Chevron Left
Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest(으)로 돌아가기

코먼웰스 교육 신뢰의 Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
stars
883개의 평가
341개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

최상위 리뷰

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

필터링 기준:

Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest의 333개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Fernanda G

Jun 29, 2018

Me encantó el curso. Las tareas son muy simples y realmente aprendes mucho. Te dejan con muchas ideas y aunque somos bastantes los que tenemos el sueño de ser escritores, nos deja con muchas esperanzas y motivaciones para el futuro. Me encantó que tuvieran la parte con los escritores invitados porque eso nos daba mucho más material.

교육 기관: Julie G

Jul 01, 2017

Great course for beginners to help you understand the basics of writing & stories. Really enjoyed the writer's profiles throughout. The course requirements are definitely manageable for someone with a full time schedule that wants to do this as a side. Helped me getting me start at writing where I felt I didn't know where to start.

교육 기관: Amy B

Aug 15, 2015

It gives helpful and easy to understand information about writing children's books. It also includes helpful documents to edit and proofread your writing, how to get published, writing query letters and advice from current authors about all of the above. You are able to write short pieces of work and have them reviewed.

교육 기관: Robert G

Dec 11, 2018

I would recommend this course to anyone who is serious about being a writer regardless of where you are in your learning. This course is informative and encouraging and will provide you with methods that other authors have used to become and remain successful doing something that we all love to do....Write!!!

교육 기관: Kate Y

Aug 23, 2015

This is a fantastic course, it covers a lot of ground, it takes you through the entire process from generating story ideas to submitting your work to publishers. I gained a lot from doing it. The peer feedback system is effective and useful. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take this course!

교육 기관: Sherri P

Feb 19, 2016

I LOVED these instructors! I wish I could take an entire year of classes with them. I felt like they really want the students to succeed. Great course for learning the basics of writing for young readers. They gave us plenty to think about and whetted my desire to write even more! Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Joanne L

Feb 06, 2017

Wonderful course!!! I got so much from the lectures, interviews, and exercise. I found the course very informative with valuable tips. I am new to the writing world and am excited to embark in the journey. This course helped pave the way in what to expect. Thank-you so much for the course!!!

교육 기관: Maricruz I

Mar 28, 2018

Me encantó el curso, porque pude aprender mucho de un tema que me interesa mucho, en tan solo cuatro semanas. Siento no haber pagado el curso para obtener el certificado. ¿Todavía podría hacerlo?. De ser así, me gustaría intentarlo.

Felicidades por tan buen curso y Gracias por la oportunidad.

교육 기관: Eva Ž

Aug 23, 2015

I loved this course. It was the first course where you need to interact with other course takers. I love it that you give feedback to each other. And the teachers are great. The lesions are simple, very clear and helpful. For me the way of teaching and teachers capture my attention.

교육 기관: Freda

Mar 14, 2016

I really appreciate being able to do this course for free. It is by far the best course I have done in Coursera yet. The content is great and very well planned. So much to get your inspiration from and qualified to teachers to guide you along the way. What more can one ask for?

교육 기관: Lerdon B

Sep 11, 2017

If you are an aspiring writer, for any genre, then this course is for you! It is detailed, relevant and enjoyable. The content was engaging and inspiring. I learnt so much and have gained so much confidence, in writing skills. Thank you for such an excellent presentation.

교육 기관: Vikash A

Aug 28, 2015

This is a great course that shows a path to those who want to get into writing. I enjoyed learning and the best part was the interviews with different authors across different countries. I will look forward to another courses with commonwealth education trust. Thank you.

교육 기관: Tricia C J

Mar 18, 2016

This is such an amazing course! It really opened my eyes to the fact that writing isn't just putting your ideas in words, it's much more than that, and it's really enlightening and helpful! Thank you so much for all the work that you've put into this course!

교육 기관: KAREN L

Mar 06, 2017

"Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest" was great! I actually completed a children's book text during the course, and created chapters and framework for another. Classmates also gave great feedback. You get out of it what you put into it.

교육 기관: Evgenia S

Nov 07, 2015

It so great that now we have chances to take part in such interesting and helpful courses. The thing I like most of all in your course is that is collaboration of many people, who have the same passion. It is very important! And it disciplines me a lot!:-)

교육 기관: Jessica R S

May 17, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, especially the last module where we learned about publishing options, there are so many options to choose from! I'll revisit the interviews with guests soon enough, I think those were particulary eye-opening for me.

교육 기관: Elke K

Aug 21, 2015

I loved the course. It was very informative and the interviews with authors were very special. I hope there will other courses for writers, new and accomplished, in the future.

Thank you very much for taking time to put the course together.

교육 기관: Yazhou L

Aug 15, 2015

Very nice course! It makes me finally start writing things instead of reading books about how to do the writing. And it is definately a great course with so many writers' interview and techniques. Reading other's assignments is also great.

교육 기관: Racha Z

Sep 02, 2015

Learnt a lot, lessons are on video and are extremely articulate so did not miss a word. Teachers are knowledgeable and down to the most important details, hence, the course is not too long, and doesn't take forever to complete. Amazing!

교육 기관: Zandrew S

Feb 27, 2016

I'm not far into this course, but I believe it will be a great asset to any fledgling writers who want to write for children, or for more experienced writers who want to observe their craft under a new light. Very engaging and helpful.

교육 기관: Jennifer A O

Sep 08, 2015

Seemingly straightforward, but packed with information. Sometimes it takes two listens to the videos to realize how much is being taught. Valuable information that moved me forward on my quest to be a published children's author.

교육 기관: Sylvia M

Sep 02, 2017

I found the course very interesting and received some great information to use in my writing. The instructor was very good and the course was easy to follow and very enjoyable. Will certainly keep my eyes open for similar course

교육 기관: Sue N

Oct 10, 2016

Very good course which I'd highly recommend to writer beginners and those, like myself, who need to brush up and learn a few more techniques. All the lessons were very useful and the assignments were challenging and interesting

교육 기관: Angelita G

Aug 23, 2017

I learned a lot from this course. Instructors are very well knowledgeable and experienced. I feel so welcomed and appreciated joining this course. Thank you so much to all who made this course available!

Bests,

Angelita Valencia

교육 기관: Barbara G

Dec 31, 2015

This course has helped me to really tap into my creative side. Granted it is a course for learning to write for young readers, you can also learn how to write for an older audience as well. Thank you for offering this course.