Chevron Left
Single Variable Calculus(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Single Variable Calculus 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
203개의 평가
51개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this fifth part--part five of five--we cover a calculus for sequences, numerical methods, series and convergence tests, power and Taylor series, and conclude the course with a final exam. Learners in this course can earn a certificate in the series by signing up for Coursera's verified certificate program and passing the series' final exam....

최상위 리뷰

PC
2019년 9월 14일

Loved it ! I've grown attached to Prof. Ghrist's lectures, so it is with a heavy heart that I took the final exam and finished this course. I xould really love to take another !

SC
2020년 4월 9일

A fantastic course. Kudos to Prof. Ghrist for making this a fun, interesting and challenging ride at the same time. Looking forward to Multivariable Calculus by Prof. Ghrist.

필터링 기준:

Single Variable Calculus의 51개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Ignacio M A

2017년 10월 8일

Excellent set of courses! I really hope there will be a multivariable course in the same fashion.

교육 기관: jonas m

2019년 7월 26일

Great course, although quite challenging at parts. Nevertheless, the fruits are rewarding!

교육 기관: Guo F

2020년 9월 5일

Thank you, prof/g and your team! This is a long & challenging journey, but I enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Matthew J

2019년 6월 11일

This fifth unit is highly original! I loved the "digital calculus" part.

교육 기관: CMC

2018년 7월 10일

An introduction to numerical analysis was exactly what I need.

교육 기관: Snehalkumar D P

2020년 8월 2일

It was really wonderful course. Everything was excellent.

교육 기관: Georgios P

2017년 12월 20일

A course from the future of education!

교육 기관: Maarten B

2017년 9월 25일

I would highly suggest trying it out!

교육 기관: maunil c

2016년 1월 24일

professor's explanation is the best.

교육 기관: Adam R

2019년 7월 7일

So helpful and makes math beautiful

교육 기관: amirali s

2020년 10월 26일

It’s fascinating 👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻

교육 기관: Patricia B

2017년 7월 11일

Best calculus course ever.

교육 기관: Tobias B

2020년 1월 27일

A good intro to calculus

교육 기관: Lau C C C

2018년 4월 21일

thank you very much

교육 기관: 吴琦

2020년 2월 19일

Difficult course!

교육 기관: MOHD. F

2017년 8월 3일

Excellent course

교육 기관: Michael C

2019년 5월 2일

Great course.

교육 기관: Nafis F

2020년 10월 27일

Awesome!!!

교육 기관: EDILSON S S O J

2016년 7월 27일

Amazing!

교육 기관: Tuan H

2016년 12월 11일

great!

교육 기관: Subhee

2020년 4월 5일

h

교육 기관: Vishal G

2019년 2월 8일

I took the discrete calculus part of the course (part 5 of 5) individually of the rest and the teaching is fine with examples for any concept introduced and links between the unfamiliar discrete calculus and ordinary single variable calculus are made all the time. However, I feel like the course isn't so well named as there is only a week of developing the calculus of sequences and then it goes to standard analysis content - I came for the new content only which was a little disappointing. I will pursue it in the future but there wasn't really any suggestions for further study which I found either. The challenge exercises were great for developing on the subject like with the product rule but there isn't much supporting material for the challenge homework like why the product rule formula is asymmetric.

I feel like the end part of the course should be the discrete calculus exam rather than the 5 part final exam because some may be taking this course individually and might not know some of the content in the final part and so, may not pass the course without using external resources to learn things they didn't learn. The final exam should either only be for people who have completed the four previous parts or a choice if you've only taken some of the five parts.

The course was good and Professor Ghrist is great at teaching; just that he takes a little too long but speeding up makes that fine. The topics never feel like they were underutilised or unimportant; every concept is given practical or theoretical justification for its introduction which is fantastic. It would have been nice to see more applications of discrete calculus as a method to evaluate sums, maybe as exercises? I did enjoy the course too, thanks Professor Ghrist and your team.

교육 기관: Jean B A

2020년 9월 13일

je voudrais un certificat de ce cours , Donnez-moi l'accès pour que je puisse payer le cours?

교육 기관: karimdzan a

2017년 12월 1일

very cognitive!!

교육 기관: Kevin P

2019년 3월 20일

Excellent.