Chevron Left
Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)(으)로 돌아가기

미시간주립대학교의 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
429개의 평가
163개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

최상위 리뷰

AA

Jun 14, 2016

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

JF

Sep 28, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

필터링 기준:

Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)의 160개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: L. A S

Aug 06, 2016

Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series is a very challenging course. However, if you goal is to write a TV Pilot, this is

교육 기관: Faiz S

Aug 17, 2016

Very methodical, but still makes writing fun... and exciting.

교육 기관: Daniella H

Mar 13, 2016

I'm actually writing my first TV series pilot. This is the furthest I've ever gotten. I love this course. Thanks to David Wheeler, everyone at Michigan State University and Coursera for making this accessible to so many. Sending tons of gratitude from Daniella Horsford.

교육 기관: Andrea C

Apr 06, 2016

It was wonderful to get writing again and to get all the wonderful feedback from my classmates.

교육 기관: Terrence M

Jul 04, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. I learned a lot, and it got me writing.

교육 기관: Irene P

Dec 27, 2016

Through this course, I transformed a scene I wrote for a full length movie into a pilot for TV. I'm happy I learned the process and I'm working on the series episodes to follow. Thank You for developing this course. The lessons were explained well and the videos were very helpful. I'm especially glad this course was presented through Michigan State University. That was a deciding factor in signing up for it. Go Spartans!

교육 기관: David L

Jun 07, 2017

This was a good course. It really made me write. It was a great oppertunity to learn by doing.

교육 기관: Luis C

Oct 06, 2016

Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV Course changed my life. I took several courses in Coursera at the time, but this was the most engaging. It really made want to learn and to achieve the goal of producing a final script. I recommend it to all who look for a real way to understand the process of writing for a TV show.

교육 기관: Jeanne H F

Sep 28, 2016

Fantastic course, loved the way it walked you step by step through the process and the formatting. This course could have been ten weeks and still wouldn't be enough. Awesome hands on learning.

교육 기관: Ameer Q

Jun 13, 2017

A big thank to David Wheeler, it's a lovely way to teach about the script writing. I'm very much happy that by taking that course I wrote my first TV Pilot, and its not only writing, I learned what made me stop to write. off-course I'm not perfect not but now I earned the craft to write and learn more. Thank you for this Course.

교육 기관: Manuel R

May 23, 2017

A perfect journey. It has been very useful and inspiring. Active learning, peer to peer evaluation, helpful tutors. This is one of the best experience in online learning I ever had.

교육 기관: Shaunda

Apr 01, 2018

I Loved this course. By the end I had a complete TV script, Bible and was working on a Webseries.

교육 기관: Jon R

Mar 09, 2017

Learned a ton about Script writing. Who cares if it is MSU or any other University. The Professor teaching is what makes all of the difference.

교육 기관: Iris D

Sep 22, 2017

I really enjoyed the writing process! I had had an idea for a series for quite some time so I think this just helped me push me to actually write it - and taught me how to write it, as I knew nothing about scripts before. Very happy I decided to take the course.

교육 기관: Tina M

Jul 31, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this class and would highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Todor V

Dec 28, 2017

Really motivated me to sit my lazy-ass down and WRITE!

교육 기관: HG

Mar 09, 2018

So helpful! Loved this class.

교육 기관: Arnab B

Aug 04, 2017

It was a very good course and in a small time i came to know a lot about the script writing sorry that i cannot complete the whole course due to my other commitments

교육 기관: Deepak S

Aug 08, 2017

I love this course. I want to thank our mentor Jan for helpful instructions.

교육 기관: Lisa E

Jun 13, 2016

Wonderful class to get that idea out of your head and on paper...finally!!!

교육 기관: Sasha J D E

Feb 05, 2018

This course is really fun. It really gets my creative juices going as a writer.

교육 기관: Sebastian P

Jun 29, 2017

Very activity driven. Attentive and active staff.

교육 기관: arya k s

Apr 01, 2018

It's a very good course. If you want to write . Complete script this course will help you do it. It is very crisp and to the point. I would love to recommend this course to anyone interested in learning script writing.

교육 기관: Diane B

Aug 14, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the challenge of expanding my world through this Scriptwriting course. It's opened my mind in so many ways to creative aspects I never knew I had: dialogue and storytelling. I found the images and story an ever-expanding adventure that was somehow concocted from within my own imagination.

As a nonfiction writer of reference material, copy and poetry, I appreciated some of the very insightful feedback from both classmates and mentors that I received in exploring this new writing genre. I was excited to 'meet' my characters and could clearly see different people I've known in each of them.

교육 기관: Erin S

Nov 01, 2017

This course is great! I've been wanting to write a web series, and this class taught me how to make it happen. I learned how to create the overarching plan (called a bible) for the first season of the show, and I learned how to write scripts. I finished the class with a plan in hand and scripts for the first three episodes. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to create a TV or web series.