Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
3,303개의 평가
767개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 749개 리뷰 중 701~725

교육 기관: Nesmary G M D

Dec 02, 2019

Material given is not enough for the graded quizzes questions. It would de very useful to have a guide with exercises solved with different complexities. Also, I passed various quizzes and I feel that if I face a real-life problem, I wouldn't know how to solve it, and I've seen other people writing the same in forums. Mentors hints given in week 4, are not about the actual questions of the graded quiz, and the last week I posted a question that actually hasn't been answered.

교육 기관: 德伟 郑

Sep 07, 2016

I dislike this course because I have to complete so many assignment in one week. Instructions could have improved and slides could have improved rather than using chalkboard. Sorry there are a number of times I have to rewatch the videos and still dont understand. Hence I even have to place myself in another slot because I could not finish the assignment. Please improve on this module so that it is more enjoyable for learners who really want to learn. Thank you.

교육 기관: Jorge O B

Aug 21, 2019

Muy decepcionado en la baja calidad del material entregado. Sin duda el profesor tiene un excelente manejo del tema, pero los recursos educativos utilizados son muy pobres. Muchos errores en los videos y en los cuestionarios.

Las lecciones pudieron ser mucho mas claras y fluidas usando un simple ppt, pero el uso de la tableta de dibujo de tan mala manera, hace confusas las explicaciones y poco pulcras.

교육 기관: Jussi N

Jan 09, 2017

An absolutely dreadful course. The only things you'll end up studying are how to use the spreadsheets given and what the instructor was thinking when creating them... I can't figure out what, and there doesn't seem to be any way of finding out. The lectures were mostly stuff I learned at school and really quite easy, but I just have no idea what the final project has got to do with the lectures.

교육 기관: Maria S

Feb 26, 2016

this course is definitely NOT for beginners. you MUST have intermediate to advanced knowledge of statistics and math. I had to resort to google and khan academy extensively just to grasp the concepts in this course. This course also does not teach you everything about excel, let alone master it. you just refer to pre made excel sheets for quizzes. thats it. Good luck figuring those out.

교육 기관: Mauritz S

Jun 14, 2017

This course has nothing to do with data analysis in excel, but rather the mathematical concepts behind analysis in general. The only thing related to excel are the spreadsheets provided with the videos. Unfortunately, the professor never uses the spreadsheets and actually shows how to build said analysis, but rather just hands them to you and lets you figure it out with 0 guidance.

교육 기관: Simeon H

Apr 22, 2016

This is an advanced Statistics class. Learning was chaotic, confusing, and fast paced. Strong Mathematics skills required. As icing on the cake, there is an 8 hour project at the end of the course .. and they only tell you at the end that you should have been working on this all along! Not at all what I wanted to learn or find productive in the real world.

교육 기관: Nicole H

Jan 19, 2016

Was very frustrated with this course. Does not have a strong emphasis on Excel skills and the statistics models provided seem to be randomly chosen and poorly explained. Quizzes were interesting, but time-consuming because of the necessary extra research outside of provided lectures.

교육 기관: WEI H

Jun 29, 2020

I don't even want to give 1 star even. The videos do not match the quizes at all. You have to put in much much more time on the useless sheets it provided, and they call it as practical experience! It's probably the worst course I've encountered on Coursera. Don't enroll it.

교육 기관: Camilla O

Mar 09, 2016

Content is not well organized, videos are disconnected from one another, explanations are not clear, spreadsheets contain vast information that is not explained anywhere. It is been quite difficult to follow through the course and I bet many students are giving up.

교육 기관: Eduardo S H

Jan 22, 2016

Being honest, the lessons in the course are disconnected with the weekly tests, specially for the final exam. Professor Daniel Egger and his assistan MUST improve the lessons, including examples step by step specially for the multiple linear regression su

교육 기관: Ketian Y

Feb 21, 2017

Not very helpful for those with a solid statistical background. I prefer to use R to do the modeling things, while this course should talk more about pivot tables and existing useful financial functions which advantage over other statistical tools.

교육 기관: Mohamad H

Jul 10, 2016

Really unhappy with how difficult and over complicated it is. I came here to learn about Excel. Pivot tables? functions? The course really loses focus and its unfortunate that I am now stuck here and cannot continue the entire specialization.

교육 기관: Omarov Ü

Jul 04, 2020

I can't even convey my frustration. Terrible course with a terrible teacher and misleading name. At the end of the course you don't learn any practical skills in Excel. Just avoid this course if you looking for practical knowledge

교육 기관: Nicole P

Dec 12, 2015

Very confusing lectures, he says you don´t have to have a basic level of excel to do the course but I didn´t find that true. Struggled through all of the lecture videos and the quizzes seemed to come out of left field.

교육 기관: Aaisha A

Jul 05, 2020

No concept was shown in Excel, it was just like paper and pen, the traditional one. And the professor was eating half of the words in between. Please explain all the concepts using excel. this course is a total waste.

교육 기관: Dan L

Jan 22, 2016

In the course info this is described as the first course in the series and that it requires no prior knowledge but the first week quiz contains questions referring to an equation 'discussed in the previous course'.

교육 기관: Erik B

Feb 11, 2016

Given this is the third (or fourth) iteration of this course, it's telling that the errors from the original release remain in the videos and quizzes. There are other, higher-quality Data Science MOOCs available.

교육 기관: Abhiroop B

Apr 18, 2020

The Audio is not audible properly and the course material is not explanatory. The content and the quizzes or tasks dont add up. I had to often refer to google to find the modeling ideas.

교육 기관: sagar c

Mar 24, 2016

The course structure is not thoughtfully prepared. There is a lot of confusion around what the instructor wants to say. The practice quizzes and course content have no match whatsoever

교육 기관: YONG-YU W

Nov 15, 2015

Don't know how to apply the statistics and excel formula in real world situation. Besides, it becomes focus on approving statistics equation than teaching data analysis in excel

교육 기관: Iselie I

Aug 10, 2016

En mi opinion es un tema muy interesante sin embargo cuesta entender lo que el profesor está diciendo por lo que es muy dificil llevar el ritmo del material...

교육 기관: Esuene S

Apr 24, 2016

Poorly coordinated lectures. References to resources that are not provided. No response (at least, for days on end) when questions are posted on the forums

교육 기관: Roberto K

Apr 13, 2016

Interesting statistical concepts, and great theory. However, the lectures and the quizzes do not prepare the student well for the final project.

교육 기관: Josh H

Dec 16, 2017

Terrible course, almost no focus on Excel and the lectures were incomprehensible. Please redo this class with Dr. Borg teaching it.