Chevron Left
Introduction to the Biology of Cancer(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
5,690개의 평가
1,147개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

최상위 리뷰

AH
2017년 3월 17일

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
2020년 7월 31일

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to the Biology of Cancer의 1,123개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Dan

2018년 12월 25일

Informative but not very engaging. Videos were mainly slide after slide of text with the occasional graphic. Presenters sounded bored and read the slides almost verbatim, often going too fast. End-of-week quizzes were just compilations of the in-video quizzes. Also frequent errors and typos in quizzes.

'Honors' liver cancer course was essentially identical to the liver cancer section in the main course.

교육 기관: Ibrahim Y

2017년 2월 25일

great course with very experience lecturers . it has helped me to gain more insight into cancer development. thank you so much Dr. Kenneth J. Pienta and the other doctors. God bless you all.

교육 기관: Simon S

2019년 4월 12일

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.

Thanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

교육 기관: Omer K

2016년 11월 22일

It will be very helpful to me for doing my research work on the very same topic.

But all of these courses should be free of cost,just like this one.

Thanking you once again !

Regards.

교육 기관: Ayesha H

2017년 3월 18일

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

교육 기관: Mohammad D A

2018년 12월 18일

كانت دورة مفيدة لفهم السرطان

교육 기관: Madison A

2020년 4월 27일

I'm a high schooler who's always loved science, but I really felt a need to understand cancer after my grandma was diagnosed with stage 3c NSLC. This course gave me that understanding.

From completing this course with honors, I've learned so much about cancer - from its history to cellular biology to current standard-of-care cancer drugs. The instructors explained complicated processes clearly and provided many diagrams and medical scans in their presentations (as a visual learner, this was really helpful). I would absolutely recommend it.

Thank you so much, Coursera!

교육 기관: Övünç B

2019년 9월 4일

Introduction to the Biology of Cancer has taken a big role in my personal development.Not only has it broadened my horizon,but it also has encouraged me to study this field in the future along with my field physics.Many thanks for precious teachers who has taught each topic delicately and thoroughly during this course.

교육 기관: FARDIN A A

2020년 6월 6일

It was a course of much interest. Everything is explained very simply. I have learned lot of important information. I am delighted to be able to do this online course at JOHNS HOPIKNS university.

교육 기관: Zhaodong W

2019년 3월 26일

Brilliant course, this is my 1st course in coursera, and it broadens my horizon.

교육 기관: Kaitlin M G

2019년 7월 24일

Not great, very basic. The times are greatly exaggerated (quizzes said they'd take 20 minutes to complete - most took no more than 5 minutes). Not challenging at all. The discussion forum is a ghost town, although the course just started weeks ago, there are posts that are YEARS old that no instructor has replied to.

교육 기관: Vamsi K S B

2019년 1월 31일

Great introduction. But do not stop with this course, if you are planning to do some good work in the field of cancer. This is just the beginning.

교육 기관: Laura W

2017년 8월 13일

This course was overall a nice overview of the material. I found the subject matter interesting and I liked the mix of subjects from biology to clinical methods. I am mainly interested in the biology of cancer, but I found it quite nice to also learn a bit about treatments and imaging. The reason I am only giving it three stars is because I wished that their were some written study materials or some recommendations on further reading or activities to help re-inforce the material in the lectures. The lectures sometimes felt a bit rushed, particularly the ones with a lot of new terminology and it was difficult to feel like I was retaining the information.

교육 기관: Rakshith K

2019년 2월 3일

The course was helpful for me to learn about the science of cancer biology. Being a pathology student this helped me in understanding the concepts of cancer which s very important for me for my future. Thank you doctors and thank you Coursera !!

교육 기관: Ankit K

2020년 8월 1일

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

교육 기관: Jake F

2019년 1월 4일

Extremely informative, will use moving along my career trajectory in medicine!

교육 기관: Parth R J

2019년 2월 3일

great for beginners like me to dive into world of cancer treatments

교육 기관: Cynthia C

2018년 11월 30일

Great information and teachers.

교육 기관: Harishmitha N

2019년 1월 21일

very well constructed.

교육 기관: SARAH E O H

2019년 1월 30일

Great explanations

교육 기관: sarah j

2019년 1월 16일

very informational

교육 기관: María C S L

2019년 1월 7일

Excelente curso

교육 기관: Larissa P

2018년 12월 7일

great class

교육 기관: Estrella F J

2019년 2월 14일

.

교육 기관: Tee L

2020년 5월 5일

I would like to thank Dr.Pienta and his colleagues for providing such a resourceful and intriguing lesson on cancer research. Personally, I found the lectures on Metastasis: The Real Killer by Dr.Valkenburg to be of particular interest and I will certainly continue my academy journey with hopes of finding new prognosis and treatments to fight cancer in the near future. Thank you!