Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,488개의 평가
362개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 354개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Anne M

Apr 25, 2018

I am giving this 3 stars for one reason. Although the instructor was terrific and the subject matter interesting, you cannot take the quizzes/tests without purchasing the course (I like to test my retention of the material). As I am an elderly and retired audit-only student and have NO interest in getting a certificate or using the course for college credit, I found that off-putting and dropped the class. Hopefully, other Coursera courses are not going to adopt the same requirement.

교육 기관: Oscar T

Dec 16, 2018

Muy bien presentado. Una perspectiva esclarecedora de una época esencial para comprender nuestro presente.

교육 기관: Kelvin L

Dec 31, 2018

Very informative course. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Dimitris S

Feb 15, 2019

An analytical and coprehensive presentation of the most important century in human history focusing on interpretations of stunning developments rather than a dry quote of dates and names

교육 기관: Raissa L

Feb 06, 2019

Absolutely amazed with this course. Philip is extremely knowledgeable, gives you the baby steps in order to understand each class. I'm looking forward to take another class with him. Couldn't recommend enough!!

교육 기관: Manjula g

Feb 20, 2019

The course is very informative and useful , and easy to understand the concepts.

교육 기관: Fernando H U

Feb 25, 2019

This is a very good course with one of the greatest teachers I have ever seen.

교육 기관: leslie c

Feb 28, 2019

Amazing course, great professor! I can´t wait to begin Part 2

교육 기관: Ulises A

Jan 31, 2019

Increíble síntesis de los hechos que definen el mundo moderno.

교육 기관: Abdurrahman

Mar 15, 2019

Great course, nice community, much engagement. Thank you for this.

교육 기관: Afshin

Jan 06, 2019

Great professor!

교육 기관: Charmaine L

Jan 05, 2019

Dr. Philip Zelikow was really thorough and amicable in the way he lectures. He's done an exceptional job in fusing the historical patterns of history with that of modern events, thus allowing us students to understand and relate to the importance of these historical events even better. Thank you, Dr. Zelikow!

교육 기관: Vinayaka H

Dec 22, 2018

I was interested to learn History but books were so boring for me, so I chose Coursera and now I can explore World History, how global forces interact with each other and influence lives of people in the community through this course.

Throughout the course Dr. Philip will not only explain about the history but he also tries to reason "Why it happened ?". In some of the videos, he even decodes the message hidden in art works of the past.

It is indeed a fascinating subject which is beautifully narrated. I look forward to take the second part of World history.

Thank you

교육 기관: John H

Dec 22, 2018

Awesome high level view of history.

교육 기관: Akhilesh S

Jul 12, 2018

This has been a really intriguing course. Professor Zelikow passionately narrates the significant historical developments during the early Modern age, and also goes on to answering some of the 'Why' questions that crop up.

교육 기관: Hao S

Sep 26, 2018

It's definitely great experience to follow the professor. In seven weeks, you can experience a lot. You need to think about a lot of issues in this course and maybe you can have more different insights about it. Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: Ahmed A e A A

Sep 15, 2018

it's very hard and useful course

교육 기관: Derik B

Aug 27, 2018

An excellent course.

교육 기관: S L

Aug 29, 2018

stupendous knowledge & perspective

교육 기관: ashlie s

Aug 19, 2018

excellent

교육 기관: Dimitrios E

Sep 02, 2018

It was a truly amazing course that allowed me to learn so much about the period between 1760 and 1910, gave excelent insight to how people though and understood the world at that time and refueled my interest in modern history. I highly recomend it

교육 기관: Tavleen K B

Oct 07, 2018

Great Presentation Professor, You are a great historian and a wonderful story teller. I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Thank you so much.

교육 기관: Kelly R

Oct 11, 2018

Amazing course!

교육 기관: Weronika P

Oct 23, 2018

The course is really interesting with and provides a great, broad perspective on the events of 18th and 19th Century. It's not focused on the dates and single events, but rather looks at the processes their origins and consequences. The lectures are a pleasure to watch and are packed with facts and analysis. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to learn more about the modern history!

교육 기관: Vitaliano D G

Oct 03, 2018

Great professor, no waste of time, great points of view!