Chevron Left
Anti-Racism I(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교 볼더 캠퍼스의 Anti-Racism I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
136개의 평가
43개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Anti-Racism I is an introduction to the topic of race and racism in the United States. The primary audience for this course is anyone who is interested in learning about race/racism in the US who has never taken a course in critical race or ethnic studies or affiliated fields (indeed, who may not know what the fields of critical race studies or ethnic studies are), who has never read a book about race/racism, or attended any race equity or diversity trainings on the topic of race/racism. In this course you will learn how to: - Use and comprehend contemporary intersectional terminology through a provided glossary - Critically discuss “whiteness” - Recognize the concept of White privilege that all White people have whether they want that privilege or not and to differentiate between White supremacy as a systemic concept vs. White supremacists (who are professional racists like the KKK). - Distinguish between being not racist and being anti-racist - Define systemic and institutional racism - Accept the unequal history of race and racism in the United States that has created racial hierarchies that has disenfranchised Black Americans - Share with others the true foundations of United States’s histories beginning with the acknowledgement of settler colonialism and the rewards that White people have received due to White supremacy and Black oppression. - Talk about race and racism - Explain why phrases like “All Lives Matter” and “Blue Lives Matter” are racist - Recognize that anyone can be anti-racist--it only takes the dedication and decision to be anti-racist, to educate yourself about the history of racism in the US and then to talk in an anti-racist way and to act as an anti-racist Course logo image credit: Liam Edwards, 06/04/2021. Available on Unsplash at https://unsplash.com/photos/x15GAQNepcQ...

최상위 리뷰

TM
2021년 1월 23일

This course has been an excellent start to my education around what it means to be anti-racist. My education has just begun and I look forward to Anti-Racism II. Thank you for this opportunity!

TR
2021년 3월 25일

Shawn and Jennifer made this course easy and learn and understand social injustices past and present. I look forward to the idea of Anti-Racism II.

필터링 기준:

Anti-Racism I의 45개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Catherine M

2020년 9월 17일

I have complete my course but till now I didn't get my certificate.

교육 기관: Sue H

2021년 4월 22일

This course was a good introduction to some of the issues around race and some of the ways we can combat racism. I think this course is especially useful for white people (like me) who want to be better allies. That requires us to confront our own issues and dig deep. The first section of this course focuses on the issue of whiteness, white priviledge and white fragility. This may be difficult for some people, as it was for me, but I encourage you to stick with it and really process your thoughts and feelings. I am ongoingly and continually surprised at the way the conditioning I received all my life resurfaces. The course consists mostly of readings and videos, with two discussion prompts and no quizzes. There is a lot to think about and process in this short course though. The instructors are knowledgeable and approachable. I would be interested in taking additional courses in this series.

교육 기관: Omid N

2021년 4월 3일

i completed the course several days ago but it still shows: 0 min remains and not being completed. but the contents of the course was good enough to encourage me to participate.

교육 기관: Jennifer H

2021년 11월 19일

I learned so much from this course. I highly reccomend it to anyone, it brings so much awareness and gave me the ability to understand how to be an Ally to Anti-Racism. Also, it helps avoid misunderstandings and sensitivies to unbias-racism. Understanding so much about my own defensive styles, and how important it is for myself and others who are oppressed, ways I can be part of the solution. There is so much information that is set up in a way that it is helpful and opened my mind to so many things I didn't know, provides a lot of awareness.

교육 기관: Semone I

2021년 6월 9일

T​he Anti-Racism course was very enlightening and helped me to very much develop a better dialogue with friends and family. The insights, such as the various podcasts, different presenters and even various scholars such as Mr.Kendi in the course material. I am certainly interested in how Anti-Racism II will build on what I've learned

교육 기관: Kathaleen B

2020년 9월 24일

I found this course to be an excellent starting point for discussion and understanding anti racism. Look forward to part 2.

교육 기관: Luis C

2020년 10월 8일

Very interesting, great materials, videos, readings. I would totally recommend it

교육 기관: Júlia K d C

2021년 5월 26일

The course is very good, however the platform must be with a problem because even when I finished it says that its still "in-progress". A lot of people are having this problem too, but Coursera didnt give us any responses.

교육 기관: Heather W

2021년 7월 21일

Anti-Racism I is such a great introduction to those beginning their journey of being an anti-racist. I had learned a lot regarding anti-racism from my parents but even then, there are layers upon layers of information and history that I wouldn't be able to know if it hadn't been for this course. The readings and videos provided in the modules are brilliant and are fit for anyone. Jennifer Ho and Shawn O'Neal have provided an open-minded environment to learn in; they really encourage us to sit with our discomfort which while it has not been easy, it has been extremely benefiting. Definitely looking forward to Anti-Racism II. This course has allowed me to delve into a lot of self-reflection and it really helped me open my eyes to the non-overt racism that is all around me that I would never have noticed if I didn't take this course. Highly recommend this course!!

교육 기관: Kim C

2021년 3월 15일

Excellent course. A well thought out and curated mix of discussion, podcasts, readings, videos.

The only way we can ever address and begin to right the wrongs of racial injustice is for white people - like me - to realize and acknowledge their white privilege. It's not going to be an easy road.

Hope there will be an Anti Racism II

교육 기관: Susan W

2021년 3월 15일

This was a well-done course, excellent selection of readings and videos (lots of variety and I found all of them enlightening). Jennifer Ho and Shawn O'Neal provide a great combination of perspectives, experiences with race/racism and with teaching. So glad I took this course!

교육 기관: Cynthia B

2021년 6월 8일

I thought the selections of both the readings and videos were very informative. I especially liked being able to listen , view or read lessons/articles fitting my mindset at the time. I think the course was well thought out and I am looking forward to taking Anti-Racism ll.

교육 기관: Kim W

2021년 2월 7일

This was a great introduction to the idea of anti-racism. The readings were varied and the town hall was especially interesting. It has been helpful for me to learn a bit more about myself and has helped me learn a few different points about having conversations about race

교육 기관: Jessica S

2021년 1월 8일

This is such a comprehensive course and I truly learned a great deal of information. I feel lucky to have taken this course and prepared to go out and practice anti-racism each day with intention. Great information and content and I look forward to Anti-Racism II

교육 기관: Douglas M

2021년 4월 14일

I really enjoyed taking this course. I am not very good at learning with distance learning, but this course I learned perfectly. All these things that have been happening in the world, in some way gave me an incentive to learn more about racial causes.

교육 기관: Sonali D

2021년 1월 15일

Wonderful course to begin one's journey into Anti-racism. Very much appreciated the genuine and committed teaching by both instructors. Certainly gained valuable knowledge and references that I will continue to learn from. Many thanks,

Sonali

교육 기관: Paul O

2021년 8월 25일

A great course that can build a foundation in understanding the anti-racist movement and. most importantly, yourself. I believe it has helped me become more aware of my own biases and given me some strategies to work with.

교육 기관: Tiffany M

2021년 1월 24일

This course has been an excellent start to my education around what it means to be anti-racist. My education has just begun and I look forward to Anti-Racism II. Thank you for this opportunity!

교육 기관: Cristovao R A

2021년 11월 17일

The course is very interesting, I really enjoyed having participated in this course and now I can face the challenges that I will face in my daily life related to racism

교육 기관: Tara R

2021년 3월 26일

Shawn and Jennifer made this course easy and learn and understand social injustices past and present. I look forward to the idea of Anti-Racism II.

교육 기관: Stephanie R P

2020년 12월 28일

An informative beginning-level course that is thoughtfully designed and engaging. The conversation between the two facilitators was most valuable.

교육 기관: Meg P

2021년 10월 18일

Absolutely essential course to help understand how North America colonialism has been founded on racism and how to start dismantling it.

교육 기관: Teresa L

2021년 1월 26일

I loved this course and would recommend it to anyone, to be honest. I would love to attend a sequel, will definitely stay tuned.

교육 기관: Victoria T

2021년 7월 26일

What an eye-opener. Every human being should take a course like this. I wish I had been able to take this course 20 years ago.

교육 기관: Bert H

2020년 12월 10일

Well-conceived & executed introductory course. Excellent choice of videos & articles. Teacher discussions are enlightening.