las herramientas, tal vez porque lo que quería realizar se encontraba en un nivel más avanzado así que accedí a buscar más info en internet. Descubrí que podemos buscar más ayuda por fuera del curso y que no debe ser una limitación, aunque me tomó días completar mi proyecto traté de hacerlo lo mejor posible. Muchas gracias por lo aprendido en este curso!

교육 기관: Awani B

2020년 7월 20일

The course was very good! The instructor explained the concepts very clearly. She also took effort to differentiate between commonly confused concepts. The final project in R was tough, but through it I really used my own knowledge to approach a question like an actual research project. I also learned to search for R commands that were not taught in the course with the help of the RStudio cheatsheets and online platforms like Stack Exchange.

교육 기관: roxana t

2020년 2월 10일

Excellent introduction to R and probability. The lectures were very clear and well structured.

I particularly enjoyed the final project, and the fact that we were given free reign over the research topics: what questions to ask, and also how to structure the answers. It is an great opportunity to further the knowledge acquired during the lectures and become familiar with R capabilities. The feedback from the other students was very valuable.

교육 기관: Aditya

2021년 5월 25일

It is the best course I have taken till now on Coursera. Having a python background, my only concern was that I would have to learn R for this course and I am sure there are others in the same boat. My advice to them - Take this course anyway. You will build a strong grasp on probability, and also end up learning R (Understanding its basics barely takes time since the syntax is just as easy as Python) and open up a myriad of opportunities!

교육 기관: Cecilia L

2019년 6월 25일

Mine Cetinkeya-Rundel' explains the concepts in a very very clear manner.

I actually started with other statistics course on Coursera. But found it going too fast. A lot of ideas were poorly presented. I was quite frustrated with one topic, so I searched online for detail elaboration and found Mine Cetinkeya-Rundel's youtube videos. Her deliberate explanation built my confidence. Hence now I'm at her class and I really enjoy it overall.