Chevron Left
The Social Context of Mental Health and Illness(으)로 돌아가기

토론토 대학교의 The Social Context of Mental Health and Illness 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
439개의 평가

강좌 소개

Learn how social factors promote mental health, influence the onset and course of mental illness, and affect how mental illnesses are diagnosed and treated. This course explores how our understanding of mental health and illness has been influenced by social attitudes and social developments in North America and around the world. The course begins by situating our contemporary mental health practices in historical context, then looks at different aspects of mental health, mental illness and mental health services and their connections to what’s going on in our social environment....

최상위 리뷰

AW

2020년 9월 27일

A very enlightening course. This opened my eyes a lot more to what Mental health is all about and how patients with diverse mental illness struggle through their journey to healing and recovery.

HA

2020년 8월 18일

This is a very interesting and eye opening course. Professor Williams explained in such a way that students like me with zero knowledge could understand and be interested. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

The Social Context of Mental Health and Illness의 164개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Dean M

2018년 1월 21일

Needs to be updated. Everything is prior to 2013 data when the DSM has been updated

교육 기관: Fatima L

2021년 5월 25일

I finished this course with a greater confidence in understanding mental health and illness in any given context. The multi-dimensional approach (biopsychosocial perspective that includes familial and spiritual and cultural) taught in the course is an incredibly powerful tool in acquiring a truly holistic understanding of mental health.

To address some of the negative reviews posted here:

"The course is useful only for people who live and work in Canada" This is NOT true. Prof Williams talks about numerous examples (together with reading materials) coming from experiences in North America, India, Africa and Asia. Students are always asked to consider their own social contexts in their writing assignments.

"The course is outdated because it is based on based on DSM-IV" A section of the course (2013) deals with the history of the DSM, while some examples were taken from the latest DSM at that time (DSM-IV), Prof WIlliams was always clear that DSM-V was forthcoming and in fact, she included a video talking about DSM-V when it came out in 2014.

"The course felt more like a commentary, than actually learning about certain topics" The course is not just about learning about "certain topics." The course is more valuable than that. It is about thinking critically and thinking in context.

Also, Prof Williams includes her own ideas and research in the course. I LOVE THAT. I love a teacher who has original ideas and research, based on their own rich experiences in the field. They are not just "instructors."

Some were unhappy with the peer-reviewed written assignments. I am happy with them and find them appropriate to the very nature and purpose of the course. You need to show that you understood what context is and how to actually think about mental health in context, especially in your own social context. A quiz won't help with that.

Thank you, Prof Williams, UoT, Coursera and everyone involved!

교육 기관: Yomna Z

2019년 5월 27일

it is indeed a good and rich course. but i didn't like the idea of a) peer graded assignments and b) not having exams on each part so that we could feel the sense of a real course not just a huge amount of information without evaluating how much did we understand from it.

교육 기관: Dorothy H

2017년 9월 21일

This course I think would really only be pertinent for people who live and work in Canada or who would want to or are very interested in this subject as it relates to Canada's history and practice.

The name should be: The Social Context of mental Health and Illness in Canada.

교육 기관: Katerina M

2020년 8월 24일

Very dissappointing course. It is outdated. It is evident that it was created in 2013 and has not been updated since then. As a consequence, it refers to disorders that don't exist any longer in the current taxonomies and is based on DSM-IV althouth the DSM-5 was released 7 years ago!

교육 기관: Oran B

2016년 11월 10일

I am currently in my second year of counselling and I found this course really helpful to understand the social impact of mental health and illness. The course is very informative, with excellent learning resources. I have recommended this course my peers, I am a full-time teacher, as a way of understanding the extended context of our learners.

I thoroughly enjoyed to course and would take any other course taught by Charmaine. Her teaching style and passion for subject knowledge hand me hooked on the course right from the start!

교육 기관: Amarachi C W

2020년 9월 28일

A very enlightening course. This opened my eyes a lot more to what Mental health is all about and how patients with diverse mental illness struggle through their journey to healing and recovery.

교육 기관: Tempe L

2021년 4월 5일

This course was excllent! Charmaine Williams created a well-rounded and easy to follow course that really helped me to think critically about the way our society interacts with mental health.

교육 기관: Joseph C

2020년 6월 16일

An amazingly enriching course from beginning to end. The social context used in the course is based on a global perspective, touches on a wide variety of social dynamics (such as feminism, modern day colonialism, theory of gender, and ableism) and delivered in an interesting, encouraging and light-hearted manner. Professor Williams shares with you a fair and insightful critique on modern understanding of mental health and illness and on how we arrived to where we are today. I would highly recommend this course to professionals and beginners alike. Thank you Professor Williams!

교육 기관: Roberto

2021년 3월 1일

This course and its references are almost mandatory for those who seek to understand how the social context of a given society influences on the emergence, diagnosis, treatment and recovery of mental illnesses. Furthermore, it also gives insights on how a person can have a diagnosis of mental illness and still be mentally healthy and vice versa. I am sure that all information provided is able to improve one's approach to mental health and illness in academic, professional and social levels.

교육 기관: Nicola J

2019년 4월 29일

I found this course very interesting and engaging. It looks at how mental health and illness are socially constructed and how this can lead to stigmatisation and negative outcomes for the person with a mental health condition. The other side of the coin shows how when support networks are in place and when mental disorders are de-stigmatised the outcomes for many people are considerably improved. My thanks to the educator and course organisers for this informative course.

교육 기관: Renee K

2021년 1월 14일

I enjoyed this course from beginning to end and the whole journey of learning about the social context of mental illness has made me have a broader aspect, As I may delve in and learn more in psychology. I'd highly recommend anybody interested in the social aspect of psychology. Great course and Thank you Lecturer Charmaine Williams for making the course very interesting.

교육 기관: Uxue G

2021년 4월 19일

I found the course very interesting and entertaining. I consider that in each week I have learned something and that they are all very well distributed in terms of materials. I consider that I have learned a lot and that we have dealt with topics that, although they are more distant, have also been useful to me

교육 기관: HyeJin S

2017년 2월 27일

An amazing course! Dr Williams is a great and engaging lecturer, and the information is presented extremely well. Furthermore, the content is very interesting and adds aspect rarely touched in other courses on mental health, such as cultural aspects and effects of colonialism.

교육 기관: Oscar A

2020년 8월 19일

This is a very interesting and eye opening course. Professor Williams explained in such a way that students like me with zero knowledge could understand and be interested. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Fini S E

2020년 4월 27일

It was a great learning experience, I gained a lot of information that will be of great benefit to me in my social work carrier. I will definitely recommend this course to my friends.

교육 기관: Steven Z F

2016년 11월 10일

I like this course, it helps me a lot during my master of social work application season.

교육 기관: Prompiriya P

2020년 7월 21일

While this course is informative, some of the information is outdated because the course is made long ago. Furthermore, lecturer talks very fast while often stumbling with words or sometimes accidentally uses the incorrect term in one video before addressing it in the following videos which makes it confusing. Overall I don't enjoy listening to the lecture compared to many other courses. And if you can find courses with updated information, go for it instead.

교육 기관: amanda f

2021년 8월 30일

I was distressed by how out of date much of the presented information was, and unhappy that sourced materials were unavailable because of outdated links. I would not recommend this course.

교육 기관: Tam M K C

2021년 10월 13일

Not attractive

교육 기관: Aksiniia I

2018년 6월 14일

P

교육 기관: Lorna R

2022년 8월 15일

I loved this course. This course is well organized, with lots of reading and interesting videos and extra reading.

I liked reading the transcripts over again and again after watching the videos. It was nice to see Professor Williams' words.

This is an important course. A course that challenged me to think and be critical in how the social context of mental health and illness affects my life and those in the course especially.

Courses that help me get through a tough time like this one, are great motivators and influence me very much.

How can I pay for the course certificate upon completion of the course. I would like to receive a certificate for the social context of mental health and illness course. How can I pay by cheque - Mail it to what office address. Thank you. L. Reddick

Thank you Professor Williams.

Could you let me know what courses you are teaching in the social work programme at U of T.

my email address is lornareddick3@gmail.com

교육 기관: Karen B

2020년 3월 31일

Thank you to the University of Toronto and to Charmaine Williams for this very useful contextualising of mental health and illness. Having experienced a recent mental health crisis with a family member, this really helped to frame our experience in a new and valuable light. I also feel validated having responded to my experience by becoming a peer advocate teaching psychoeducation courses for carers of loved-one's with mental health difficulties in emotion regulation. It is certainly helping me, knowing that it can help others and keep strained families in tact and emotionally available to one another.

교육 기관: Mamokoli S

2022년 5월 26일

This course was very helpful and informative as it reflected some of the critcal areas of mental and illness. It was very good to actually review the history of mental health and mental illness and how psychiatry has evolved up to this moment. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to understand the relationship between our mental welbeing and our envirioment. The social influences and myths surrounding mental health. This course is not only a mental health and social discourse but also a way of caring for ours and contributing to our communities' mrental health.

교육 기관: Mouna H

2022년 5월 28일

An important, enriching and successful course by all standards. It was a different and unique experience so far through Coursera, where I did not have to attend or submit assignments, but I also had to participate in reading and evaluating the duties of my colleagues and expressing an opinion about them. It was difficult to understand in the beginning, especially when I come at times when I do not have enough colleagues to take this course, but it is worth the experience and I benefited a lot from it, especially after I got the required support from Coursera.

Mouna Homssi