Chevron Left
Introduction to Public Speaking(으)로 돌아가기

워싱턴 대학교의 Introduction to Public Speaking 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
667개의 평가
182개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course gives you a reliable model for preparing and delivering effective presentations. In business, in school, and in public life, we are often called upon to “make a few comments.” Often, people tasked with such speeches become flummoxed. They might not know what to talk about, or ramble without making a point, or simply be confusing to listen to. This course is designed to help you shine where others falter. We’ll learn how organize talks clearly, write them memorably, and deliver them confidently. By the end of the course, you should be able to significantly reduce your fear of public speaking, use rehearsal techniques to develop a strong, vibrant speaking voice, and perform speeches with dynamic movement and gestures. The speech model that we’ll practice is useful for briefings, elevator talks, interviews, and even as a structure for hour-long presentations. If you’re a beginner, this course will help you quickly master the fundamentals of speaking. If you’re a seasoned speaker, this course will help you better understand public speaking and push you to the next level....

최상위 리뷰

AP

Jul 07, 2017

The course was perfect for me. Though the assignment should have been graded as they were fun to do. Even it was expensive for me to buy it.\n\nThe lectures were organised clearly and smoothly.

SB

Aug 27, 2018

Without a doubt the best online course you'll find for Public Speaking. Teaches proper tone, presentation and speech writing styles. Phenomenal, I've recommended it to my coworkers and family.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Public Speaking의 181개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Sondra B

Aug 27, 2018

Without a doubt the best online course you'll find for Public Speaking. Teaches proper tone, presentation and speech writing styles. Phenomenal, I've recommended it to my coworkers and family.

교육 기관: Ernesto R Á

Feb 28, 2017

This course is great. You simply learn a lot in an easy way. The teacher is really good and knows how to teach and engage you in the lessons. I am looking forward to next courses in the specialization

교육 기관: Akshay P

Jul 07, 2017

The course was perfect for me. Though the assignment should have been graded as they were fun to do. Even it was expensive for me to buy it.

The lectures were organised clearly and smoothly.

교육 기관: Aaron T B

Feb 24, 2019

The professor is amazing. He brings fun and energy to the class. The material will help you learn the form needed to succeed in public speaking.

교육 기관: Panagiotis S

Sep 28, 2018

Excellent course. Very organized and engaging. Even as someone who speaks in front of people all the time I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Kevin H

Jun 19, 2018

Great course. Small steps really helped me become more confident.

교육 기관: Yuliia C

Dec 14, 2018

Very useful and practical. Thank you!

교육 기관: Jennifer D

Aug 10, 2017

A really big thank you to Dr. Matt McGarrity! This was a very interesting, very informative and very enjoyable course. I wasn't sure what to expect so it was a pleasant surprise to find it so useful and at the same time fun. I have already recommended it to several people (likely many more). It is well worth the time and probably not just for public speaking; I think it is valuable on even a basic communication level. For me, I sought out this course to try to help myself tackle speaking apprehension and I think I struck gold in finding a course that did that and so much more. Do not hesitate to do this!!

교육 기관: Oscar C

Aug 11, 2017

Throughout all of high school, I attacked public speaking class as an unnecessary class, but I did so because I actually feared it a bit. However, this course, after being a bit hesitant to take it at first, was incredible. Although it was only an introduction to public speaking, it gave me valuable insight into what it really is and practical skills that I put to use immediately (I noticed results instantly in the way people listened to me). I plan on taking the rest of the courses that come after this one!

교육 기관: Ricardo C R R

Aug 15, 2017

The course is very helpful for all of us that have no idea of how to speak in front of public. Very useful technics and well teached by the professor in order to strategically speak and orginize not only the speech itself but also other activities. My deep thankfulness to Professor Matt McGarrity, to the University of Washington and of course to Coursera for this MOOC and for allow us to learn by this way. Now I'm engaged with the topic and I'm sure I'm going to take the other courses related with.

교육 기관: Ithzel M R

Dec 13, 2016

This course has been an eye opener for me, I truly enjoyed it. It gives you basic knowledge of what it takes to be a good public speaker, and you can apply this knowledge not only in presentations, but also in your daily life. The most difficult part for me was to make the videos and watch myself, but it really helps in your improvement. Also, the feedback of your classmates makes you see things you haven't caught. Try it out, you won't regret it.

교육 기관: GiacomoPersici

Oct 12, 2017

I believe that is great knowing how to speak and how to perform a speech in front of an audience. Unfortunately here we haven’t a real audience, the real one that we really have in front of us when we really have to speak.

This course, helped me anyway a lot, because i couldn’t take the time to follow a real class, and of course thanks to THE UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON is possible all of this. It is so a great course.

교육 기관: Zhu Y

Jun 19, 2017

Professor Matt is excellent, best online course teacher I've ever come across! I've learnt so much from him, gained more confidence and organizational abilities with regards to speaking and maybe even developed a liking for public speaking! Thanks so much Prof, you're really engaging, your course is excellent and I'm very much inspired!

교육 기관: Celinda P

Jun 20, 2017

Professor was excellent; engaging, clever and clear to understand and follow. His presentations were visual and interesting as he incorporated a range of elements from images to video examples of other public speaking scenarios. I signed up for the Public Speaking specialization and am looking forward to taking my next class.

교육 기관: Mary M

Mar 29, 2018

Great course for those that need some confidence with their speech skills. The most amazing thing about this class is that you learn to deliver concisely, addressing key issues and leaving out the jargon. This class has given me the tools to continue practicing how to stand and deliver without fear.

I highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Madhumeeta M S

Sep 14, 2018

Excellent course. I am an unemployed adult and have lots of passion for speaking and teaching but in this materialistic world only having passions are not enough...you have to be certified of what you a real pursuing.

Coursera helped me a lot and this course was indeed the best I can go for .

thanks a million.

교육 기관: Simon L

Oct 07, 2017

Excellent introduction to public speaking - to get the most value from it you need to put time into the optional speaking and assessment exercises and do some active learning - notes, practice etc. The investment in time is well worth it, but will end up taking longer than the quoted number of hours.

교육 기관: Rajesh S

Apr 17, 2017

Definitely learned a lot. Facts like do not repeat yourself is good advice for writing or when you are coding! But it is needed for being understood while speaking.

Tools of rhetoric have already help me manage my speaking tasks.

Getting advice from other students have also helped see my bad habits.

교육 기관: Luis A C M

Dec 23, 2016

Great course, excellent instructor. The topics are easy to follow up. And easy and practical to apply since day 1 of the course. I have improve in my speeches, I am an instructor so the topic was really important for me and also to my students.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge with the world.

교육 기관: Paulo S d A J

Mar 01, 2017

Through the introduction to public speaking course, I could develop skills that helped me to prepare speeches in a better and more engaging way. I feel that I can now structure future speeches more adequately, hence being more confident to present them to any kind of audience.

교육 기관: Rina Z

Oct 14, 2017

This MOOC is the best upgrade I ever took to improve the knowledge in skill.

I find Coursera an amazing site and the Public Speaking course a revelation.

The professor Dr. McGarrity is the greatest teacher I have ever listened to and my brain ecstatically enjoyed the lectures.

교육 기관: Dinesh M

Feb 02, 2017

This is third time, I was taking this course. Last two times, I left it in-between but this was something on my wish list a feat I wanted to achieve...finally it's done! I am sincerely thankful to Dr. Matt McGarrity and his team for such a crisp and engaging course.

교육 기관: Pamela G

Dec 18, 2019

This was a very informative course that helped me to come out of my shell and be more confident while speaking in front of the camera/audience! I feel like I took away a lot of important points from the course and would definitely recommend it!

교육 기관: Vinod P

Dec 06, 2018

Taken many courses on presentation skills before. Nothing comes close to this. This course covers the fundamentals thoroughly. I love the course materials. Specifically, the section on speech apprehension and the recommendations .

교육 기관: Ryan M

Dec 16, 2017

Does a great job laying the groundwork on the principles of preparing for a speech. I really enjoyed the background material on argument, rhetoric, and found the breakdown of a key point speech to be extremely helpful. Well done.