Chevron Left
Computational Social Science Capstone Project(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 Computational Social Science Capstone Project 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
29개의 평가
12개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

CONGRATULATIONS! Not only did you accomplish to finish our intellectual tour de force, but, by now, you also already have all required skills to execute a comprehensive multi-method workflow of computational social science. We will put these skills to work in this final integrative lab, where we are bringing it all together. We scrape data from a social media site (drawing on the skills obtained in the 1st course of this specialization). We then analyze the collected data by visualizing the resulting networks (building on the skills obtained in the 3rd course). We analyze some key aspects of it in depth, using machine learning powered natural language processing (putting to work the insights obtained during the 2nd course). Finally, we use a computer simulation model to explore possible generative mechanism and scrutinize aspects that we did not find in our empirical reality, but that help us to improve this aspect of society (drawing on the skills obtained during the 4th course of this specialization). The result is the first glimpse at a new way of doing social science in a digital age: computational social science. Congratulations! Having done all of this yourself, you can consider yourself a fledgling computational social scientist!...

최상위 리뷰

EE

2021년 12월 9일

This course brings all the previous four modules into a single project where you apply what you've learnt previously in order to solidify your understanding on what Computational Social Scientists do.

MC

2020년 9월 21일

What a great way of integrating all we learned throughout the specialization!

필터링 기준:

Computational Social Science Capstone Project의 12개 리뷰 중 1~12

교육 기관: Ben B

2020년 11월 17일

If the theory, methods, and tools (the ones used or similar tools) are new to you, you will most likely love the specialization and the capstone. If you are familiar with parts of the theory or some of the methods and tools the specialization still offers a broad overview of the field and some interesting insights.

For the latter group (those who have some experience in the field of computational social science) the capstone might feel a bit redundant. You can do the 4 assignments in 10 to 20 minutes (because they are basically replicas of the peer-review assignments of the previous 4 courses of the specialization and very simple). You will then wait for days or weeks for peer reviews. That was a rather frustrating experience of an otherwise good specialization.

교육 기관: naghma q

2020년 4월 20일

A very interesting and well designed course to begin with while setting on the journey of computational social science. Hands-on labs / assignments gave sufficient exposure as well as skill building experience on various softwares and techniques.

교육 기관: Aritra H

2020년 6월 8일

Dr. Hilbert is a fantastic lecturer and educator! I sincerely hope he continues developing and delivering new courses like this in coming days. The specialization opened up worlds of new ideas to me. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Andrew O

2020년 8월 8일

Well done to Prof. Hilbert for putting together a wonderful course. One thing I found is how hard it is to counter fake news from the artificial simulations. Shows how true the old saying is, when a lie (or advertisement) is repeated enough times, people start to believe it. That is the power of the media.

I am keen to explore the potential of these tools further.

One potential drawback is the stereo typing of individuals based on big data personality assessment. People can change overtime and not only that, the use of language can alter too. So the assumptions underlying the construction of natural language assessment may need to be reviewed to stay relevant.

Do I now have experience with computational science? Yeah I believe I do. Thank you very much.

교육 기관: Venetia K

2022년 1월 17일

T​he most challenging part was not the software related to learning the skills of computational social sience (NetLogo, Gephi), but the requirement and reliance on other software such as Excel, desktop screen recording and computer cameras to capture our work and narration, having to find a way to upload big video files - which for me meant starting a YouTube channel. All of that made the Capstone and earning the certificate in general super stressful. Waiting for peers to grade and counting on peers to grade carefully and well was also another disappointment and stressor.

W​hat was taught and what I learned was amazing. Sometimes it was difficult to not have a solid source other than peers to ask questions.

H​ighly recommend but not for people who want an easy course.

교육 기관: Mina S

2021년 9월 13일

Thank you for offering this course. It is one of the best courses and specializations I'd taken on Coursera. Well organized and interesting. I've learnt a lot and am looking forward to applying all the skills in the future. Best!

교육 기관: CHIN W L

2021년 10월 3일

This capstone project provide the opportunity to revisit previous learning. It provide a path way to integrate and strengthen the whole learning process in this specialization into a single integrated course.

교육 기관: Elham

2021년 12월 9일

This course brings all the previous four modules into a single project where you apply what you've learnt previously in order to solidify your understanding on what Computational Social Scientists do.

교육 기관: Joel G

2022년 1월 11일

G​reat course! Great specialization! Exceptionally good teaching and communication in the videos!

교육 기관: Miguel C

2020년 9월 22일

What a great way of integrating all we learned throughout the specialization!

교육 기관: Patricio V

2021년 5월 7일

Finally all your work paid off, is simply amazing. Thanks

교육 기관: Hanchao H

2021년 7월 27일

long time to wait for a peer review