Chevron Left
Functional Programming in Scala Capstone(으)로 돌아가기

로잔연방공과대학교의 Functional Programming in Scala Capstone 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
537개의 평가
92개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In the final capstone project you will apply the skills you learned by building a large data-intensive application using real-world data. You will implement a complete application processing several gigabytes of data. This application will show interactive visualizations of the evolution of temperatures over time all over the world. The development of such an application will involve: — transforming data provided by weather stations into meaningful information like, for instance, the average temperature of each point of the globe over the last ten years ; — then, making images from this information by using spatial and linear interpolation techniques ; — finally, implementing how the user interface will react to users’ actions....

최상위 리뷰

MP

2019년 9월 7일

The capstone project has done a fantastic job of drilling in some of the important fundamentals taught in the rest of the courses. It is definitely worth taking if you've done the rest of the courses.

KB

2017년 6월 13일

Good course, some of the assignments could have been more explicit with expectations in cases where specific implementation details matter but the forums were helpful in that regard anyways.

필터링 기준:

Functional Programming in Scala Capstone의 90개 리뷰 중 76~90

교육 기관: Роман В

2018년 6월 24일

Milestones 1-3 was OK but milestone 4 require a much more efficient solution. And the only info grader gives you is the message about timeout. It would be better if requirements for milestones 1-3 were harder to fullfill or milestone 4 would not depend on previous code. But it depends and if your solution is inefficient it's very painful to search the problem all around the code. It's offered to use spark and other tools in this project but using spark is also painful. I get inconsistent result from grader with occasional OutOfMemory exceptions, but this project cries to be implemented with spark. I've learned something during this course but it was too stressfull and painful.

교육 기관: Patrik I

2020년 6월 6일

I'm sad to say that the last course in the specialization was the worst. The grader functions made it quite cumbersome to use Spark, which the test of the specialization was about.

You cannot use Spark throughout the course, because of the grader functions. You have to jump in and out of the Spark domain, which hurts performance and will not allow you to write a complete Spark program.

교육 기관: Iurii S

2017년 11월 19일

Would have liked more tests provided with the capstone to supplement often vague specifications. Feedback from autograder is often obscure as well as it refers to some input parameters of the randomized test - hard to take guidance in code improvement from it.

교육 기관: David P

2017년 6월 16일

Tough to design a capstone for a course, but I was never really able to get excited about the capstone project. It felt tedious. Not sure if this is the course organizers fault thought...

교육 기관: Jędrzej B

2020년 5월 22일

More about number crunching than fp. The dataset is within the jar, which caused a lot of problems and excluded efficient solutions (and the course is about efficiency as well).

교육 기관: Erickzon M T C

2021년 10월 27일

Creo que los ejercicios y trabajos deberian ser mas de aplicacion que de algoritmia ya que no permite analizar más los métodos que usaras en vez del algoritmo.

교육 기관: Kyle L

2017년 7월 21일

I have finished previous 4 courses, they are excellent. But this one not easy to understand, doesn't have some simple test cases.

교육 기관: Partha

2018년 3월 20일

Lots of ambiguity in the course assignment, especially the 5th week one. Also response from teaching staff is very poor.

교육 기관: joshua

2017년 7월 17일

Overall I liked the course but some of the grading output was hard to understand what exactly I was getting wrong.

교육 기관: Anton

2017년 5월 25일

It was too algorithmically and math heavy. Also, it would have been good to have more videos.

교육 기관: Canh S L

2017년 4월 21일

Good project but instruction is a bit draft. Probably because I joined their first ever one.

교육 기관: Ciprian L

2018년 1월 19일

too much UI

교육 기관: Will D

2019년 7월 16일

I appreciate how hard it can be to write coding assignments. Especially in this case it seems as though the limitations stipulated by Coursera may have been quite restrictive for a big data spark project. However, I was really disappointed with this course. Rather than getting to test out my scala/spark skills I found myself trying to shoehorn functions into the methods provided by the grader only to have them fail unexpectedly with little feedback. Some more pointers on how to setup appropriate unit tests would also have been quite helpful. It seemed not so straight forward for spark.

교육 기관: Nils-Helge G H

2017년 7월 13일

There were too much ambiguity in the assignments. The structure and definition of the assignments made it unclear and difficult to solve with some of the included frameworks. It would be a lot better having a stricter definition and limit it to one or two frameworks that were suitable for the specific definition of the assignments.

교육 기관: Adriaan T

2017년 4월 12일

For a course that requires you to work on your own project, it still forces you to follow a code skeleton outline. This limits the freedom with which to tackle the project's issue. There is not much guidance or support from course organizers, which makes this course not very educative.