Chevron Left
Using Python to Interact with the Operating System(으)로 돌아가기

Google의 Using Python to Interact with the Operating System 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,437개의 평가
363개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

By the end of this course, you’ll be able to manipulate files and processes on your computer’s operating system. You’ll also have learned about regular expressions -- a very powerful tool for processing text files -- and you’ll get practice using the Linux command line on a virtual machine. And, this might feel like a stretch right now, but you’ll also write a program that processes a bunch of errors in an actual log file and then generates a summary file. That’s a super useful skill for IT Specialists to know. We’ll kick off by exploring how to execute Python locally, and organize and use code across different Python files. We'll then learn how to read and write different types of files, and use subprocesses and input streams. We'll also dive into Bash scripting and regular expressions -- both very powerful tools for anyone working with systems. We'll even touch on automatic testing, which allow us to automate how we check if our code is correct. To finish, we’ll put all this together by using the tools that we’ve acquired to process data and generate automatic reports. We’ll also explain how to set up your own developer environment in your machine. This is a key step in being able to write and deploy powerful automation tools....

최상위 리뷰

AD

Jun 16, 2020

In starting five weeks , all answers were directly provided and week 6 and 7 were very tough. So i suggest to equalize the toughness level in all weeks ,ie, no direct spoon feed nor abrupt toughness

BM

Mar 21, 2020

This course I particularly enjoyed more. It was very relevant and hand on. I know with Google's authority now how to make the computer do my bidding. Thank you all for this course.

필터링 기준:

Using Python to Interact with the Operating System의 364개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Jack C

Mar 01, 2020

The potential of the course material is great. it certainly expose the student to a range of topics.

The potential of the course is reduced significantly however by the labs. They have poor specifications and leave the student to 'discover' how to complete labs. In the early labs it's just a cut and paste to make things work, but in the later labs its the lack of objective specifications that makes them difficult ....not the material covered.

The capstone lab in particular is a reasonable challenge in itself, but made incredibly more challenging (read, it requires multiple attempts just to find out what is required in the answer) because of the lack of specification.

Do I think it's a worthwhile course? Yes, because it makes you think through a learning path.

Do I think it's a good course? Not so much since the learning objectives are very much left to the student to discover almost by accident.

교육 기관: Nicholas J

Apr 19, 2020

The final assignment is way too hard because there's not enough time to do the three exercises and write the actual code for the graded part. In addition there's only 5 points so it's basically pass or fail. Also the dictionary sorting code they provide you will not work unless you're copying to a new dictionary (which they don't explain to you). Oh and you have to encase the sorted statement in a dict() function for that, which they don't tell you. I ended up not using the operator module at all and just doing the sort when outputting to csv. Oh and if you write the code for the exercise perfectly and are not getting any points it's because you have to do the creation and conversion of the user_emails.csv in exercise 2 so you can't skip that.

교육 기관: Pushpendra S

May 24, 2020

Not for beginners too complicated too costly

교육 기관: Trupal P

May 10, 2020

the labs are sometimes frustrating because it does not give you feedback on what you are doing wrong. it just says you did not pass. it may take hours before you figure that small thing.

교육 기관: Md. Z M

May 23, 2020

This course touches upon a lot of topics. It covers them in breadth rather than depth. I experienced a huge transition coming from the previous course, Crash Course on Python, in terms of difficulty. It covers so many topics that at times, I felt confused about understanding the interconnection between them.

Regular Expressions was explained best, wherein elaborate explanations were provided. The week on Automating Testing Using Python felt a bit rushed.

A major downside of this course is the Qwiklabs platform, which is also its major upside (we don't need to install any software locally to navigate through the course). However, there are discrepancies in the lab instructions and how the grader evaluates your submission on Qwiklabs. In week 7, I wasted 2 days on Qwiklabs with multiple interactions with the Qwiklabs Customer Support.

Overall, I would recommend this course.

교육 기관: Abhilash D

Jun 16, 2020

In starting five weeks , all answers were directly provided and week 6 and 7 were very tough. So i suggest to equalize the toughness level in all weeks ,ie, no direct spoon feed nor abrupt toughness

교육 기관: Karel H

May 25, 2020

Disappointed as this did not meet my expectations as a Google Company backed course. This would have been great as a free course by a first time teacher. But for a course backed by a great company this did not meet what I expected. It was sloppy really. First the instructor made a series of political statements unrelated to learning Python. Second the instructor would not stop making really childish puns. Both of these things were unnecessary and not what I expected from a professional course. Worse the labs were really terrible and I felt that they were not proof read by folks at Google. Another frustration is the videos are almost 100% showing the instructor talking. They only flash the code very briefly on the screen meaning you will be pausing and rewinding the videos consistently just to see the sample code long enough to read it. In the end the course met the syllabus but not up to the Google name and not worth the price I paid compared to other free learning out there.

교육 기관: Victor B V

Feb 27, 2020

Final project is too hard for things learned in the course and the platform uses different python version from what we learned.

교육 기관: masoud z

May 22, 2020

I struggled a little but enjoyed it a lot. Learned a lot of new things and also some of the courses are quite confusing and challenging to learn.But good knowledge to learn.

I'm really appreciated from Google for providing this course and really appreciated the course instructor "Roger" he is very cool guy, and after all i want to thank Course era organization which gives the chance for learners who want to gain success.

교육 기관: sadra z

Mar 28, 2020

This course covers most of general concepts of automation, testing, regular expressions, and much more. Personally I will use these skills everyday because I deal with log files and this course helped me to actually work with them efficiently. Thanks Google

교육 기관: Bright I M

Mar 21, 2020

This course I particularly enjoyed more. It was very relevant and hand on. I know with Google's authority now how to make the computer do my bidding. Thank you all for this course.

교육 기관: Jayaram R

Mar 19, 2020

Coursera is one of the best online learning platform. From this course I studied lot about Python programming and how to use it for OS level operations. Thank you, Coursera

교육 기관: Mohammad H b M

Feb 09, 2020

Roger and fellow teacher, thank you so much for putting this course. Appreciate the knowledge on REGEX and Testing

교육 기관: Syed A J

Jul 12, 2020

Overall course was pretty good. A lot of learning came out of it. But a lot of wandering around and hours spent on the different forums and documentation trying to solve the problems in the course. Some of the instructions were often unclear as to what was expected for that problem's solution. The labs specially.

Time was spent developing solutions for the problems presented in the course outside the labs but when that code was executed on the linux labs, it gave problems while. For e.g. some of the modules had to be installed manually while some had to be replaced in the code since the syntax would not run on the old python version available on the qwiklabs machines.

교육 기관: Ouy T J

Feb 12, 2020

Had a lot of things to learn in the module. wish labs and tests used out brains a bit more. it was mostly reading and cut and paste. Only learnt that you could cut and paste in Putty at the end when I got frustrated typing in things manually. (googled putty copy and paste).

there also alot of short cut code and tricks used that we havent learnt before. these werent explained very well and I still dont understand some of it, others took a me a bit of research.

교육 기관: nathan i

Jan 30, 2020

The course is pretty good overall. The week 6 lab has a misleading "expected output" jpg for oldFiles.txt in it. This causes the first half "checkpoint" to fail. The issue is that the jpg shows that oldFiles.txt should only have filenames in it when in fact the "grader" expects each file to also have a fully qualified path with it. The lab write-up also doesn't say oldFiles.txt should have the filenames with the fully qualified path in it. I would give this course five stars if the errant week6 lab documentation gets fixed and if the students are explicitly told that each step in the labs needs to be explicitly execute in the VM environment being provided. I made the mistake of reading some of the lab exercises for content and not actually executing them in shell --- and I think the grader checks for that even if you get the correct final outputs for your script.

교육 기관: Denis R

Jan 19, 2020

There are errors in links and descriptions of the tasks (formatting is wrong, names of files are different though according to the content it is the same file, etc). Inconsistency in tasks - first tasks are completely done for the student, one only need to copy-paste and final one is all of the sudden 'do-it-yourself' task. Though for me it was not a problem, but beginners will struggle a lot with this errors.

교육 기관: QING C

May 16, 2020

The first few weeks of the course was well paced but in the second last week, the introduction to bash was very rushed and I feel like the tutorials of bash could have been elaborated on more.

교육 기관: Ankan D

Jul 09, 2020

May be the worst instructor in the google

교육 기관: Nancy A

Apr 12, 2020

This is the second course in the Python Automation sequence, and I highly recommend it as a stand-alone introduction to using regex, python and bash scripting for log analysis and other automation jobs. The course feels like it was built with a clear list of skills it wanted students to come away with. Thank you! This structure was evident in how each module, lecture, and exercise was integrated into a learning whole, IMO. I never felt like I had been shipped out to tackle gotcha problems I was at a loss to know how to even start, as is my still-strong memory of introductory Course #1. Here in Course #2 each module's purpose made sense, and the assignments reinforced the student learning objectives. Often the assignments were very thoughtfully constructed so that you had to show mastery of not only the main concepts but the next-level deep of learning too.

I spent 2-3 weeks at the end on the final 7th week problem of parsing a log file. It was a real-world example I absolutely wanted to be able to implement later on my own. This final problem was an opportunity for me to pause in the course and self-assess what areas I really didn't know well enough, even as a beginner. So, I spent time reviewing basic things like data structures, regex, and object oriented programming fundamentals. Even then, I benefited from the student Forum discussions around this final problem, and really appreciate some of the clearly talented folks who share tips for making it over speed-bumps. I'm glad I took this pause to go deeper on basics, and may integrate this into my learning schedule for future courses. There is just so much to learn, and it pays to tolerate the confusion of forging ahead as well as being sure to circle back and reinforce fundamentals when you are ready to look again at a basic topic.

The instructor was great: knowledgable, encouraging that you could do the work assigned, and again, comfortable steering the ship with purpose. A real education leader.

교육 기관: Belinda M P

Apr 06, 2020

There is a lot of useful information in this module and not only did I apply what I learned in Python from this module and the previous one, but I also learned some basics of Linux commands. Although I've been in the I.T. industry for years now, I haven't done programming in recent years. So I got sweaty palms when I was doing the final project. I did not sleep the night until I got it done. 🤣It went well that I followed Roger's advice to do it first outside of the lab because I get to explore my plan of action and think it through. 🏆 Lastly, I don't mind the in-between jokes at all. 😁

교육 기관: Edward W

May 23, 2020

Great Course - I especially enjoyed the final assignment. At times I needed to google search some concepts as a reminder, and the test environment was a slightly different version of python to my own machine, but after a few minutes of google searching managed to fix this. I guess this is good practice for the real word when not everything is spoon fed and goes to plan straight away. I disagree that the expected output of the final assignment was unclear. It was well spelt out in the instructions, even showing you a screenshot of the desired output.

교육 기관: Luis A S M

Jul 01, 2020

It was a great experience. All the material was new to me, i enjoy specially the linux commands: feel like had have superpowers! And i hae much to learn about unitest, bash scripting and read/write files, etc. But this was a perfect start to do that. Thanks Coursera Team!

An advice; there's an issue with Practice Quiz "Reading and Write csv files" on the week 2. A lot of student had has de same problem with the first question: it get an error, and the team support never could solve, so it will great if they can pay attention to this things.

교육 기관: Alexandru S

Jun 05, 2020

Things that you get to learn while taking this course: CSV files manipulation, REGEXs (regular expressions), script testing, Linux commands and BASH programming. All of these are very interesting and, hopefully, very helpful in every Python developer toolkit (I have reservations with the Linux and BASH, but those are good for your "General IT Knowledge").

PS: If you did not take the course, be very careful with the QwikLabs. You must access them at most 5 times! (nobody mentioned this when I took it)

교육 기관: Leslie Q

Apr 13, 2020

This course was very educational and helped me really understand some python fundamentals as well as interactions with the OS! The final lab was a challenging lab. This lab really helped me understand the different ways lists, tuples and dictionaries can be manipulated. Glad to rise up to the challenge although nano really is a pain especially when scripts written in atom runs well but then copy paste into nano comes with issues.