Chevron Left
The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction(으)로 돌아가기

노스웨스턴 대학교의 The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
203개의 평가
73개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Talmud is one of the richest and most complicated works of literature the world has ever known. Since being composed around 1500 years ago it has inspired not only religious reverence but significant intellectual engagement. In this course learners will be introduced to the unique characteristics of this text and the challenges that inhere in studying it while studying a chapter of the Talmud. Students of the course can expect to develop an appreciation for how the Talmud works and why it continues to inspire religious and intellectual devotion. They will be challenged to employ critical reading skills and to analyze legal and historical concepts....

최상위 리뷰

AP
2019년 2월 17일

Great way of introducing a topic as complex as the Talmud. It was surely amazing to have such course instructors who can rarely be matched both in eloquence and erudition. Overall it was fun!

KR
2017년 1월 19일

Best course I've experienced on Coursera so far! Really engaging and not 'dumbed down'. Fantastic and charismatic professor and assistant. Already recommended the course to many friends.

필터링 기준:

The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction의 71개 리뷰 중 51~71

교육 기관: Lisa C

2020년 5월 27일

This class is extremely informative...i came into it knowing absolutely nothing about The Talmud. I came out of this class with a better understand of what the Talmud has to say and how it is read...What i didnt know was ..the Talmud (complete) is just huge. I did pick up a little bit of Hebrew which i think is great. Im looking forward to purchasing a few chapters of Talmud and studying further. The only drawback of this class that keeps it from being 5 stars is the instructor has a fast speech rate ...he speaks very fast so youll be thankful for the pause and rewind feature. I think if he spoke at a slower rate there would likely be another entire unit added to the class.

교육 기관: Ross A

2017년 10월 10일

Generally the course was really good, and had some excellent materials, especially the glossary for each chapter and the readings. Although it is considered an introduction, sometimes there was assumed knowledge of Judaism and Jewish theology/history, which was a bit unfortunate. This could easily be fixed with possible "additional" materials to expand on the topics covered. Overall though, it was a course definitely worth taking

교육 기관: Judith G

2017년 6월 3일

I wish the course had covered a bit more about the Talmud, and possibly another topic. The course may need to be a bit longer, though, to accomplish this. Otherwise it was a good beginning study on the Talmud. I appreciate the hard work both put into producing the videos. Thanks for the course.

교육 기관: Charlie H

2020년 9월 24일

Very interesting, with great use of the text to illustrate various talmudic methodologies and features. However, PLEASE have someone proofread your captions. They are riddled with errors, including both leaving out Hebrew words and mis-transcribing English words.

교육 기관: John H

2020년 4월 18일

A fast paced and interesting journey through an example of the subject. Leaves a lot of questions to explore. The only thing I would like to have seen more would have been interaction with other students.

교육 기관: Charles W

2017년 8월 29일

This is a very well constructed introduction to the Talmud but I think it would be improved if it made more demands on the student in terms of reading assignments and exercises.

교육 기관: John L

2019년 4월 29일

Very interesting peek into the world of Talmud (and interesting to this non-Jewish student). I like that the Hebrew-reading student can access the original texts too.

교육 기관: Patrik W

2020년 10월 27일

Informative and deatiled. A bit more practical context for those unfamiliar with the jewish tradition would have helped put this on 5-star level :)

교육 기관: Rosa L W

2020년 4월 21일

I wish there were subtitles in other languages. Some concepts are too complex to understand in a foreign language.

교육 기관: Ms.Supriya A K

2020년 9월 27일

The course is great and the instructors are superbly skilled people making complex topics easy to understand.

교육 기관: aviva b

2016년 9월 18일

very interesting, challenging, but I find it hard to understand the intonation (highs and lows) of the ph

교육 기관: Fr. P G

2020년 6월 14일

Very informative course. I would like to thank the team behind this course, I learned a lot from them.

교육 기관: Arna G S

2019년 8월 5일

No problem with the course actually. Experienced several technical problems, however.

교육 기관: Joy S

2017년 1월 7일

Entertaining way of teaching a complex subject

교육 기관: CHAN W F P

2018년 3월 14일

G

교육 기관: Leo H

2018년 10월 22일

great presentation with good dive into historical context and thought provoking material. quizzes are too easy, no real "homework" and self study required, which could strengthen the course. Beware that many academic views diverge from traditional Jewish interpretations and opinions accepted in more observant communities and yeshivot.

교육 기관: Natasha B

2018년 1월 31일

The professor is speaking as a robot, and not a human being - reading the text without any emotions, pauses, gesticulations etc, All these are necessary to make the lectures worthwhile watching, otherwise we could just read the text.

교육 기관: kouassi n c

2017년 9월 15일

c'est bon pour notre propre culture mais il faut arriver à suivre surtout qu'il y a des termes spéciaux à connaître

교육 기관: Francisco L

2019년 7월 29일

I expected a more general view of the Talmud, I think the course is not for the normal student.

교육 기관: Maureen C

2020년 7월 3일

Too technical. Boring.

교육 기관: Tina D

2017년 9월 23일

The course was read out by the instructors and read out extremely quickly, which is very annoying.