Chevron Left
Global Statistics - Composite Indices for International Comparisons(으)로 돌아가기

제네바대학교의 Global Statistics - Composite Indices for International Comparisons 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
25개의 평가
12개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The number of composite indices that are constructed and used internationally is growing very fast; but whilst the complexity of quantitative techniques has increased dramatically, the education and training in this area has been dragging and lagging behind. As a consequence, these simple numbers, expected to synthesize quite complex issues, are often presented to the public and used in the political debate without proper emphasis on their intrinsic limitations and correct interpretations. In this course on global statistics, offered by the University of Geneva jointly with the ETH Zürich KOF, you will learn the general approach of constructing composite indices and some of resulting problems. We will discuss the technical properties, the internal structure (like aggregation, weighting, stability of time series), the primary data used and the variable selection methods. These concepts will be illustrated using a sample of the most popular composite indices. We will try to address not only statistical questions but also focus on the distinction between policy-, media- and paradigm-driven indicators....

최상위 리뷰

MJ

Mar 30, 2019

Eventhough this isn't something I want to particularly do in the future I would like to say that I have enjoyed learning about composite indicators. I would highly recommend this MOOC to anyone.

SN

Oct 09, 2019

Well structured course with many popular examples. I was looking for such course for a long time and this course really satisfies my needs.

필터링 기준:

Global Statistics - Composite Indices for International Comparisons의 12개 리뷰 중 1~12

교육 기관: Liliana F D V A

Apr 06, 2019

This is definitely a great course to acquire a real grasp of the methodology required for the construction of composite indices!

The multiple examples provided in the different modules were definitely eye openers to the wide array of composite indices that are being used world wide. An element I felt missing though was a deeper explanation of the robustness tests each organization developed to chose their final indices.

I believe a great follow up for this course would be the design of a specialization program with multiple courses that could go deeper into the technical aspects of the construction of composite indices (aggregation, elasticity, weights, and robustness tests) through a hands-on approach and a Capstone project in which students could apply all their knowledge for the proper construction of a composite index.

교육 기관: José F N T

Apr 21, 2020

It would be good to add a computational exercise to estimate a composite indicator.

교육 기관: Vianney B B E M

May 27, 2019

Ce cours m'a permis de comprendre la théorie et les méthodes utilisées pour élaborer les indices composites qui, jusque là, étaient des "boites noires". J'ai pu en saisir toute la richesse analytique. Je me réjouis d'utiliser et de partager les acquis de ce cours avec toutes les personnes partageant les mêmes préoccupations : rendre intelligible une grande quantité d'informations en les synthétisant en une grandeur explicite, informative. Je recommande vivement le suivi de ce cours.

교육 기관: Xenia G M C

Jun 30, 2020

The course was pretty useful and interesting as it provided the pros and shortcomings of composite indices in a theoretical and practical way. As well, the last modules with different recognized examples of these indices -such as Globalization, Trade and Human Development Index- were a super plus as it was a real contact with empirical data after all the theory learnt throughout the course. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Stellios S

Jul 29, 2018

With CIs everywhere, this is a nice course for a wider audience to get an understanding of how they get constructed and matters that have to be taken into account while doing so. Plenty of use-cases about well-known indices and presentations from people involved in their creation. If you are working with data, it is highly likely that you may come up with ideas in the end!

교육 기관: Mohamed A M J

Mar 30, 2019

Eventhough this isn't something I want to particularly do in the future I would like to say that I have enjoyed learning about composite indicators. I would highly recommend this MOOC to anyone.

교육 기관: Aizailadema A A

Jun 15, 2020

I enjoyed the course because it showed the methodology of different composite indicators in use, and the experts in them exposed the motivation of its origin and its evolution. Thank you!

교육 기관: Saad N

Oct 09, 2019

Well structured course with many popular examples. I was looking for such course for a long time and this course really satisfies my needs.

교육 기관: FATHIMA M

Jun 16, 2020

It is a good platform to study about complex indices in statistics.I really enjoyed this.

교육 기관: José L V P

May 02, 2019

Ha sido un curso genial. Realmente didáctico y formal.

교육 기관: Mona A A

Jun 28, 2020

GOOD

교육 기관: Igor C

Oct 31, 2019

The support material, especially in the two first weeks, could be simplified (eg, the powerpoints could be presented in another format, reducing the dozens of pages by at least a half).