Chevron Left
Materials Data Sciences and Informatics(으)로 돌아가기

조지아공과대학교의 Materials Data Sciences and Informatics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
242개의 평가
71개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course aims to provide a succinct overview of the emerging discipline of Materials Informatics at the intersection of materials science, computational science, and information science. Attention is drawn to specific opportunities afforded by this new field in accelerating materials development and deployment efforts. A particular emphasis is placed on materials exhibiting hierarchical internal structures spanning multiple length/structure scales and the impediments involved in establishing invertible process-structure-property (PSP) linkages for these materials. More specifically, it is argued that modern data sciences (including advanced statistics, dimensionality reduction, and formulation of metamodels) and innovative cyberinfrastructure tools (including integration platforms, databases, and customized tools for enhancement of collaborations among cross-disciplinary team members) are likely to play a critical and pivotal role in addressing the above challenges....

최상위 리뷰

VV
2020년 7월 27일

It's a great course that can give you a wide view of how to accelerate the development of material using computational resources. I'm a Metallurgical Engineer and I totally recommend this course.

RR
2018년 9월 22일

Machine learning part and its application to material science was interesting but informative contents like material dev eco system and whole week 1 was more informative than logical

필터링 기준:

Materials Data Sciences and Informatics의 70개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Yichi W

2016년 11월 18일

Too much introduction, not much actual useful stuff. Too much mathematically without well illustrated examples.

교육 기관: Justin F

2017년 7월 14일

Useful introduction to vocabulary and concepts in the field, but can't help but feel the pacing and scope of the course takes an abrupt switch at times.

교육 기관: Клявинек С С

2019년 7월 8일

I think it's wonderful course, but I did not have enough real practical skills from it (in my opinion). Thank you very much to the instructors for this course!

교육 기관: Kevin Y J L

2019년 4월 21일

An excellent introduction to Material informatics. I highly recommend to any beginners to get started with learning informatics regarding materials.

교육 기관: Pratik K

2017년 10월 25일

Excellent course if you are looking to understand how to design high performance materials leveraging current advances in data sciences.

Very well delivered by Dr. Surya Kalidindi and Prof McDowell. Reference to the book on the subject by Dr. Kalidindi supplemented by web search was useful.

Need to put the new skills acquired, in practice at work, where I see a huge potential.

Thanks Georgia Tech!!

교육 기관: ANUPAM P

2017년 12월 6일

Very valuable course for materials modelling enthusiast. It provides me the firm grounding and preparation for my future research work in this material modeling. This course is a fine balance of technical knowledge, its implementation and the practical approaches one needs to adopt to effectively use this knowledge of materials modeling in real world. (Anupam Purwar)

교육 기관: Rushikesh R

2018년 9월 22일

Machine learning part and its application to material science was interesting but informative contents like material dev eco system and whole week 1 was more informative than logical

교육 기관: Abdullah A

2019년 8월 18일

The course was overall good but some of the course content is outdated (installing PyMKS) please look into this matter.

교육 기관: Bernard W

2018년 5월 4일

Great introduction of the why and how of materials informatics!

교육 기관: Stefan B

2017년 2월 24일

This is a great starter course for materials informatics. It covers a good amount of topics and uses a nice case study to reinforce digital representation of data, spatial correlations, principal component analysis, and regression. I really liked the examples of pyMKS. My only suggestions is it would have been nice to have more hands-ons use of pyMKS and sci-kit learn. This could have been accomplished through a course project or homeworks.

교육 기관: Thaer M

2017년 9월 21일

This course discussed one particular issue in materials informatics. I hoped to see several other informatics-based techniques to solve problems in materials innovation.

교육 기관: Lidiya P K

2020년 6월 1일

The course has been very helpful in forming a basic understanding of data sciences application in Materials Engineering. Also it motivated me to explore even more, study and adopt these skills in my research.

In my opinion, a few more lectures on PyMKS applications in the last week would be of more help.

I strongly recommend setting up an advanced followup of this course with deeper analysis and some hands-on practice.

My heartfelt thanks to Prof. Kalidindi for this initiative.

교육 기관: Zack P

2020년 4월 2일

I am in the process of transitioning from a purely design position to a professional materials engineer for a 3D house printing company. This course was a great fundamental introduction to materials processing history all the way to current high-end cyberinfrastructure like e-collaborative data pipelines, open-source machine learning libraries in python used to make cutting edge material breakthroughs today.

교육 기관: Ongwenqing

2020년 6월 18일

This course is very informative and relevant for Material Engineering students like me to incorporate Data Science and modern technology to speed up research on the discovery of new materials. This course has also provided useful computational tools such as Pymks. Pymks enable use to compute the 2 point spatial correlation and visualization does help in the analysis of the material's structure properties.

교육 기관: Ferchichi Y

2020년 9월 8일

Thanks a lot for this clear and efficient MOOC! I look forward to learning more about the topic. I'll try to find time to read the examples on the pymks web site. Thanks Mr Kalidindi and all the staff!

Best Regards!

Yassine Ferchichi, University Teacher (Tunisia Private University - Mechanical Engineering Department)

교육 기관: Mohammed S

2020년 6월 11일

Very informative course. Cover many concepts of data science as well as the Material design field.

I would recommend this course to the people who want to stay in their core field while utilizing modern-day techniques such as machine learning and data science in their work.

교육 기관: Yiming Z

2017년 7월 19일

Thank you for the course. It is very helpful for my deeper understanding of Materials Informatics. I hope I can get more knowledge and assistance from Professors for my research in this field in future. Thank you!

교육 기관: Victor V D C P

2020년 7월 28일

It's a great course that can give you a wide view of how to accelerate the development of material using computational resources. I'm a Metallurgical Engineer and I totally recommend this course.

교육 기관: DHARMALINGAM G

2020년 4월 28일

This course is very much interesting and i have learned about micro structure analysis using data sciences simulation, regression ,finding mechanical properties etc

교육 기관: PRIYANSHI C

2020년 10월 8일

It is a great way to combine both the branches, Material sciences, and data science. I completely loved this certification. Looking forward to learning more.

교육 기관: Luis A G R

2020년 7월 18일

Great initiative of creating this course! If you're curious about the idea of combining materials science and data science, this course is for you. Enjoy!

교육 기관: Muhammad L M

2020년 11월 11일

Well presented in a simple manner. Great courses to learn exploratory data in material science and engaging with current issues.

교육 기관: Dhanush S B

2020년 5월 11일

A perfect course if one wants to pursue a research career in material science with an engineering background.

교육 기관: Siddhalingeshwar I G

2020년 9월 8일

I take this opportunity to express sincere gratitude to Dr Surya Kalidindi. Thank you COURSERA yet again.

교육 기관: Fekadu T B

2020년 6월 1일

You will learn four paradigms of science: empirical, theoretical, computational, and data-driven.