Chevron Left
Calculus: Single Variable Part 4 - Applications(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Calculus: Single Variable Part 4 - Applications 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
192개의 평가
41개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this fourth part--part four of five--we cover computing areas and volumes, other geometric applications, physical applications, and averages and mass. We also introduce probability....

최상위 리뷰

VB
2020년 4월 5일

The course material are very well prepared. The focus is on direct application in engineering field. The concepts have been presented very elegantly - it shows deep knowledge of Prof Ghrist.

HY
2020년 3월 9일

Simply awesome!\n\nI would love to learn the digital calculus and the multi-variate calculus online with professor Ghrist.\n\nThank you! Dr. Ghrist

필터링 기준:

Calculus: Single Variable Part 4 - Applications의 38개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Sanchit S

2016년 8월 21일

Hey guys. So I just completed a Discrete Calculus course, offered by UPenn, through Coursera. I'd like to give a you guys an overview of the course, and my experience through this journey.

This, 5 part course, is designed to be completed within 21 weeks, with a work time of 6-8 hours a week. However, if you're really dedicated and have enough time, you can probably finish it within 8 weeks (like me). Oh, and it is taught by Prof. Robert Ghrist (he's cool, trust me).

First, for the prerequisites, you should have taken at least Calculus AB, to do well in this course. Practice with advanced integration techniques and some prior knowledge of Taylor Series is a plus.

Part 1 of the course begins with a study of Taylor Series. From what I've noticed, part 1 emphasizes the importance of using Taylor Series to develop an intuition about the behavior of a function at limits such as 0 and infinity. After revisiting some familiar topics with the perspective of Taylor, part 1 ends with introducing asymptotic analysis (big O), which took me a while to grasp.

Part 2 is review for the most part. However, it helps to further strengthen the idea of differentials, and their uses. Some bonus lectures introduce topology, and spacial curvature. Also, there is an introduction to the algebra of operators (which is elaborated in part 5) Some BC topics are also reviewed.

Part 3 mostly deals with practicing integration techniques, however emphasizes on Differential Equations (with specific focus on coupled oscillators). Formal definite integrals are introduced. Some more BC topics are reviewed.

Part 4, focuses on applying knowledge from the preceding parts. Although it starts off easy with areas, volumes, and arc length, the focus shifts to statistics and physical applications. There is a weird study of Work. Rotational Inertia and PDFs are taught in tandem. There is a brief study of high dimension spaces and hyper volumes. Centroids are taught through the use of double integrals.

Finally, part 5 introduces discrete calculus. Basically, continuous calculus, retaught with the perspective of series, in a discretized, non continuous setting. It begins with the study of finite differences, and a rather comprehensive practice of discrete integration. Differential equations (aka recursion relations) are taught, through the use of operators. Then, the focus shifts to numerical analysis, by introducing methods to approximate integrals (like Runge Kutta method). Following that, there is a very comprehensive study of convergence of series. And trust me, it is taught super well (way more in-depth than BC). Finally, the focus shifts to the rather obscure Taylor Remainder Theorem. This might be review for some.

This course was pretty challenging for me. I spent a lot of time doing my homework, and taking really good notes (for future reference). After a fee of $50, I earned my course certificate after the final exam (sigh).

This is a super cool course.

교육 기관: CMC

2018년 7월 6일

The course taught me about how calculus is used to explain probability and statistics. This is exactly what I need to began studying these areas.

교육 기관: Alex G

2016년 6월 23일

this was simply an amazing course, perfect for my skill level and exactly what i needed to learn. Thank you for the opportunity.

교육 기관: Louis J C J

2019년 2월 14일

There is lots of material covered but the course hangs together well.

교육 기관: Michael C

2019년 5월 2일

Great course.

교육 기관: Rafael C

2019년 6월 17일

I can fully comprehend the purpose of this part, application, but the contradiction is that for students majoring in business, sociology or whatever, we're not bothered about how calculus can be applied in physics or geometry. Only the last part of probability is of interest to me. So I would propose that this part should be redesigned for different fields of application instead of integrating all different disciplines into one part, cuz much of the whole offering will have no connection with my later study. Yet the content of the course itself is good.

교육 기관: Paul K M

2019년 9월 6일

This was a tough course. The lectures are very good, but I did have to rely on a lot of other material to really make sense of the concepts. Nonetheless, this course has given me a structure to organize my studies. The homework is tricky but rewarding. I have a much better grasp of calculus than a few months ago. I could recomend this course to anyone who really wants to understand calculus and its applications.

교육 기관: Behzad K N

2020년 7월 9일

I have been exposed to so many applications in this course, have been constantly challenged which I have enjoyed even though I feel my head hearts!

I am retired teacher so i am motivated by how Prof/g skillfully conveys his thoughts to a learner such as me. I am grateful:

교육 기관: Gian M D G

2017년 2월 3일

Entertaining and well thought, it seamlessly concatenates many calculus ideas into one tight program. The treatment of the infinitesimal elements as being the focus of understanding every concept was brilliant. Professor Ghrist is indeed a fantastic tutor and guide.

교육 기관: Jose D

2017년 1월 28일

This is a very educational MOOC. It summarizes major topics very efficiently while making the presentation agile and interesting. It includes a number of really good and challenging quizzes and homeworks.

I really like it so far!!.

교육 기관: Mukund M

2020년 4월 10일

I am neither a student nor a teacher. I am retired engineer age 73. I had a very little chance to use my

knowledge in my carrier . I just joined the course for refreshing my past study.

I enjoyed the course very much. Thank you .

교육 기관: Vishu B

2020년 4월 6일

The course material are very well prepared. The focus is on direct application in engineering field. The concepts have been presented very elegantly - it shows deep knowledge of Prof Ghrist.

교육 기관: Herve Y

2020년 3월 10일

Simply awesome!

I would love to learn the digital calculus and the multi-variate calculus online with professor Ghrist.

Thank you! Dr. Ghrist

교육 기관: Sachin M V

2016년 12월 10일

Really its hard to complete as many questions are tricky, but now i feel very nice after completion.

교육 기관: Rafer

2019년 9월 15일

the reading‘s math symbol is little complex for me.And it’s a good experience for me.Thanks Prof G.

교육 기관: Ricardo S L

2018년 4월 29일

Great that prof does not feed you with a spoon, but makes you work to understand the content.

교육 기관: Radoslaw J

2017년 3월 17일

The best math course I've ever seen, and also the best MOOC. The presentation is stellar.

교육 기관: 杨佳熙

2016년 6월 21일

the first four session is free which is econmic friendly. show u my respect :)

교육 기관: Nafis F

2020년 8월 8일

AWESOME. Professor Ghrist, I can never thank you enough. So I won't even try.

교육 기관: 江祖榮

2019년 8월 30일

Great with fruitful and vivid illustration with math and physic example.

교육 기관: Zamir M

2016년 5월 27일

Excellent examples and surprising relationship between the concepts!

교육 기관: HyoungJin J

2018년 1월 5일

great...awesome lecture....his voice is little bit funny though...

교육 기관: Paul D

2017년 2월 13일

Great course as always --- took me a while this time

교육 기관: Vitaliy D

2019년 10월 18일

A great course for engineers who want to learn math

교육 기관: Carlos T B

2020년 4월 13일

Excellent Calculus course.