Chevron Left
The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill(으)로 돌아가기

로마 라 사피엔차 대학교의 The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
278개의 평가

강좌 소개

Studying ancient - as well as medieval or modern - cities basically means telling local urban stories based on the reconstruction of changing landscapes through the centuries. Given the fragmentary nature of archaeological evidence, it is necessary to create new images that would give back the physical aspect of the urban landscape and that would bring it to life again. We are not just content with analyzing the many elements still visible of the ancient city. The connections between objects and architectures, visible and non visible buildings, which have been broken through time have to be rejoined, to acknowledge the elements that compose the urban landscape. Landscape and its content are a very relevant and still vital part of any national cultural heritage. The course will introduce students to the way we have been reflecting on over the last twenty years and still are engaged with the study of the past of our cities, beginning from the most complex case in the ancient Mediterranean World: the core of Italy and of Roman Empire. On the other hand, knowledge means also preservation and defense of material remains and cultural memory. “The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archeology and History of the Palatine Hill” presents to a large public the topographical lay-out of the most relevant part of the city (according the Greek and Roman Historians Rome was founded on the Palatine). Research developed on the Palatine since the end of last century by the team of Sapienza Classical Archaeologists opened a new phase in the urban archaeological investigation and in the scientific debate about the relation between archaeological features and literary tradition as well as the “correct use“ of both kind of evidence, key issues of wide archaeological and historical significance....

최상위 리뷰

CS

2018년 3월 21일

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

JC

2018년 5월 1일

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

필터링 기준:

The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill의 111개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: antonio b

2019년 9월 13일

Very well done!! It is difficult to follow up all the details in this short sessions, but with some offline aid and readings the whole topic emerge in a structured and fascinating way! Looking forward to other offering from the university la sapienza and the amazing professor Carafa!!!

교육 기관: Ronald W

2020년 1월 14일

If you are interested in Roman Architecture, you will find this course very interesting. It deals specifically with the development of the Palatine Hill thoughout the history of Ancient Rome, at a detailed level. For each era relevant contextual information is also provided.

교육 기관: David H

2020년 3월 30일

I went from knowing very little about this time in history to knowing quite a lot by the end. The course was full of easy to understand topics and covered all areas as necessary. I found this course very good and full of very useful info.

교육 기관: william s

2018년 4월 17일

Outstanding course. This course gave me a deeper understanding and appreciation for the evolution of the Roman Forum, centering around the Palatine Hill. The course has inspired me to continue my research into this phase of Roman culture.

교육 기관: Kristina P T

2020년 6월 25일

Its incredible how one hill can be a microcosm for the Roman Empire. I thoroughly enjoyed Professor Carafa's course, and appreciated the careful explanations and detail he offered on the material. The course material was fascinating.

교육 기관: Cecilia C

2017년 7월 28일

This Course is very interesting! Professor Carafa is very thorough and dedicated, it was a pleasure to listen to him! I especially liked the balance between the "on site " and the "auditorium" lectures! Thank you so much!

교육 기관: E. S S

2017년 9월 21일

Fascinating course detailing the ancient building structures on the Roman Palatine Hill. As an architect, I greatly appreciated the knowledge and invitation to experience the metamorphoses of monuments and structures.

교육 기관: Júlio C M d F

2017년 11월 6일

This course was fantastic ! Congratulations to Professor Paolo Carafa and Coursera. Thank you very much for this worderful course ! I learn very much with it. Julio César (from Brazil)

교육 기관: Cathryn S

2018년 3월 22일

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

교육 기관: juan a c

2018년 5월 2일

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

교육 기관: LOKHANDWALA A H

2020년 7월 8일

The course is a good blend of entertaining and educational. You learn a tremendous amount about Rome and the architecture in that particular part of the city.

교육 기관: 黄中

2019년 10월 28일

A very good course to know some archaeological and architecutral knowledge about Rome. The assignments are a little hard but it is fine. A good course anyway.

교육 기관: KONSTANTINA K

2021년 2월 14일

Wonderful Professor, it was really easy to understand the context of this course due to the well-organized information and slide-show. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Lisa F

2022년 6월 25일

The lessons were well-balanced with history, archeology and city planning. The presentation was easy to follow with ell appointed maps.

교육 기관: Rosa M M Z

2020년 9월 21일

Excellent...!!!!! I enjoyed all the history and archaeology of ancient Rome... I want to visit Rome again to see all I've learned..!!!!

교육 기관: Spencer P

2020년 5월 13일

It was fun and challenging and Prof. Carafa is a very good teacher. I hope to find more history courses from Sapienza University

교육 기관: Davina S

2020년 2월 28일

I really enjoyed all the videos in this course! I hope to find more from this professor on this topic soon.

Thank you! Grazie

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 7월 28일

Very interesting course and much necessary to continue an interest I have in learning about Ancient Rome. Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Rob v d B

2018년 1월 28일

Very good indepth overiew of the history of Rome. Been there often but will look at it differently next time i visit it.

교육 기관: Tashi T

2022년 2월 6일

It was indeed a very fruitful course which enabled me to learn alot of new things which i had no clue about. Thank you

교육 기관: simon w

2020년 7월 10일

An excellent course that makes me want to return to the Palatine to see what I missed last time. Highly recommended

교육 기관: Maria J M S

2018년 12월 7일

Un curso bastante interesante. Un nuevo punto de vista sobre el Palatino y su relación con la historia de Roma

교육 기관: Alexander L

2021년 2월 12일

Wonderful course; if you approach it with enthusiasm and curiosity there is a lot to take from it.

교육 기관: Richard P

2019년 10월 8일

Good course. Learned alot about Palatine Hill. Wish I would have taken it before I went to Rome

교육 기관: Melissa E

2020년 10월 24일

An in-depth introduction in the history of the Palatine hill and archaeology of Ancient Rome.