Chevron Left
Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age (으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
410개의 평가
100개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

최상위 리뷰

JM

Jul 29, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

NP

Aug 07, 2017

A very good course prof Richard has explained very difficult to understand concepts in a very simple language and made it easy for students to grasp the subject matter easily.

필터링 기준:

Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age 의 99개 리뷰 중 76~99

교육 기관: Arya D

Aug 08, 2019

The course and the instructor is really amazing. The knowledge gained through this course can be applied to academic as well as personal life which is very impressive about this course. Thank you Mr. Richard Nisbett!

교육 기관: Ihor Y

Jun 14, 2019

Pretty good course. Showed me some errors I usually do.

교육 기관: Bhargav M

Aug 23, 2019

An excellent course

교육 기관: Chingiz M

Sep 12, 2019

mind changing

교육 기관: Mark P

Sep 20, 2019

This has been most excellent.

I found the baserate false alarm rate examples particularly useful and am inspired to use this in a new context

교육 기관: Linda D P

Sep 16, 2019

Informational short 4 week class

교육 기관: Dan

Sep 19, 2019

This course was very useful. It went over concepts which come in handy when we are sifting through the bombardment of information in our current age which we need to process to arrive at sound decisions.

교육 기관: Salvador M

Dec 23, 2018

Really interesting and useful to get better decisions in the future, I hope ;)

교육 기관: Jasmin A

Nov 11, 2018

Very interesting course I just found it to be dry at times

교육 기관: Stefano E

Mar 01, 2019

Interesting course.

교육 기관: Monib S

Aug 25, 2018

Highly relevant and useful content,Being IT Professional I believe this will help in managing people more effectively without cognitive bias and also making critical decisions on go no go /feasibility studies with better overall understanding and best outcomes ! BIG Thanks Prof. Nisbett your presentation style is apt and simple to understand ,duration of each module and quiz makes this highly interesting and engrossing course

교육 기관: Edward A

Aug 30, 2018

great... easy to

교육 기관: Sujata S

Jul 08, 2017

I think the professor was kind and laid-back. I like the ample use of examples. I would recommend it to anyone who needs an intro to logical reasoning. I am an LSAT tutor and might even recommend that some of my students watch this course before working on their LSAT to keep their mental senses open before they read anything. Thanks Dr. Nisbett.

교육 기관: Samuel C

Sep 25, 2017

Great content

교육 기관: Fanick S B A

Nov 24, 2017

P

r

a

c

t

i

c

a

l

!

교육 기관: John N H Y M

Jun 10, 2018

the book should be available More simplicity will be good

교육 기관: Shailesh S

May 28, 2017

Nice concise course. Explains basics of correlation, causation, std deviation, 5-6 cognitive biases and logical reasoning/thinking. Overall good course, would recommend. What I personally didn't like (would love to see changed) is - 1) not requiring correct answers for pre-lecture quizzes 2) not allowing free form entry text for answers type questions in quizzes that count towards marks/grades 3) Lesson 8b - Dialectical Reasoning (I wish this topic was not included in the course, maybe it can be replaced by something different/better. As usual, many thanks to professor for sharing his knowledge and to all involved in making this course available to us - on-demand and free !

교육 기관: Antoni B M

Dec 03, 2017

.

교육 기관: Mohan

Dec 05, 2017

The content will be probably be very familiar, maybe too familiar to people who are professionals in any logic-intense field like engineering, philosophy or science. Overall, a good refresher and you get to tag some of the things you know but don't know the term. Like fundamental attribution error, confirmation bias etc. Recommend to people who are less trained in logic, or who needs a refresher

교육 기관: Prabhakar

May 27, 2017

Very nice course with real life examples, where one needs to think critically.

교육 기관: Stephen d

Mar 09, 2018

I found it very interesting. I knew some of the concepts, but it was put together in an interesting way with a congenial lecturer.

교육 기관: Meshal A N A

Apr 16, 2019

Excellent instructor. Course is full of examples

교육 기관: Mark E

May 12, 2019

Good introduction into the field of statistical reasoning and the errors made, errors we encounter quite frequently. It helps to value the news and information we receive all day, by applying a critical filter

Lecture had a good mix of video, downloadable slides (to make notes and review a topic) and optional reading materials, based on a book that needs to be bought seperately. I suggest however to buy the book and do the optional reading, as it helps to anchor the content of the videos and slides.

The reason for not giving 5 stars: The language is occasionally hard to understand for non-native English speakers. Even though I consider my English to be quite good, quite frequently I had to look up words in the dictionary. Slides on the download section are supportive, but eventually should be cleaned up.

교육 기관: Fhuad B

Jul 04, 2019

Great teachings and I like the way he chooses the words he uses.