Chevron Left
영어 작문 I(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 영어 작문 I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
400개의 평가
110개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

You will gain a foundation for college-level writing valuable for nearly any field. Students will learn how to read carefully, write effective arguments, understand the writing process, engage with others' ideas, cite accurately, and craft powerful prose. Course Learning Objectives • Summarize, analyze, question, and evaluate written and visual texts • Argue and support a position • Recognize audience and disciplinary expectations • Identify and use the stages of the writing process • Identify characteristics of effective prose • Apply proper citation practices • Discuss applying your writing knowledge to other writing occasions...

최상위 리뷰

JR

Mar 08, 2017

Very helpful for writers and future career writers. Plus the professor is extremely down to earth. Was not expecting that and I forgive her for being a Duke fan. Go Tar Heels!!!! jk jk

AA

Dec 15, 2017

I very excited to get this certificate and improved my knowledge writing and skills to get better understand for create a fiction with rules that I learned in Duke University

필터링 기준:

영어 작문 I의 108개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Jonathan I L A

Oct 11, 2018

The contents of the course are not bad, but the peer review system is an absolute failure. If you enroll into this course get ready to get absolutely no useful feedback. It is ridiculous that the course is called English composition and yet 70% of my peers were unable to speak or write english properly. I'm not an english native speaker but I consider that my english is decent enough to do my assignments properly, that's why it is so frustrating that I spent time reviewing carefully other people's texts only to get absolute crap in return either by people who can't speak english, or by english speakers that are so lazy that they can't make a little effort to give you any sort of useful feedback. So don't waste your time. You can find all the knowledge that this course offers in other sites without having to waste your time with dumb or lazy peers.

교육 기관: Mathew F

Dec 09, 2017

I am so very disappointed and angry with Coursera. The peer review and grading methodology must seem good as a theory but in practice, it has been an absolute fail. Add to that, the inability to have my work graded promptly - especially when it's turned in on time - but also add in the impossibility to get someone to respond to my questions or concerns. My peer reviewers seem to be unable to comprehend the basic fundamentals of the English language. It is very frustrating to receive feedback that is inaccurate with nothing objective to add. This happened not once or twice but over and over again. I've had my wife (who has several degrees and writes as a profession, along with my GED teacher, to review my work and they are baffled right along with me as to why my peers fail my work assignments. If this is the best Coursera can do - you have a failing model. My experience has taught me not to bother with purchasing a course either. This has been a HUGE waste my time and energy.

교육 기관: Paola B

Apr 01, 2018

Hard work and worth it! Grateful for the opportunity. Fully recommend it for anyone who is serious about learning to write clearly and improve their prose.

교육 기관: XiaoYan W

Nov 15, 2017

I don't recommend this course because it is not well constructed. There is obvious mismatch between what is taught and what is tested. For example, in week 5, the content is about annotated bibliography, but the assignment is a case study and the evaluation questions consist of how effective introduction and conclusion are. It confused many students.

The class offers only links to online sites on how to write a case study. There are plenty of business classes devoting the entire class on how to write a case study. How can the teacher in this introduction to writing class expect new student to write a case study without at least a lecture on what it is, what it consists of and how to write it.

Furthermore, it is only a week later (in week #6), there are lectures on introduction and conclusion. Shouldn't they been taught in week #5 if students are asked to evaluation others' works on introduction and conclusion in week #5?

There is fundamental issue (Chronology between lectures and assignments) in this class and it should be reviewed and corrected before given to the public. It is only one of the two classes I took in coursera as tests. I would say "buyers beware". Don't be fooled by the universities.

I suggest the provider to review the course material and improve quality. Because at current offering, it is below standards. It is confusing, like confused writing to readers or students.

Sincerely,

Amy

교육 기관: Lucia B

Jun 21, 2018

Helpful, informative, and engaging! I've always been at the top of my classes in English, but this is helping me sharpen my skills even more and apply them to my life.

교육 기관: noam17

Apr 07, 2018

excelente

교육 기관: 赵洁

May 26, 2018

going through 10 weeks study, I learned a lot., this course is quite helpful. though I am major in biological science, I still learn a lot from this class, especially in other fields. thanks~

교육 기관: Deborah S

Jul 19, 2018

Excellent course. I learned so much about writing and it opened up new possibilities for me. The lectures were interesting and Dr. Comer presents her information in an open and enjoyable manner. I wish there was an English Composition ll course.

교육 기관: Fatima t Z A S

Aug 27, 2019

When I chose this course named “English Composition 1”, I didn’t know nor was I expecting that I will gain so much from this course, that I will leave as a confident writer who can write anything whatever given as a challenge. From writing about personal feelings, my goals and fears and to writing an Op-Ed article, I learned Creative Writing. I started this course from a common literature student and ended up being a writer myself.

After starting this course, I was asked firstly to write under this heading “I am a Writer”, this thing created so much confidence in me, because before that, I was not considering myself a writer, but when the instructor told that how I am also a writer, my confidence in writing increased.

I gained so much knowledge and skills from next 3 Major Projects. I got beautiful feedback from Peers. Throughout this course, I enjoyed writing and getting feedback from different people who new nothing about my own self but analyzed my writing. Nothing can be more neutral than that. I must say Peer Review system is a great success. We come to know about our short comings and strengths and I am thankful to the "Self Reflection" Quizzes which made me reflect on my writing.

Now after this course, I have confidence in my writing that I can write about anything. This course is so beneficial for the beginners as well as other writers who want to enhance their writing skills. I am so much great-full to the team of this course. They have created a beautiful course for writers. I recommend everyone who want to become a writer, to choose this course. It's sublime.

교육 기관: Effrosyni P

Jun 19, 2018

Interesting course, introducing writing for different purposes and encouraging participants to offer and receive valuable feedback. Challenging assignments, enchanting journey! I gave 4 instead of 5 stars because of the structure: the order of lessons, videos etc is rather inconvenient. Great pieces of advice are left for the end, after all assignments are completed (had they been put in the beginning, we might have had an opportunity to actually reap the benefits and improve our writing). Also, make sure you watch/read everything a week has to offer before you move on to the assignment (the stuff following the assignment is the most important).

교육 기관: Linta M

Nov 20, 2018

I really liked this course. It was very beneficial for my academic writing.

교육 기관: Al-Da

Nov 25, 2018

This course was amazing! It taught me how to write assignments, how to peer-asses, how to write in academic style, how to cite, and taught me about all citation schools. It was fun, challenging and a great experience. I was able to discover my abilities in writing, which I was very unsure about. It provided me with all that I need, to start my first college year full with confident.

The tutor was very well-acknowledged, and she was so nice.

Thank you Denise Comer, and I hope that you would make another course, about another aspect of writing.

교육 기관: Xiaoyun Y

Mar 10, 2019

I love the way Dr. Comer is presenting. It is warm and full of knowledge. This is a course fundamental for all of the college students and I have learned a lot about English writing thourgh it. It seems to me like I were still in college. Thank you Dr.!

교육 기관: Esequias F d S

Mar 11, 2019

Very important course

교육 기관: JimmyChan

Mar 17, 2019

Amazing course, it makes me more active to write essay.

교육 기관: Viet T

Mar 20, 2019

So great, thanks so much.

교육 기관: Mustapha E A

Oct 04, 2018

It's really an academic course, I do enjoy on the course ☺☺☺☺☺

교육 기관: dream_fly

Jun 02, 2017

nice course

교육 기관: Abdoulaye O

Dec 27, 2016

very interesting course. The fundamental of english language. It was a pleasure for me to follow that class.

Thank you!

교육 기관: xbb2

Sep 07, 2016

sorry for shortage of money to support me continue the course

교육 기관: Mane M

Aug 11, 2016

This amazing course brought new skills in my life. I wrote for public, and my article "India and Armenia: the Connection" got published. I learned how to make arguments and support evidence to make the arguments stronger. I learned the strategies on how to make a visual analysis. We learned to write annotations and do proper citations. I would strongly recommend my peers to take this course.

With best regards,

Mane Mehrabian, Armenia

교육 기관: Hana H

Dec 15, 2017

If I could give a review 10 stars out of 5, I would! This course was amazing, and I definitely would recommend it

교육 기관: Raushan K

Aug 02, 2017

Wonderful basic course to learn

교육 기관: Sanjana S

Jun 02, 2017

yoco

교육 기관: Charlie

Mar 29, 2018

very nice course,welcome