Chevron Left
Introduction to Genetics and Evolution(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Introduction to Genetics and Evolution 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
693개의 평가
157개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

최상위 리뷰

YH

Jul 04, 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

TN

Sep 28, 2017

Very good course that prepared me for Genetics at Pima Community College in Tucson. I am able to follow the lectures and actually understand what is being presented. I am glad I took this course.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution의 153개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Vanessa C d C L

Jan 17, 2017

I really enjoyed the classes and the supplemental materials available. I loved how the lessons were taught and explained by Dr. Mohamed Noor and I really enjoyed the content of the classes.

교육 기관: Ramanuja-Chary A

Jul 06, 2018

Thoroughly enjoying the course content. I am a Software Engineer and am doing this course out of personal interest. I was a bit hesitant if I would be able to sustain the interest through the length of the course. Dr. Mohamed Noor has done an amazing job in introducing and building on the concepts week after week. My sincere thanks to the Dr. Mohamed Noor and Duke University for offering this course online.

교육 기관: Patrick M

Aug 09, 2019

Really great course. Has a lot of interesting real life examples and covers all of the basics of genetics in comprehensive detail. Really glad I did the course and hope to use the knowledge gained in my future career.

교육 기관: Mark M

Jan 31, 2019

Great Guy!!!! I am an adjunct and I use these lectures as inspiration

교육 기관: 何奕丹

Jan 23, 2019

我可以学到很多课上没涉及到的知识和解题方法

교육 기관: Hammad u r

Dec 16, 2018

I learned many knowledge in this course

교육 기관: Leah S

Dec 17, 2018

Thank you! I feel very prepared to take Introduction to Genetics next semester at my college.

교육 기관: MD N H

Jan 11, 2019

Good way to improve basic of Genetics.

교육 기관: DeeDee S

Feb 20, 2019

Dr. Noor is an amazing professor and explains course material very well. I would definitely take more of his courses!

교육 기관: Pranab M

Mar 06, 2019

Thank you for the course. If you are taking the course, it may be a good idea to take some notes during the lectures, and pay attention to the mathematical parts (which are not difficult at the college freshman level).

교육 기관: David H

Mar 12, 2019

Best course that I have completed, to date

교육 기관: Karolina M

Dec 04, 2018

Such a good course. My background is ecology and nature conservation and i am trying to get more into phylogenetics. This course was a nice introduction and coherent summary of important topics tying together evolution and genetics as an intro to phylogenetics.

교육 기관: Matt B

Mar 29, 2019

Very thorough introduction to the subject. As someone who comes from a math background, the biological terms and theory were explained very well. Dr. Noor was an excellent teacher.

교육 기관: Carlos A C G

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you!!

Forever yours!!!

교육 기관: harshal D

Feb 18, 2019

its an awesome review for genetics college class.

교육 기관: Jacek B

Apr 04, 2016

Perfectly done, dynamic, manageable, with sense of humor.

교육 기관: Joe A

May 31, 2016

Very useful.

교육 기관: Nicla A C

Nov 17, 2017

Dr. Mohamed Noor is a fantastic teacher and with simplicity he was able to make me understand complex topics and discover the great wolrd of evolution.

교육 기관: Clare H

Sep 13, 2017

Excellent course taught me exactly what I needed to know! The lecturer is fabulous, really engaging and entertaining, and clearly has a very in-depth knowledge of the subject material. Highly recommend!!

교육 기관: Jenny M

May 06, 2016

The lecture materials are interesting and informative. And the quizzes require an understanding of the material. I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot about genetics and evolution. Thank you again.

교육 기관: wang m

Mar 27, 2017

感谢这门课程,让我能快速的入门。

교육 기관: Alfonso M P

Jan 17, 2016

Dear Mohamed, thank you for challenging me with this course! We want more....

교육 기관: He X

Dec 26, 2017

Great entry level class for ppl who want to know more about genetics!

교육 기관: Simon B

Aug 29, 2017

Good course!

교육 기관: Kai F

Jan 10, 2016

I found this course very well taught. Especially the lectures wre conceived in a way that it was entertaining and challeging at the same time. Coming for a social science background myself, I was delighted by the way the course eased people from outside the subject area into the field. Additionally, I was able to to do the course without it conflicitng with my job (in my case it actually helped my own research in social science, which made even mor eof a success for me). Prof. Noor did a great job in teaching without overburden and keeping a light tone while making me learn.

Only one minor problem:

Having never encountered multiple choice during my academic career, I was sometimes thrown off by the wording of questions and answers. I know it is hard to creat quiz-formats that are not based on multiple choice, but it would maybe make the course more comprehensive, i there were. Since this is likely to be a problem with my own experience and does not affect others so much, I would not go as far as deducing anything.

A future wish: Maybe a course on the subject, specialising in some subareas based on this course woudl be great.

All in all, Prof. Noor and his team did a good job in conceiving and conducting this course.