Chevron Left
Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom(으)로 돌아가기

러트거스 뉴저지 주립 대학교의 Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
158개의 평가

강좌 소개

What is the purpose of government? Why should we have a State? What kind of State should we have? Even within a political community, there may be sharp disagreements about the role and purpose of government. Some want an active, involved government, seeing legal and political institutions as the means to solve our most pressing problems, and to help bring about peace, equality, justice, happiness, and to protect individual liberty. Others want a more minimal government, motivated, perhaps, by some of the disastrous political experiments of the 20th Century, and the thought that political power is often just a step away from tyranny. In many cases, these disagreements arise out of deep philosophical disagreements. All political and legal institutions are built on foundational ideas. In this course, we will explore those ideas, taking the political institutions and political systems around us not as fixed and unquestionable, but as things to evaluate and, if necessary, to change. We will consider the ideas and arguments of some of the world’s most celebrated philosophers, including historical thinkers such as Plato, Aristotle, Thomas Hobbes, John Locke, Immanuel Kant, Mary Wollstonecraft, and John Stuart Mill; and more contemporary theorists such as Elizabeth Anderson, Isaiah Berlin, Thomas Christiano, Frantz Fanon, Amy Gutmann, Friedrich Hayek, Robert Nozick, Martha Nussbaum, Julius Nyerere, Ayn Rand, John Rawls, Peter Singer, and Kok-Chor Tan. The aim of the course is not to convince you of the correctness of any particular view or political position, but to provide you with a deeper and more philosophically-informed basis for your own views, and, perhaps, to help you better understand the views of those with whom you disagree....

최상위 리뷰

PJ

2021년 9월 19일

I enjoyed the course. It brought me very interestingand newer ideas on Equality, Liberty and the reason why we sould have a State. I have already shared the course link with some colleagues.

CP

2021년 10월 6일

This course actually helped me understand the vast ideologies of various political thinkers in a brief way. Thanks to the creator who made learning fun and easy.

필터링 기준:

Revolutionary Ideas: Utility, Justice, Equality, Freedom의 57개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: محمد ب

2022년 3월 1일

An excellent course, I did not find it difficult, but I was late in completing it because I was busy with some other courses, and my average was 100/100 without the need to repeat. Thank you for these scholarships

교육 기관: Constance W

2022년 7월 5일

​very interesting, a lot of work compared to my previous moocs but those ones were especially interesting and challenging.

교육 기관: Najib A A A A

2020년 9월 28일

The course is very important to me and all students for start learning in political science

교육 기관: JEENA G J

2020년 11월 1일

The course is understandable and awesome. Got a lot of knowledge by this online platform.

교육 기관: Abdullah K

2020년 11월 18일

Good Course for those who need to know the purpose of government or state and its role.

교육 기관: Alyssa M

2020년 7월 9일

Loved this class so much that I just signed up for part 2!

교육 기관: Anisur R

2020년 12월 27일

I have completed the course. How do I get a certificate?

교육 기관: Cristine J D

2020년 12월 8일

Very understandable lessons, interesting, and fun course

교육 기관: Valeria P

2021년 3월 23일

I loved it! The professor was great and I learned a lot

교육 기관: Steve R

2020년 12월 6일

Very well done. I'll be doing Part 2 for sure.

교육 기관: Anusha S

2020년 6월 24일

The lectures were concise and useful!

교육 기관: Parviz U

2020년 12월 17일

Thank you very much for attention!

교육 기관: Worrinphi R s

2020년 9월 19일

This is a good platform to learn

교육 기관: Ni N

2020년 8월 13일

inspring and comprehensive.

교육 기관: IJEOMA C

2020년 8월 2일

it was very educational

교육 기관: Md R H

2020년 7월 13일

Very good course

교육 기관: 121933201037 S L

2021년 10월 17일

very informative

교육 기관: Aarthi .

2021년 7월 26일

excellent course

교육 기관: Daniela b

2020년 11월 30일

Exelente curso

교육 기관: Sara R

2021년 3월 10일

Thank you

교육 기관: Abhishek P

2020년 7월 15일

FANTASTIC

교육 기관: KANISHKA

2020년 9월 4일

nice

교육 기관: Zakir H

2020년 9월 28일

Wow

교육 기관: Masoud H A

2020년 10월 29일

This was a good and quick review of some of the philosophical views on how the state and the relation between an individual and his/her society and ultimately the state are established or structured. The course provided in-depth analysis for learners who are interested in knowing how some of the modern concepts were originally viewed and argued amongst past and modern thinkers and philosophers.

교육 기관: Angela R

2021년 9월 6일

I have taken many history, law, and philosophy classes during my college career, but this is the first one that has put all of these together into one package. I loved it! It was so well put together. I am so excited to start the second half as soon as possible.