Chevron Left
Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah(으)로 돌아가기

예시바 대학교의 Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
112개의 평가
40개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah explores one of the most significant Roman monuments to survive from antiquity, from the perspectives of Roman, Jewish and later Christian history and art. The Arch of Titus commemorates the destruction of Jerusalem by the emperor Titus in 70 CE, an event of pivotal importance for the history of the Roman Empire, of Judaism, of Christianity and of modern nationalism. Together with your guide, Professor Steven Fine, you will examine ancient texts and artifacts, gaining skills as a historian as you explore the continuing significance of the Arch of Titus from antiquity to the very present. Course members will accompany Professor Fine on virtual "fieldtrips" to museums and historical sites in Los Angeles and New York where you will "meet" curators, scholars and artists. You will attend an academic colloquium and even "participate" in office hours. Students will participate in the latest advancement in the study of the Arch - the restoration of its original colors. You will learn how color was used in Roman antiquity and apply that knowledge to complete your own 'color restoration' of the Arch of Titus menorah relief....

최상위 리뷰

RS
2016년 8월 22일

I rate this course as excellent. It was fascinating and I enjoyed the detailed study. I also enjoyed the beautiful filming of the various locations and especially the Arch of Titus itself

DS
2020년 2월 2일

Arch of Titus give me deeper understanding about Roman architecture, Hebrew historical and sociological context after the destruction of Jerusalem circa 70 AD

필터링 기준:

Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah의 38개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: David H

2018년 2월 6일

An excellent course which before I had no real knowledge of. Opened my mind to want to learn more. Very relevant in mankind's history.

교육 기관: Rea U

2017년 6월 8일

A superbly informative yet easy-to-follow course that leaves plenty of room for the students' own thoughts and encourages us to look for more information online or in the printed media. I especially enjoyed Professor Fine's inspiring, thought-provoking way of presenting the information. He is a personality who challenges his listeners, in a positive way, and who gives his subject matter true spirit and perspective. Thank you!

교육 기관: Lucy I D L R T

2017년 3월 30일

First to congratulate the teacher, who impresses the class with a unique dynamism and uses tools so that history to be narrated so brilliantly, enters the body and is impregnated every neuron about information, which becomes a part of your life , Since that structure becomes a film that is narrating a history as a whole, that of Rome and that of the Jewish people.

교육 기관: Jorge E M A

2016년 12월 25일

I think, I can understand, the more and less of living rooted in a common history. The description of life with the elegies and sorrows can be seen in the panel of the Arch of Titus. The most important teaching is positivism in the face of difficult facts and the capacity of the human being to give a different meaning to adversities.

교육 기관: Tony a E L

2021년 5월 12일

This course was a very different view of what one assumes about the Roman Empire. I found it most interesting. Dr. Fine challenged his students to look in different ways at the Arch of Titus and what it really represented, as well as searching in other locales for similar constructs.

교육 기관: Aneirin C P

2017년 5월 31일

I absolutely loved this course; as a Classics major, I never really got the other perspectives in the Roman world aside from the Romans. It was enlightening to approach interpreting archaeological evidence through a Jewish lens rather than through that solely of the Romans.

교육 기관: Carmelo M

2016년 2월 15일

Highly recommended for the would-be historian of Rome and ancient Judea. A course which challenges the common viewpoint of both Christians and Jews, with major implications for the reinterpretation of other artifacts surviving from the classical period.

교육 기관: Delise V

2020년 11월 3일

Excellent. It's been a fascinating course. Eye-opening. I know this artifact very well but I really was able to get a special perspective on it against the background of Jewish history, not only Roman.

Thank you, Prof. Fine

교육 기관: Rebecca S

2016년 8월 23일

I rate this course as excellent. It was fascinating and I enjoyed the detailed study. I also enjoyed the beautiful filming of the various locations and especially the Arch of Titus itself

교육 기관: Denny S

2020년 2월 2일

Arch of Titus give me deeper understanding about Roman architecture, Hebrew historical and sociological context after the destruction of Jerusalem circa 70 AD

교육 기관: MaryAnn B

2016년 3월 29일

Interesting and inciteful. Dr. Fine is an excellent instructor! Thank you, sir. I hope you will present more classes from Yeshiva University!

교육 기관: Charles C

2020년 12월 2일

I learned alot about this class. I would like to thank the instructor for a wonderful job and experience learning from them.

교육 기관: Rebeca P M

2017년 9월 13일

It is an amazing trip to one of the most characteristic monuments of Imperial Rome: the Arch of Titus.

교육 기관: heather b

2017년 7월 8일

Fantastic course - I truly enjoyed this and learned so much - many thanks to Professor Fine and team.

교육 기관: Aileen C

2020년 10월 8일

Fabulous course I learnt so much more about the symbolics behind the carvings on the Arch

교육 기관: Victoria M

2017년 6월 9일

The only art history class I've ever taken from a Jewish perspective.

교육 기관: Karan M

2016년 1월 18일

The best course i have come across on Coursera

교육 기관: Victoria R

2020년 11월 25일

Loved it! was so fun and engaging!

교육 기관: James G

2017년 4월 6일

A great class, a great professor

교육 기관: Jim C

2020년 7월 3일

Very enjoyable and informative!

교육 기관: Michael S

2019년 7월 26일

Enjoyed the class very much.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2016년 1월 5일

great course, well taught.

교육 기관: Winston A W

2020년 8월 5일

Excellent, thank you.

교육 기관: Kenneth J

2016년 2월 6일

great course

교육 기관: TIFFANY O M B / / J / V / H N / V / T / B

2020년 7월 19일

skeptical