Chevron Left
Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
4,316개의 평가
702개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

최상위 리뷰

RM

May 14, 2020

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

SB

Nov 03, 2017

Loved the course! This course teaches you details about matplotlib and enables you to produce beautiful and accurate graphs.. Assignments are challanging, and helps to build a solid foundation.

필터링 기준:

Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python의 691개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Maxim P

Jul 14, 2018

The only advantage are the assignments and the certificate. But there are better alternatives for information and learning matierals for pandas or matplotlib on youtube or so one. But this course isnt 50 bucks worth it.

교육 기관: Michael A

Aug 28, 2018

Course coordinators don't monitor the forums enough, so obtaining help from them is next to impossible. Aside from that good course, would be nicer if it focused on more modern plotting frameworks (Plotly, etc...)

교육 기관: George N

Apr 24, 2017

instructor advice is primarily to 'use stack overflow'.

교육 기관: Patrik T

Nov 10, 2019

CONTENT: The instructor shows some examples of different plots in python (e.g. line, bar, scatter) and some concepts (e.g. histograms or heat maps) but doesn't properly explain anything. Mostly you'll get an example graph with snippets of code only working for that particular example and for the assignment you're "strongly encouraged to use other sources". That's not what you're supposed to get when you're paying for an online course. You should get proper explanations.

ASSIGNMENTS: You're basically told to get data from any source you like and then plot some graphs. If you've had some experience with python and got your explanations for plotting from somewhere else, you'll mostly spend more time looking for data to present than for the actual assignment.

I don't understand why there's no selection of graphs and data sets to choose from so you can concentrate on programming and properly presenting data rather than wasting your time looking at reddit like recommended by the instructor.

ASSIGNMENT GRADING: You’ll have to grade your peers’ assignments with a rubric that’s just not working: you can give points for someone uploading an image/writing a paragraph of text, but you have to either give 0 or 100%, so there’s not way to properly grade partially wrong answers. Example: yes, there is an uploaded image and the student has explained how it follows “Cairo’s principle of beauty”, but it doesn’t follow the principle of beauty. So, how to grade: zero or hundred percent?

Likewise, your assignments are graded by your peers, so you’ll usually have at least one or two days to add to each assignment. You should take this into account when opting for the monthly subscription. Additionally, neither you nor your peers are qualified to grade the assignments, because you’re just learning how to curate and present data (if you’re not already a scientist and just want to learn how to do this in Python).

DISCUSSION FORUMS: You won’t find answers or discussions in the discussion forum. There are only posts asking to please grade a student’s assignment because it is urgent because the subscription is ending soon (see above).

SUMMARY: If you need the certificate for Applied Data Science in Python, you probably must take this course. Otherwise I strongly encourage you to skip it and find other (better) resources to learn plotting in Python.

교육 기관: Nicolau G

May 25, 2019

I registered to the whole specialization mainly to take the first three courses. I got stuck in the second (this one about data visualisation) because a file I need for assignment in week 2 is missing. There are many complaints in the forum from those affected (the file is supposed to contain weather data around your location, and it seems to affect some of us in Europe). I jumped to course 3.

I'm very happy with courses 1 and 3, but this one is extremely bad, with poor material, confusing data and wrong instructions. On top of that, there is no one in the forums to answer questions or fix the errors. I finished courses 1 and 2 (those are great, really) and I will drop this specialisation right now leaving this course unfinished.

교육 기관: Eklavya s

Aug 05, 2018

This course makes you give up on data science and MOOCs.

Seriously, the content is poorly presented he keeps on speaking , telling 2-3 lines about a function and so on.

I highly recommend stay away from this pathetic specialization.

교육 기관: Naveen P

May 15, 2018

Well to be honest youtube videos are quite informative than this. Opting out from this course.

교육 기관: Yifei Z

Oct 07, 2017

I feel like this course is bad. Since it basically tell us to search google for everything.

교육 기관: Jakob P

Jun 19, 2017

Too few lectures with detailed explanations of the functionality of matplotlib.

교육 기관: Javier P S

Mar 08, 2018

A course where you practice your googling capabilities. It could be improved.

교육 기관: Josselin G

Sep 13, 2019

Pretty good course the material is good.

Offers good coverage and proposes some interesting problems.

Pairs grading works pretty well.

교육 기관: Somaiya J G

Nov 06, 2018

Really amazing course, Christopher Brooks salute man, you explained every details in good way that one can easily understand.

교육 기관: Ahmad H S

Jul 28, 2019

Amazing source

교육 기관: Ron M

Feb 09, 2018

Ideally, would be 2 1/2 stars if that was possible. Again, like Course 1 in the series, the time required is VERY underestimated, especially since the course is little more than a series of exercises that require extensive external research to learn how to complete. The instructor seems more interested in this subject matter than the first course, but the discussions are such high-level overview, much pouring through Stack Overflow is needed just to learn the topics. The best pieces, as in Course 1, are the extra reading that one might never otherwise be pointed towards, but other than those, a $10 web course that simply gave exercises and pointed to Google searches and Stack Overflow to learn the detailed material would accomplish 80+% of what this course does. And many find the assignments confusing which adds time or results in the wrong work product (some of that I believe is especially true for non-native language speakers) - lots of comments to that effect in the forums. Students grade each others' work product, and it is clear from doing so there are many interpretations of the exercises.

And, some students doing the evaluation of others are clearly not qualified to do so - if one does not really understand basic Python or statistics, they should not be indicating the calculations are wrong... And with three reviews required - it seems the grader uses the lowest grade of the three. If 2 reviewers give full marks, and another gives a 0, the 0 is what is recorded. This is especially annoying in tandem with the lack of value in the instruction - just getting some assignments from off the web and forcing yourself to do them would be far more satisfying.

I don't see continuing with the Michigan courses beyond this point - there are better options.

교육 기관: Jun-Hoe L

Feb 20, 2020

I have taken several courses on Coursera, including Data Science with R, Statistics etc. The first course on this Specialization (Pandas) was ok, I'll rate that 4 stars.

However, this course seems like a downgrade. Lectures are either too shallow or too deep. Too shallow as in there are only several short videos on Matplotlib that are very introductory and doesn't show much. Too deep as in Professor Brooks went dove deep into the architecture of Matplotlib, which I think could have been simplified and delivered in a better way.

The assignment for Week 2 and 3 are ok - but I'm starting to hate how vague the instructions are and everyone turns to the forums to figure it out. Assignment Week 4 is a disappointment, as the allocated topic is almost impossible to draw up information on and in the end everyone just pick their own 2 dataasets, which is another challenge. I feel a better way would be offer several sets of data to choose from.

this course is not entirely bad, I just feel that i didn't learn as much and what I learn comes from googling Stack Overflow or other websites while doingthe assignments. Thus I feel that this course is not really worth its price, other than gaining a certificate and advancing the Specialisation.

교육 기관: Brian L

Apr 04, 2017

A good course that could be better.

I think that this course provided a reasonable introduction to Matplotlib, but the lectures need to go a bit deeper and provide more examples. The course left too much of the work to the student. [For your reference, I have a PhD in Mathematics, taught for several years at a highly selective undergraduate college, and have extensive experience in industry as a Matlab and SAS user.] The homework assignments were substantial, and I enjoyed doing the final assignment which required merging two or more datasets using Pandas and then Matplotlib to plot relationships. The course website provides estimates of the number of hours required to complete the assignments, but these were gross underestimates because so much about Matplotlib was left to the student. I would have preferred a bit more lecture time, more examples, and a few side tutorials on using Jupyter and notebooks (how to download and upload), especially since we were grading the code of our fellow students.

교육 기관: Betty C

May 03, 2020

The material does not cover all of the assignments. I did learn A LOT by finishing my assignments, but the process was frustrating. I feel like a baby who have not learnt how to stand, but my parents ask me to run.

If you are good at finding solutions in original documentations (e.g., python, pandas, and matplotlib) and Stack Overflow, this is the right course for you.

However, if you are seeking for abundant materials and examples to sharpen your skill, sorry, this course may not right for you.

교육 기관: Andy F

Sep 20, 2019

The lectures really need to flesh things out more, they too often feel too fleeting and leave more than they probably should to searching other resources. Questions for the final piece clearly haven't changed in at least two years and lack clarity as to what should be done

교육 기관: Kareem H

Dec 08, 2019

Plotting concepts need more deep explanation or more practice, generally the provided information wasn't meet the course's level "in my opinion."

교육 기관: Mariusz K

Nov 10, 2019

Too little of expounding and too much of searching the net by oneself. Too few examples. It is a self-learning but what's the Course for then?

Plus the assignments. I didn't like the peer evaluation idea, just as evaluating the others, because I don't have time for this and that's not what I came for.

First - what's the motivation of random viewers to fairly and thoroughly evaluate my work? Plus it's hard to finish the course quicker for this reason, because one has to wait a couple of days to get a grade. That's the reason I resigned from waiting for the assignments evaluations for next weeks assignments and in consequence for the certificate.

교육 기관: Amandeep S

Apr 27, 2020

I personally struggled a lot through the course. I thought the video lecture did not go into enough depth on how to manipulate matplotlib (eg. ax objects and ticks markers are still not clear) and even in general, the explanations were lacking.I feel the pace was a bit too fast as well and the topics were not in sync. Even after completion, I am nowhere confident in my matplotlib abilities.

The Assignments should not be peer-graded, as there's no uniformity to the evaluation process, rather the instructors can share their thoughts on the candidates plots.

교육 기관: Qiang L

Mar 27, 2020

The construction of this course is fine, but content is really bad. Instructor could not give detailed introduction in matplotlib. So basically you need to learn everything by yourself. On the other hand, there is huge gap between course and assignment. I would say that you should have at least intermediate level of matplotlib before you take this course, which strongly against the principal of this course. I suggest instructor giving a more general idea first and gradually providing more specific application and harder examples.

교육 기관: Kumar I

May 25, 2017

Compared to the first course in this series, I found this one not so challenging. The final project was very loose (I understand that the instructors wanted to give the feel of a real research). The first assignment was very superficial. As much as Cairo's principles are important, I feel devoting an entire assignment to that is justified. The second and third were relatively straight-forward, but that was perhaps the saving grace.

Wish the course spent time in dwelling on complex visualizations.

교육 기관: Shuang S

Aug 15, 2019

It taught some visualization that is not use very often and sometimes I feel I couldn't catch up the knowledge, so if you are a beginner, skip this class first.

교육 기관: Yaron K

Sep 21, 2017

Disappointing. Matplotlib is built from layers of interacting functionality, and this course doesn't create a structure to understand it. Unclear and confusing. Note however that the following courses in the specialization show matplotlib code but don't necessitate writing it, so you can do them (at most auditing this course before) and only return to this course if you want a specialization certificate.