Chevron Left
Writing Stories About Ourselves(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Writing Stories About Ourselves 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
83개의 평가
42개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course, creative nonfiction writers will explore traditional storytelling methods, especially those which overlap between fiction and memoir. By looking at examples from a wide range of genres, including film, song, painting—even the theme music for Jaws!—we’ll practice exercising the creative muscle that sees ourselves as characters and the experiences we’ve had as tales. We’ll focus on critical elements, like how to begin a story, what makes for worthy content, the essential use of detail, the strengths and limits of dialogue, the power of the white space. The ultimate goal is for us to become aware of an “audience” when we write, so that the documentation of our lives will begin to resemble a “performance” crafted onto paper rather than a private entry in a journal....

최상위 리뷰

PT

2021년 1월 25일

Very interesting and engaging! I learnt a lot about writing about myself, which is actually very difficult. This course provide a great start for someone who are looking for something like this.

MI

2021년 8월 15일

I really enjoyed this course, I learned a lot through simple and clear approach. the method of teaching with Mr. Said was genuine and artistic; which what writing is all about.

필터링 기준:

Writing Stories About Ourselves의 43개 리뷰 중 26~43

교육 기관: Mare

2020년 6월 15일

Got some good insights about the subject

교육 기관: Arman S G

2021년 12월 10일

this course was so lovely

교육 기관: Maurice C

2019년 9월 8일

Excellent Class!!!

교육 기관: Stefanie L

2019년 10월 6일

Great instructor!

교육 기관: Sharra F

2021년 1월 30일

great course

교육 기관: Pamela J

2020년 10월 21일

Great Course

교육 기관: Marilyn G

2021년 2월 25일

Like the other courses in the specialization, I enjoyed this one as well. I learned a lot of useful information to help me write a personal essay that is currently in progress. But, like other Coursera courses, I find the peer review process particularly useless in terms of the timeliness and quality of reviews. In fact, finishing this specialization was a bit of a nightmare because for my very last assignment in my very last class I got a failing grade and it was such a convoluted process to renew my subscription, which I'd just canceled -- hoping to complete the Specialization before the billing cycle ended, which was just days away -- resubmitting and then getting someone to review the re-write in a timely manner. To accomplish this required the assistance of three customer support reps and making a nuisance of myself on the discussion forums pleading for reviews. Not a good process at all!

교육 기관: Victoria R

2020년 10월 15일

Once again I have to take away a star not for course content, which was great as it has been throughout this specialization, but for course mechanics. The peer-review process tends to be ineffective at best. While some reviewers really but thought into it and offer genuinely constructive critiques, too many just type random characters into the rubric just so the computer will mark them as having done the required reviews. The algorithms assigning things to be reviewed are equally flawed. Unfortunately these flaws detract from the quality of the course experience, even tho the instructors, content, and some reviewers are excellent.

교육 기관: Vishwas B

2020년 7월 17일

The course is really nice. The instructor explains by taking examples and uses creative things to explain. The course requires no pre-requisite. Even if your English is not that good, don't worry the course doesn't judge you on that basis.

교육 기관: Liesbeth A

2021년 8월 5일

Nice course and specialization. The videos are inspiring. Would be nice to see more involvement of the lecturers in the forums.

교육 기관: Marione M E

2020년 12월 4일

I learned so much about writing, and the instructions were clear and encouraging.

교육 기관: Manjusha D

2020년 6월 6일

Overall good, but not as effective as expected. More contents were needed.

교육 기관: Peter F

2018년 12월 16일

Personable lecturer making informative points.

교육 기관: Linda A

2021년 6월 18일

The course was very interesting and I enjoyed the speaker and his message, the assignments, and reading other students' work. What I didn't like was waiting for students to review my work (which was slow), and then waiting for more assignments to review. I think reviewing 1 or 2 students would be much better than waiting for 3. Also, I would like to hear what the instructor thinks about my work, not only student opinions.

교육 기관: Carole A E

2021년 4월 16일

The exercises were good, but I found the lectures lacking in substance. Some were 3 minutes long, give me a break. Some of the peer reviews that I got were a joke. One person just wrote, "I like your story" as a review for every single rubric question. The same person wrote "The dialogue was fine." as an answer to every rubric on another assignment.

교육 기관: Nang T T H

2020년 10월 25일

I think this course is not bad.But for me,it can't also say very good.Need to be more attractive to be the best.Because it's less attractive and interesting.

교육 기관: B E

2021년 3월 12일

I have to give this course a one star, actually the entire certificate program should be listed as one star. There are not enough students to get enough reviews, or to get grades. You will be perpetually charged month after month waiting to get graded or to get enough assignments to review. Ridiculous.

교육 기관: Dennis L

2021년 7월 13일

C​ontent is outstanding and I'm learning a lot from the lectures.

H​owever the functioning of the website is beyond terrible and does not reflect well upon the trade name Coursera nor on Wesleyan University.