Chevron Left
Stanford Introduction to Food and Health(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Stanford Introduction to Food and Health 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
24,452개의 평가
7,104개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

최상위 리뷰

VI

2021년 1월 18일

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

TL

2016년 9월 30일

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

필터링 기준:

Stanford Introduction to Food and Health의 7,152개 리뷰 중 6726~6750

교육 기관: Emilia T

2020년 4월 13일

the course has a great start and gives you intro about proteins carbs and fat at the scientific level, so you can understand how does it really work in your body and how does affect you. also, the good intro about trans fat and explanation about them was very good. and about processed food. But in the 3rd week of the course, the learning about food and health becomes very shallow and purely, almost you can find better explanations and studies on youtube channels. this is course ONLY for people who don't have any knowledge about food and overall health. if you have any knowledge about nutrition, vitamins, minerals and how their intake affects you and your metabolism, then skip it and find something that gives you more information and knowledge about your health.

교육 기관: Marcia P

2016년 1월 30일

To me , you were preaching to the choir. I have been trying to follow Pollan's ideas for years. I was hoping for new information, but for me it was a rehash of stuff I have heard ad infinite. this did not seem like a class. This seemed more like an advertisement for healthy eating with it constant music and sparse content. Certainly it did not have the rigorous content that would have been required in a college level credited class. It was certainly not as interesting nor as informative as the Berkeley class "edible education 101"

Still as an advertisement for good eating it was well done. If you found an audience out there somewhere who had not heard these messages, then you have succeeded and I applaud you for that.

교육 기관: Olivia G

2022년 1월 4일

This course was well-paced and presented in an engaging way with quality graphics and clips. I like the balance of scientific, social, psychological and cultural information being taught. Also, the woman had an easy gentle voice that was perfect for this course. My only issue is the promotion of recipes that include animal products. A course about food and health should not include eggs. If the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture has stated that it's illegal to label eggs as "nutritious" or "healthy" then why are there egg recipes at the end of this course? This feels especially problematic and contradictory since the egg and dairy industry's practices are horrificly unethical in The United States.

교육 기관: Uelinton M P

2016년 3월 29일

In the beginning it feels like a course, but from week three on it feels more like a conversation about food. It is more suitable for people with very little background n food science and nutrition, aiming to get some knowl on these fields. But the views are quite one sided and necessarily true when it comes to the understanding of the food chain. Of course, many of their opinions are valid, but I wouldn´t accept those views as solid rock statements because they are not.

In any case, I recomend the course for people with obesity problems and those who are too lazy to think about the importance of home cooking.

The quality of the videos is outstanding! Congratulations!

교육 기관: Julia I L

2022년 5월 17일

Good course if you don't know anything about healthy eating or are new to human biology/metabolism, but not a very comprehensive nutrition course for people looking for more.

The last "week" of the course is just a collection of recipes, which I can see being helpful for people who are new to healthy eating or looking for new and easy nutritous meals, but not very academically stimulating. The commentary from Dr. Mollan was really interesting however, and his participation was very interesting -- especially his ethos of "Eat real food. Not too much. Mostly plants." was very interesting a good, simple way of thinking about nutrition and eating a healthy diet.

교육 기관: Dmitriy M

2016년 4월 9일

Hate the music. And that permanent fake smile and constant nodding. Those are cheap brainwashing techniques which target human cognitive abilities and subconscious to make their words sound more deep and convincing.

You often can see such brainwashing tricks in commercials and advertisements which try to elevate some concept or idea but lack any information or facts to back it up. And it is very weird to see same tricks used in this set of lectures, because these ones actually do have a lot of facts and information and arguments behind them.

The whole course is basically just blaberring about vegetables. Almost no new or useful information for me.

교육 기관: Cheryl C

2022년 1월 1일

I have mixed feelings about this class It offers simple, no nonsense dietary guidelines, but was superficial in many aspects. Was geared to people who are trying to get started eating a healthy diet, but is not for someone who wants more in depth information. I am a fan of Michael Pollan's books, but I have already read them and too much of this was just an interview with the author. I would prefer to hear more from the MD who was supposed to be the featured speaker and less from the journalist . It is an easy and painless class, but not challenging for anyone who already eats a healthy diet and who wants a bit more of the science.

교육 기관: Karma W Y

2020년 10월 23일

The videos of the course are very good. I have no training in nutrition but the course seemed very basic, I would have liked something a little more in-depth. I was very surprised to see what American food is like. Most of the concepts shown in this course are basic and known to any European, African, Latino ... Who can not have onions or garlic in their kitchen? It seems to me that when it comes to food and cooking, the US has a long way to go; starting with becoming aware of what is being ingested and continuing to pressure the food industry to stop making shit. There is a lot to work on. Good luck and thank you very much.

교육 기관: F S

2020년 9월 2일

I don't know when this course was made, but looking at it in 2020, the wealthy white privilege is stunning, with the "ease" of shopping for healthy fresh ingredients in your ample spare time, or growing herbs in your garden -- infinitely out of reach for people working minimum wage jobs or even middle class people living in apartments. There was some basic information about good nutrition, and some good tips for making lifestyle changes -- but, again, those are only tips available to people who have privilege. And speaking of white privilege, apart from Dr. Adams, I don't recall much diversity or inclusion in the video.

교육 기관: Curtis R

2020년 8월 22일

There was a lot of great tips and advice given during the course but the material is of such an introductory nature that I would not value a certificate held by an applicant for any job requiring nutrition training. I very much appreciate the first week's message, talk more about food than nutrition.

Personally, the recipes in week 5 were incredibly disappointing because all of them had animal products in them. Meat, dairy and eggs are processed foods, that some animal processed whole, plant-based foods instead of an industrial machine does not change the fact that it is processed.

Just say no to dietary cholesterol!

교육 기관: Ryan C

2020년 4월 9일

The beginning was a bit too technical/science based, for someone who didn't go beyond Grade 9 Science (and that was in 1985) but then it finished so easy. It has to be impossible for a person to not get 100% on the last two quizzes where you choose from five answers, and four are so obviously wrong.

Overall, the information provided is valid and useful, but the testing is poor.

Maya, the host, seems like a lovely lady. I found her too stiff and too perfect in everything she said and did. The man she interviewed seemed way more relaxed.

All this aside, I appreciate the opportunity to take the course. Thank you!

교육 기관: KellI

2016년 3월 20일

Good "basics" course. Great for beginners and reminders!

I was hoping for something more advanced & was a bit disappointed. I am probably more knowledgeable than most however. The statement made regarding "eating fruits & veggies regardless of whether they have pesticides or not" was a bit tough for me as I became ill in part due to pesticides and still am. I might always be. I understand eating veggies in place of other foods (i. e. - processed foods) as I eat very little meat anymore. But coming from Stanford and someone as educated as he is, that was shocking. It makes me wonder who funded this course.

교육 기관: Galina T

2017년 12월 18일

Привет русскоязычным исследователям здорового питания! Этот курс привлек меня институтом и надеждой на базовые и современные знания. Но оказалось, здесь очень мало информации (видео на 18 минут в неделю) очень поверхностный рассказ. Тесты составлены на сложном английском языке, гугл-переводчик тут не поможет, если вы не владеете языком в совершенстве - придется обращаться за помощью.

Лучше прочитать одну книгу (например "Мой очаровательный кишечник").

Надеюсь мой отзыв поможет сомневающимся, но конечно - это личное мнение. Изучить весь курс вы сможете за одни выходные.

교육 기관: Stephanie H

2017년 7월 9일

I appreciate this course, the quality of the videos, and the subject manner, however I felt that a lot of the material was drawn from an interview with Michael Pollan (why not just recommend reading his books, or seeing his wealth of documentaries on Netflix, such as "Cooked" and "In Defense of Food." I felt that this course did not offer as much scientific information about nutrition as I was hoping. Having said that, I feel like this course would be great for those struggling with their weight. There should be a link to this on diabetes and heart disease websites.

교육 기관: Marta Z

2020년 9월 14일

The course was enjoyable as such (I love hearing M. Pollan speak), but content-wise it was not something I was expecting. I think the only piece of knowledge provided is a division between protein/carbs and fats, and everything else is well, not very science based - in the sense I was expecting from Stanford. I expected to get much more actual content than fillers like eat more veggies, drink water. It seems to be directed to ppl who have absolute zero knowledge of what they should eat. No offence, I just expected to learn something.

교육 기관: Leyre D d V

2020년 5월 6일

El curso esta bien para marcar las bases nutricionales a personas que se alimentan de manera muy insaludable, sin embargo es bastante pobre para todas aquellas personas que se interesan por la nutrición y buscan aprender más.

Hay varios fallos en los alimentos utilizados, como mucha sal añadida a los alimentos, utlilización de Nutella en vez de una pasta de cacao realizada por uno mismo ....

Aún así he seguido el curso hasta el final y les agradezco el esfuerzo y dedicación para llevarlo a cabo!

Saludos y agradecimientos

교육 기관: Ekaterina N

2020년 10월 19일

Very simple course. Speak about very common things and teach how to cook simple dishes.

Was surprised that cooking crepes and eating them with Nutella is good. I thought that nutella is one of the product that should be avoided because it has sugar on the first place and palm oil on the second place.

Egg salad with mayonese. If mayo is a homemade, then it is ok, but buying mayo in a store is not a healthy food.

I expected more from this course. I was expecting some serious information on nutrition and food.

교육 기관: Pim M

2016년 8월 24일

Short and concise. The course strongly aims for USA residents who eat too much. If you are that person, this course is perfect. As someone from another country without health problems, there was not much here. I was hoping to learn more about food and how to optimize my diet so as to increase energy, improve mood, increase life-expectancy, and reduce chances for depression. I found nothing about that. But it's not so bad because the course took me less than 3 hours and I still picked up a few things :).

교육 기관: Lim Z L

2017년 6월 21일

This course teaches very basic knowledge about nutrition. It is good for people who have are just starting out on learning about food and nutrition. Personally I feel that the topics discussed were rather repetitive and general. Perhaps the course could have dived deeper into the topic of nutrition such as discussion of how cooking methods may affect nutritional values of food, different storage conditions for different food types and whether they have any impact on the nutritional contents etc.

교육 기관: Felix B

2017년 7월 3일

I think, it gives a good overview over food and the health implications from eating less processed food for instance. However, I think a lot of the material is too much focused on the US. In a lot of countries (especially across Asia), people do not cook at home but eat at food courts, which do not use processed food and are equally healthy than what we would cook at home. Also, being interested in this topic, I think most of the concepts were rather basic and did not go into depth too much.

교육 기관: Ian T

2021년 4월 21일

The course provides a simple introduction to nutrition and food, for students with limited knowledge in this area I would recommend it as a reasonable place to start your learning. However for those who already have some knowledge I would be surprised if you learn anything new. I would also say that some of the claims made on this course about the benefits of a largely plant based diet over a more carnivore diet are disputed, current thinking on saturated has also moved on.

교육 기관: Mark C

2021년 5월 29일

Do you think veganism is not likely to be sustainable for most people? Looking for recipes for ricotta cake or egg sandwiches? This might be the course for you. The course is a mix of (a) some basic nutrition, using a mainstream perspective which does not go far enough for many of us, and (b) the more progressive views of Michael Pollan, who is interviewed on camera throughout.

You can polish it off quickly, in a matter of hours.

You might find that it leaves you hungry.

교육 기관: Cecilia F

2020년 4월 11일

To whom it may concern,

I'm a french-spanish young person and I personally found the introduction very useful (explanation of nutritional components). However, the rest of the course was too basic. I expected to go deeper in nutrition and not so much about avoiding processed food, which i find a little obvious.

Anyway, thank you very much for the course. All this effort will surely help many people with no real-food culture at all.

교육 기관: Hainuo C

2020년 5월 18일

This is an interesting and informative course. After learning it, I started to be more conscious about planning my meal. The recipe and cooking video in the last session is very impressive. However, the content of the course is too basic for me, and the advice such as "eat more vegetable" and "read ingredient list" are more like a common sense thing. This course would be better to talk about deeper level content.