Chevron Left
Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)(으)로 돌아가기

미시간주립대학교의 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
545개의 평가
218개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/423035246/6b3c18c4c5 This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

최상위 리뷰

AA

Jun 14, 2016

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

JF

Sep 28, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

필터링 기준:

Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)의 215개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Gill K

Aug 06, 2019

I loved this - wanted a "companion" to keep me going on the latest script idea - and found many! David's course is really user-friendly and introduced me to new approaches which made the process much easier than what I've done in the past. I've got a first draft I'm genuinely happy with - very highly recommend this!

교육 기관: Abraham G V

May 11, 2019

I enjoyed the experience of having to create my own story from scratch. I thought I knew everything about creating characters and scripts, but it turns out it's a little bit more complex than I expected. Anyways, I enjoyed it very much and want to keep creating more and more amazing stories to share with the world.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Jun 20, 2017

No plans to be a script writer but now have an appreciation of those so engaged. A very demanding profession with creativity on a deadline. Not for me, but respect for those so engaged. Additionally, able to watch and appreciate the structure of content ... definitely enhanced viewing and reading .. forsooth.

교육 기관: Christina B

Jun 05, 2020

Great experience and feedback from participants. I do wish there was a way to respond to comments for the specific assignments. Some people asked questions (TA included) that I didn't get a chance to respond to. But all in all, great course. I'm presently taking the course for to complete a screenplay.

교육 기관: Fonda J

Nov 15, 2016

This was a great course for anyone who has ever wanted to try their hand at script writing. I am brand new to script writing and I applied every lesson I learned in this course and did some research on my own to develop my pilot. You will feel accomplished once you complete this class, it is worth it!

교육 기관: Nischal

Jun 06, 2020

I learned what i always wanted to and have wrote something spectacular, hope you see my work in the coming years. The guide helps to execute our vision step by step and we get to learn how to write what we think in a right sequential manner. A great platform for someone who is new to script writing.

교육 기관: Charlotte P

Oct 04, 2018

This class has motivated me to write the pilot of a story that I had in mind for a couple of weeks and I love it. Compared to other online classes, I love that we have feedback from other classmates. However, I would have liked the teacher to tell us more information on how to write a good script.

교육 기관: Margot R M

Jun 09, 2016

Eventually I got my head around it. It was a challenging but I was concerned about being told to 'just do it' when I had no idea what I was just to do. I think the beginning was a little confusing, and also reading others scripts when there was no background to understand where it was going.

교육 기관: Nathaniel K

Feb 22, 2018

I loved this course. It walked me through Screenwriting step by step. It was almost like I was tricked into writing my first script. My only tip is don't be afraid to write something bad, finishing a crappy script is way more fun a beneficial than only starting a perfect script.

교육 기관: EDUARDO V S

Sep 07, 2019

More than EVER, we need good storytellers. Put a human face on The Other. Shed light on a Deeper Truth. Engender Empathy. Fan the flames of Hope. Motivate people to Act. Make us Laugh. Make us Cry. Make us Thrilled. Make us Think. But mostly, make us feel our Shared Humanity

교육 기관: Daniella H

Mar 13, 2016

I'm actually writing my first TV series pilot. This is the furthest I've ever gotten. I love this course. Thanks to David Wheeler, everyone at Michigan State University and Coursera for making this accessible to so many. Sending tons of gratitude from Daniella Horsford.

교육 기관: Tabinda H

Oct 19, 2017

This was one of the best experiences I ever had. It was truly amazing to see my script come together bit by bit, with every piece a story in itself. I would highly recommend this course to everyone out there who loves to write. It just gives you so much satisfaction.

교육 기관: Iris D

Sep 22, 2017

I really enjoyed the writing process! I had had an idea for a series for quite some time so I think this just helped me push me to actually write it - and taught me how to write it, as I knew nothing about scripts before. Very happy I decided to take the course.

교육 기관: Sana S

May 18, 2020

This course has some useful insights about writing a screenplay, which I'd never heard before. The best part is that you actually get to work on something concrete. This course gives you a chance of coming up with a script, and polishing it well with feedback.

교육 기관: Наталія П

Jan 08, 2017

I was surprised that we don't suppose to learn about writing scripts. Because the best way to learn is to write the script. It wasn't easy for me as not a native speaker. But I finished it! I recommend this course! Jan is the best mentor! Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Esjag G

Jul 07, 2020

Un gran curso. Te enseña todas las habilidades básicas que necesitas si estás interesado en el mundo del guionismo. El profesor imparte con maestría cada uno de los temas, el curso es ameno e interesante y cada tarea asignada pone a prueba tus habilidades.

교육 기관: Allei G

Jun 04, 2020

The course gives enough time for students to finish their work. The videos are very helpful and I like that it's project-centered. Really pushed me to write and be creative! Would definitely take another course similar to this.

교육 기관: Peter P

Sep 25, 2016

I enjoyed this class. It is very open and organic. Creativity is encouraged and very few restrictions and rules are imposed. I found the class to be well-taught and I looked forward to participating in every week of class.

교육 기관: Layla a

Sep 11, 2019

This is not a class where poetry is appreciated, it is also a continual pleasure to which one can return from time to time to enter an atmosphere of exchange, reflection and new discoveries. This course should never ends :)

교육 기관: Mahima A

Jul 15, 2020

Loved it! The only thing is I wasn't able to interact with my peers, but I've learnt a great deal and have ended up with a script in hand that I can now work with and hopefully put out there soon!

Thank you very much!!!

교육 기관: arya k s

Apr 01, 2018

It's a very good course. If you want to write . Complete script this course will help you do it. It is very crisp and to the point. I would love to recommend this course to anyone interested in learning script writing.

교육 기관: Amy A

Jun 14, 2016

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

교육 기관: Jeanne H F

Sep 28, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

교육 기관: Maria T

Jan 11, 2017

Amazing course. Without useless talking, we are immediately thrown into action, and start working immediately. This course helped me gain priceless empiric experience, and finally start writing.

교육 기관: Rex E

Nov 30, 2019

Exceptional!

Have no time to currently complete; will cancel and start over next year. Don't care about certificate but believe course deserves payment so will cheerfully pay once again.