Chevron Left
Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management(으)로 돌아가기

케이프타운대학교의 Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
254개의 평가

강좌 소개

Focusing on the Large Marine Ecosystems (LMEs) of the world, this course will introduce the concept and practice of ecosystem-based management. LMEs occupy areas of coastal ocean at least 200 000 km² or greater in size. These coastal waters produce 12.6 trillion USD in ecosystem goods and services annually and are vitally important for billions of people around the globe. Because LMEs are bounded by ocean features and are globally linked, management of human activities needs to occur in an integrated fashion across political boundaries and economic sectors (e.g. fishing, shipping, energy, tourism, and mining.) This represents a new type of management approached - shifting from single sector-based to multi-sector assessment and management within the spatial domain of the world's 66 Large Marine Ecosystems. There is global high-level support for this new approach and in this course, we will introduce the concepts and tools for assessing and managing LMEs. Together, leaders and experts in a global movement to recover and sustain the goods and services of LMEs will introduce you to the mechanisms used for assessment (Transboundary Diagnostic Analysis), planning and implementation (Strategic Action Programme). Based on recent activities in implementation and practice of the LME approach in 22 projects around the globe, we will showcase examples of effective management at this scale, and highlight the challenges and issues. By the end of the online course, we hope you will be able to actively use this knowledge to advance sustainable development of the world’s oceans. The course was created with the support and input of: the Global Environment Facility (GEF), the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), UNESCO-IOC and IW:LEARN....

최상위 리뷰

SM

2020년 6월 20일

Not only was this an incredibly informative course but it gives me hope about the future of our oceans. It's exciting to hear about all of the collaborative work going on within and between nations.

TC

2019년 1월 16일

This course deepened my understanding of large marine ecosystems, how they should be assessed and the best practices/strategies that should be implemented in order to successfully manage them.

필터링 기준:

Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management의 86개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Muhammad A R

2020년 7월 27일

This is really an excellent course particularly those who are interested in marine ecosystem-based management. I will surely recommend it to my friends and colleagues.

교육 기관: Lucius J

2020년 10월 23일

I've always have a love for the environment, especially the ocean, but this course have opened my eyes to the collaborative efforts towards the protection and continuity of our oceans and its inhabitance. the efforts that was put into the presentation of this course including all the resources that was made available made it easier to understand and pass the course. I would like to extend my appreciation and say thanks to professor Coleen Moloney, Dr Kenneth Sherman, Emma Kelley and everyone else who contributed to make this course possible.

Continue the good work on teaching the world

교육 기관: Sabine

2018년 5월 30일

I have enjoyed the course very much. It is well structures and offer a good overview of the various steps towards EBM of LMEs. It is also a great source of information and references about current TDA-SAP efforts in various LMEs. The graded activities are interesting and provide the opportunity to work more specifically on one or 2 examples of TDA-SAP. The grading process it self is a bit difficult as each question is sort of a good or bad options only , there is no room to provide a more refined assessment such as yes main elements were provided but failed to fully answer the question and deserve a 3/4 grade but choice is only 0/4 or 4/4. The feedback we get from the graded activities is therefore limited.

교육 기관: Karen P S

2020년 5월 30일

Really loved this course! My work delves deeply into coastal management so it was refreshing to see a whole new perspective about things, especially on how we can improve management at a transboundary scale. What's even more commendable is how the information was broken down into clear, disgestable chunks. Also love how there's a synthesis every step of the way to help with memory retention. Also love the readings. I think they're a good representation of all the existing literature there is on large marine ecosystems. Everyone should give this course a try.

교육 기관: Nina B

2021년 5월 20일

The quizes were simple enough to not be overwhelmed completely. I redid my quizes quite a few times which aided me in working through content. The last assignment was quite daunting as I found information harvesting was difficult due to the very large documents one had to go through to find simple answers. Peer reviewing was very pleasant as this allowed me to see what the standard of my answers should be.

교육 기관: Sonia R

2020년 8월 16일

An excellent introduction to the prevailing approach to managing ocean ecosystems. Strong focus on the concept of Large Marine Ecosystems and how countries collaborate to protect shared marine ecosystems using United Nations resources and funding from the Global Environmental Fund.

교육 기관: morad h

2021년 11월 21일

It was a very useful course at the beginning. I would like to thank the professors in charge of the course for providing the information to us beautifully.. I learned from the course a lot of things, including the risks that threaten the marine environment such as overfishing and pollution, what are their causes and possible solutions to avoid these risks, in addition, I learned about the productivity of fisheries Fish and cross-border fishing and what are the measures that governments can take to preserve the integrity of the oceans, in addition to that, I took a comprehensive idea of ​​the sustainability of livestock and natural habitats

교육 기관: Patrick O

2021년 1월 5일

Very well organized course, good videos and selection of readings and effective teaching methods, incl. the peer review which I think is a very good idea for MOOCs. I have learned a lot (about LMEs as well as about how a good MOOC can be done).

A small critique: I wish the certificate had a back-page where some more details about the course, duration etc. was listed as to show potential employers the content and scope of the course. Noone will look at the provided URL to find out the details.

교육 기관: Amy P N

2020년 6월 17일

Absolutely brilliant course! It gives so much great information to really get to grips with LME assessment and management, as well as lots of resources to fully engage with the topic. The videos and readings were all easy to follow and the assessments were never too hard, but definitely gave opportunities to really look into the topic in depth. I really do recommend this course if you're interesting in marine ecosystems and their conservation.

교육 기관: Arturo M

2018년 6월 25일

Very recommendable course, with high quality teaching classes and a wide knowledge offer from ecosystem characteristics to effective marine management. Very easy to follow, starting from the basics in the first weeks and going deeper and more difficult in the study while advancing in time. Tasks and activities very challenging and interesting, the best ones those qualified by the other students of the course. A really good learning experience!

교육 기관: Paul N

2021년 2월 23일

Very well-structured course and thought out content. Please be prepared to conduct your own research using the materials provided and links in the course to support your assessments (if going for a certified course). I liked how each aspect was developed on in the following week, this builds your appreciation of LMEs from a systematic perspective. Good foundation for those who work in the marine management and governance sector.

교육 기관: Tanvir K

2022년 2월 2일

'Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management' is an outstanding course arranged by University of Cape Town with the support and input of the Global Environment Facility (GEF), the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), UNESCO-IOC and IW:LEARN through Coursera. This is an extraordinary course. You can enroll if you are interested in marine ecosystems.

교육 기관: Loyiso V

2018년 6월 28일

This programme is quite impressive. As a student, I often finished my work during last minutes. But the way it i structured and created, I find my self learning many concepts and enjoying it too. It is a well developed and amazing way of learning and teaching. I hope that some else tries it, as my first online course, it definitely won't be my last. Thank you to all the members of the LME.

교육 기관: Andrés T

2021년 5월 24일

A very good course, with tools and good information by experts in the field. Highly recommended to understand the management and analysis of the large marine ecosystems on the planet.

Un curso muy bueno, con herramientas y buena información a cargo de expertos en la materia. Muy recomendado para comprender el manejo y análisis de los largos ecosistemas marinos en el planeta.

교육 기관: RAAD K A J

2019년 12월 26일

في تاريخ الأمم المتحدة لا يمكن أن يقال دون الحرب العالمية الثانية. وبعبارة أخرى، فإن تجربة هذه النتائج الحرب في تأسيس الأمم المتحدة، تهدف إلى الحفاظ على عالم يسوده السلام وازدهار الأمم. وعلى النقيض من هذا المثل الأعلى، في بعض الحالات فشل الأمم المتحدة في إنهاء الصراعات الأهلية، مما يدل على الحد من الأمم المتحدة. أعتقد أن الوقت نحن بحاجة إلى إصلاح شكل إدارتها قادم.

교육 기관: Daniela C

2021년 7월 4일

this course is a really good intro to the LME management, more for people who want to explore the field than for people who already have practical experience. the pacing and requirements aren't too difficult, but they do require you to think. all the topics are presented systematically and they're easy to understand even without any background knowledge.

교육 기관: Matt A

2021년 3월 9일

A fantastic course that was complete with a wealth of knowledge, resources both written and video that allowed the student to immerse themselves into the subject matter and really extend beyond what the course offered. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in our environment and the world we live in.

교육 기관: Katherine H

2018년 9월 25일

I thought this course was excellent! It is the first online course I have completed, and I found it interactive, engaging and informative. The information was conveyed through a good mix of media, and the assignments and quizzes at an appropriate level to retain one's attention and make one think !

교육 기관: Abderrahmane K

2020년 5월 17일

A general review of LME assessment and management. You will learn the meaning of LME and some aspects related to their assessment and management. You will have access to plenty of resources and documentation related to this subject.

I recommend to all marine biologists.

교육 기관: Catalina P G

2020년 8월 12일

Tremendo curso! muy informativo y completo. Enriqueció de sobremanera mis conocimientos en el área de los ecosistemas marinos, logre entender en un 100% los contenidos y cada semana planteaba el trabajo de una manera muy desafiante y motivante.

교육 기관: Vasileios-Orestis S

2021년 2월 24일

Very interesting and helpful course, with rich study material for further reading. Lectures are organized and easy to understand, while there are frequent exercises of various types to keep track of your progress and what you've learned.

교육 기관: Jo

2022년 3월 7일

Really enjoyed the course and learnt a lot. The vidoes were very informative and well presented and lots of additional info available. My only issue is that I cant seem to get a certificate and not sure how to contact anyone to help.

교육 기관: Andrea S C P

2021년 6월 15일

I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to take this course, without a doubt I have expanded my knowledge about the management of marine ecosystems, as well as my interest and the focus on my knowledge.

교육 기관: Sarah M

2020년 6월 21일

Not only was this an incredibly informative course but it gives me hope about the future of our oceans. It's exciting to hear about all of the collaborative work going on within and between nations.

교육 기관: Tanya C

2019년 1월 17일

This course deepened my understanding of large marine ecosystems, how they should be assessed and the best practices/strategies that should be implemented in order to successfully manage them.