Chevron Left
Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest(으)로 돌아가기

코먼웰스 교육 신뢰의 Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,042개의 평가
427개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

최상위 리뷰

DB
2016년 2월 6일

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO
2017년 7월 16일

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

필터링 기준:

Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest의 419개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Kelly W

2020년 5월 20일

Excellent course! Experienced instructors, interesting and useful videos, and helpful interviews with published authors. This was a very useful course and it is not just for children's writers but for anyone who wants the skills and motivation to write for any audience and genre. Because of this course, I am excited and motivated to write my memoir, something I have thought about for 3 years. Thanks, Coursera!

교육 기관: Aisha K

2017년 7월 17일

This course was perfect for me! The wisdom of David Hill and Maria Gill, and the guest speaker interviews are inspiring and filled with the right mix of knowledge, tips, ideas, and practical assignments. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would highly recommend it for novice writers. Beautifully done! I was honored to be in the virtual presence of seasoned authors. What a joy! Sending you a thousand thanks!

교육 기관: Dipika A K

2020년 4월 28일

Thoroughly enjoyed the course and loved the learning, both the speakers and the authors who were interviewed were very knowledgeable. I'm so kicked learning via Coursera especially during the lockdown period, I have signed up for another course for 4 months. COVID has been a blessing in some ways since we slow down and find time to educate ourselves. Thank you Team Coursera.

Dipika Ajay Khaitan

April 2020

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 4월 24일

An excellent course to understand the basics in starting to write. It wasn't what I was initially looking for, however, I learnt so much through practicing writing with prompts and listening to David Hill/Maria Gill and other authors speak. I also really enjoyed the peer reviewed aspect as I usually never share my writing, so it was nice to get feedback on my work. A great beginner's course

교육 기관: Diana J R F

2017년 9월 13일

It was a pleasure for me to be a part of this. The content is excellent, it never gets boring, the way Mr. Hill and Ms. Gill guides and teaches is totally relaxing, interesting and productive. I just started getting interested in writing and finding this course was the best first step I could take. Thank you so much for the hard work in creating this wonderful course. Greetings from Mexico

교육 기관: Rameeza N

2016년 2월 2일

This course is a complete package for those who aspire to be a fiction writer, it teaches all steps right from how to start writing to publishing. For me it was a dream course, really enjoyed it and I wish further course of such kind is available so I could join it . Instructors David Hill and Maria Gill were great and they taught in very effective manners and so were the guest speakers.

교육 기관: Earl S

2020년 6월 24일

The course was both interesting and very informative. The course material was well organized and provided helpful hints on how to craft materials for young readers. Plus, the interviews with many authors provided real-world information. The peer-graded writing exercises and the comments they produced gave me the confidence to continue writing after finishing the course.

교육 기관: Connie N

2019년 8월 23일

I really received a lot of perspective with this course. It taught me to write with thought, how to reword a and rewrite when needed. How to keep to the subject, yet give the reader tantalizing story to keep them entertained. I'm very glad I took my daughters advice to take an online course to help me. The statement is true, "It's never to late to learn."

교육 기관: Heidy C

2016년 8월 19일

Great class to take if you're a beginner or more of an advanced writer to refresh your learning on the subject. Love how I also got to learn about the editing and publishing process as well. Definitely would not have minded if the class were a few weeks longer. Very glad I signed up and took this course. I am more motivated to continue my life as a writer.

교육 기관: Claudia U R

2017년 9월 29일

It was a great decision to take this course. The instructors are wonderful and the information, immensely valuable. It pushed me to write stories and apply what I've learned. I will highly recommend it to anyone interested in writing for children. I'm thankful to everyone involved in the creation of this course and for making it available to all.

교육 기관: Oliver G

2015년 8월 24일

Very cool easy going course. The videos are short and to the point and the authors in it speak clearly and are easy to understand and follow. The assignments are great fun to do and the community and forms are friendly. If you have an interest in writing in general and want to start writing I'd recommend it as it's good way to get started.

교육 기관: Fernanda G

2018년 6월 29일

Me encantó el curso. Las tareas son muy simples y realmente aprendes mucho. Te dejan con muchas ideas y aunque somos bastantes los que tenemos el sueño de ser escritores, nos deja con muchas esperanzas y motivaciones para el futuro. Me encantó que tuvieran la parte con los escritores invitados porque eso nos daba mucho más material.

교육 기관: Julie G

2017년 7월 1일

Great course for beginners to help you understand the basics of writing & stories. Really enjoyed the writer's profiles throughout. The course requirements are definitely manageable for someone with a full time schedule that wants to do this as a side. Helped me getting me start at writing where I felt I didn't know where to start.

교육 기관: Amy B

2015년 8월 15일

It gives helpful and easy to understand information about writing children's books. It also includes helpful documents to edit and proofread your writing, how to get published, writing query letters and advice from current authors about all of the above. You are able to write short pieces of work and have them reviewed.

교육 기관: Robert G

2018년 12월 10일

I would recommend this course to anyone who is serious about being a writer regardless of where you are in your learning. This course is informative and encouraging and will provide you with methods that other authors have used to become and remain successful doing something that we all love to do....Write!!!

교육 기관: Kate Y

2015년 8월 23일

This is a fantastic course, it covers a lot of ground, it takes you through the entire process from generating story ideas to submitting your work to publishers. I gained a lot from doing it. The peer feedback system is effective and useful. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take this course!

교육 기관: Marta P O

2020년 8월 15일

Excellent course with both theory and practice integrated to give you a holistic view of the subject. Very well prepared teachers and interesting authors interviewed. Lastly I really enjoyed the personal projects as it permitted me to develop my creative writing skills. Very well done and thank you!

교육 기관: Sherri P

2016년 2월 19일

I LOVED these instructors! I wish I could take an entire year of classes with them. I felt like they really want the students to succeed. Great course for learning the basics of writing for young readers. They gave us plenty to think about and whetted my desire to write even more! Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Brigit C

2020년 4월 23일

This course was very informative and a great choice for anyone who is thinking about getting into writing! The instructors are thorough and great at explaining all aspects of writing, editing, and publishing your work! I enjoyed this course from beginning to end, and would definitely recommend it!

교육 기관: Joanne L

2017년 2월 6일

Wonderful course!!! I got so much from the lectures, interviews, and exercise. I found the course very informative with valuable tips. I am new to the writing world and am excited to embark in the journey. This course helped pave the way in what to expect. Thank-you so much for the course!!!

교육 기관: Maricruz I

2018년 3월 28일

Me encantó el curso, porque pude aprender mucho de un tema que me interesa mucho, en tan solo cuatro semanas. Siento no haber pagado el curso para obtener el certificado. ¿Todavía podría hacerlo?. De ser así, me gustaría intentarlo.

Felicidades por tan buen curso y Gracias por la oportunidad.

교육 기관: Evgenia M

2020년 6월 3일

A magnificent course, I really did enjoy it very much! Instructors were on point and I learnt useful things that I needed. Definitely would love to continue learning on this field and would love for this course to had a second part! Moreover, guest speakers are incredible and so inspiring!

교육 기관: Eva Ž

2015년 8월 23일

I loved this course. It was the first course where you need to interact with other course takers. I love it that you give feedback to each other. And the teachers are great. The lesions are simple, very clear and helpful. For me the way of teaching and teachers capture my attention.

교육 기관: Freda

2016년 3월 14일

I really appreciate being able to do this course for free. It is by far the best course I have done in Coursera yet. The content is great and very well planned. So much to get your inspiration from and qualified to teachers to guide you along the way. What more can one ask for?

교육 기관: LerDon B

2017년 9월 10일

If you are an aspiring writer, for any genre, then this course is for you! It is detailed, relevant and enjoyable. The content was engaging and inspiring. I learnt so much and have gained so much confidence, in writing skills. Thank you for such an excellent presentation.