Chevron Left
Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
323개의 평가
75개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course introduces the broader discipline of computer science to people having basic familiarity with Java programming. It covers the second half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the first half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose, to be released in the fall of 2018). Our intent is to demystify computation and to build awareness about the substantial intellectual underpinnings and rich history of the field of computer science. First, we introduce classic algorithms along with scientific techniques for evaluating performance, in the context of modern applications. Next, we introduce classic theoretical models that allow us to address fundamental questions about computation, such as computability, universality, and intractability. We conclude with machine architecture (including machine-language programming and its relationship to coding in Java) and logic design (including a full CPU design built from the ground up). The course emphasizes the relationships between applications programming, the theory of computation, real computers, and the field's history and evolution, including the nature of the contributions of Boole, Shannon, Turing, von Neumann, and others. All the features of this course are available for free. No certificate will be offered upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

MA
2019년 11월 8일

I loved this course. If you want to know in depth how your computer works and what you can compute in general, this course is for you. Thank you very much for this amazing course.

DC
2020년 6월 10일

I feel the course does a great job in laying out an introduction to "Computer Science", familiarising and motivating the topics, to be covered deeply in the sophomore-junior year.

필터링 기준:

Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines의 74개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: DENIS K

2018년 10월 28일

I've taken this course as one of few useful classes available on Coursera via AT&T continued education program. This course certainly allowed me to refresh memory on many philosophical CS topics and even learn something new.

The idea of teaching programming from the lowest-level possible and the introduction of TOY-8 assembly with !!!cpu schematics!!! is a very good idea. Gradual transition from mathematical concepts to physical hardware is what makes this course unique.

This class is not about programming. This class is not about algorithms. It it a good CS 101 introductory course. It is for somebody who already knows math, logic, basic electronics and basic programming to give a taste on what CS is about. Or for somebody like me to refresh memory on rarely used topics.

For introductory course it is too heavy-weight in my opinion. The goal of covering everything from Turing Machine to actual hardware is too ambitious and requires much more than 10 weeks to cover.

교육 기관: Paolo S

2018년 6월 19일

Professors Sedgewick and Wayne succeed in explaining a lot of useful concepts in a very limited amount of time. The course requires you to dig deeper in the subject but it lays a very solid base for further knowledge development.

교육 기관: Clyde R

2018년 4월 25일

I've enjoyed the Sedgewick/Wayne books and courses for years. I am enjoying the fresh presentation and the modifications done in this course. Other than the Obama clip. We could have done without that.

교육 기관: Zephyr L

2019년 3월 23일

The course material is great! On computing theory, it gives a comprehensive list of famous problems.On circuit design, the TOY-8 computer is so elegant that i can print the design out on a page of paper!

교육 기관: Meysam A

2019년 11월 8일

I loved this course. If you want to know in depth how your computer works and what you can compute in general, this course is for you. Thank you very much for this amazing course.

교육 기관: Diego L

2018년 12월 24일

Loved this course! Such a great introduction to Computer Science. The course is really well broken down and the videos are very well done!

교육 기관: Muhammad T

2018년 10월 15일

thats graet acchivement for me

교육 기관: Diego P

2020년 5월 21일

Great course!

교육 기관: Jack

2020년 3월 17일

GOOD!

교육 기관: zhangdi

2018년 9월 16일

算法0

교육 기관: Mithilesh V

2018년 5월 25일

This course is the perfect introduction to anybody who is interested in learning how a computer works from scratch. The first few weeks cover some important algorithms and data structures which are at the heart of our computational infrastructure. The latter half covers theoretical concepts like the Turing Machine, Intractability and the design of the CPU. Programming assignments would have made the course more challenging and fun. But in a nutshell, I highly recommend this course to any person looking for an introductory computer science course which covers some important topics in the vast domain of computer science

교육 기관: Jerrold

2018년 12월 15일

Good overview of algorithms and data structures. However they use an inhouse API in the provided java code with some unknown methods and the code they provide sometimes doesn't compile.

교육 기관: Trinh D M

2019년 10월 15일

This is an amazing course. Best of all it's available for free. The instructor goes from the most basic element and theory to building a whole theoretical computer circuit, an essential part that many computing courses nowadays fail to teach.

The content is quite heavy but very enjoyable and probably best for someone already has with basic understanding of computers, programming and physics. I wouldn't teach this to someone totally new to computing, but maybe that's the way at Princeton.

I just wish the book site were more up-to-date on some part.

교육 기관: Rajesh Y

2020년 5월 26일

Very elementary course in computer science. I suggest every one who wants to pursue their career in computer science should take this course. The contents are well defined and explanation is awesome. My sincere thanks to Robert and Kevin for providing such a wonderful course. After taking such a nice course if certificate is not provided then how to showcase ourself which helps in upliftment of our career. So, it's my humble request to provide certificate for this course.

교육 기관: Xiaoyu Z

2019년 11월 25일

This is the 3rd course I've taken from Professor Robert.

As always, I learned a lot from it.

The course really ignited my passion for computer and programming.

The depth and width of Professor's knowledge impressed me.

I want to say a big thank-you before Thanksgiving Day.

Happy Thanksgiving Day!

교육 기관: suguna d c

2020년 6월 3일

Very Good Course..Much useful to Computer Science learners..More Knowledge to acquire from one course..Many thanks for introducing this Course..Waiting for Operating Systems and Computer Networks and Database Management Systems in 1 Combo..

교육 기관: LuxiLiu

2020년 4월 28일

I struggled somewhat with the circuit part, but after some online reading and listening to the lecture several times, it becomes more clear. Appreciate the coverage of history and theory in this course. NP problem is really interesting.

교육 기관: Ahmed N

2018년 12월 5일

Excellent clarity and pace with real-life problems and challenges to really understand the concepts and their motivation.

교육 기관: Ernst G

2018년 5월 12일

Very pedagogical and enjoyable introduction to CS. Another great Princeton University Coursera course.

교육 기관: @SiccoOtten

2019년 3월 21일

Great content, well structured, well presented! Kudo's to Mr. Sedgewick and Mr. Wayne.

교육 기관: Daniel C

2018년 5월 7일

This course is a brilliant introduction to the most important Computer Science topics.

교육 기관: Anjali P

2020년 5월 5일

Well structured courses. Including all the basics of algorithm and theory of machine.

교육 기관: Heather L

2018년 12월 24일

Great beginners course on algorithms, theory and the inner workings of your computer!

교육 기관: Oscar J M Z

2018년 5월 4일

Great course about the foundations of computing

교육 기관: Amit G

2018년 4월 15일

Best Teaching style.