Chevron Left
Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark(으)로 돌아가기

로잔연방공과대학교의 Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
2,441개의 평가
505개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

최상위 리뷰

BP
2019년 11월 28일

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

CC
2017년 6월 7일

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

필터링 기준:

Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark의 488개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Raduś N

2017년 5월 23일

Awesome teacher - very engaging. This is probably first time when I am watching lectures with pleasure. Also you can easily feel that course is fresh and specially made for this unlike previous ones from Scala speciality.

교육 기관: Heyang W

2017년 8월 18일

A walk through from the oldest RDD to newest Dataset API of spark, together with brief introduction on how spark work. Home work set up several scenario to use the different kinds of spark API to do basic data analysis.

교육 기관: Mike D

2017년 4월 6일

Great introduction course to Spark with excellent materials and hand-on programming assignments. Thanks for taking effort to get this class online. I have enjoyed it very much.

Kudos to Professor Miller, we love you :-)

교육 기관: Jayaprakash

2017년 4월 9일

Great Material and lecture videos. It covered important concepts we need to know about Spark and helped me to learn further. Assignments were on real datasets and helped me to explore different APIs if Spark and Scala.

교육 기관: Heitor M G

2018년 2월 20일

I really enjoyed the course, specially the first 3 weeks. Week 4 videos could be split in more videos, it felt as if they were not reviewed as much as the other weeks videos. Anyway, the whole course is really good.

교육 기관: Peter T

2017년 4월 7일

Enjoyed the course and learnt lots. Stimulating material. Though I feel that the week 4 material could be made more concise. On the whole would recommend to other interested and it will definitely help in my career.

교육 기관: Eric L

2017년 4월 9일

Demystified the subject for me. I felt like the lecturer covered a considerable amount of material in relatively short time. The assignments helped to cement the knowledge acquired over the duration of the course.

교육 기관: Angel A

2017년 5월 7일

love this topic!!!! New and frontier technology in NLP. More and more concentrations and analysis on this big data research.

I wish more courses about Parallel clustering using Spark available to the many.

교육 기관: PatrickEifler

2020년 2월 21일

I really enjoyed the course. It is very comprehensive and exhaustive. It covers a lot of details on Spark and all its APIs and looks under the hood. I recommend to anyone who really wants to learn Spark.

교육 기관: Alexandr M

2017년 6월 24일

This course gives basics of distributed computing by practical examples, several alternative approaches to the same problem are considered, this gives more insight and flexibility. Very interesting one!

교육 기관: Darcio

2017년 4월 4일

Excellent and broad view of Spark and its design foundations. Besides the formal knowledge of Spark, it could change my perspective about how Scala and Akka had a crucial role in the Spark architecture.

교육 기관: Bill P

2019년 11월 29일

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

교육 기관: Jose R

2020년 11월 15일

I’m really happy with this 4-weeks experience. I’ve learnt a lot of Spark’s internals and different ways of resolving problems taking in account performance and optimisation details.

Great course!

교육 기관: Natalia G

2017년 3월 28일

goot as introduction about spark and big data.

Small notice: it is incorrect to compare performance hadoop and spark. As I understand, spark was expected to be compacred with MapReduce.

교육 기관: William D

2017년 12월 2일

Excellent course! It's clear the instructor put a ton of thought and hard work into this. I learned a lot that I wouldn't have learned without taking this class. Thank you, Heather!

교육 기관: pratik

2017년 8월 10일

The course starts from the basic concepts and moves towards the complex concepts. The most important thing is that minute details are taken into consideration and explained properly.

교육 기관: Enrique M B

2017년 5월 23일

I had previous experience with Scala and Spark and I really enjoyed the course.

I learned some very interesting things, specially y de last 2 weeks about partitioning and Spark SQL.

교육 기관: Nikola M

2017년 4월 3일

Good overview of the subject, covering all important aspects. Assignments were well prepared, with a couple of unclear points that were quickly discovered and explained on the forums.

교육 기관: Santiago A A

2019년 9월 23일

Awesome course and awesome teacher! Nevertheless, to grasp the most of this course, you should do the previous 3 courses of the "Functional Programming in Scala" specialization.

교육 기관: Yuriy P

2017년 10월 27일

Dear Heather,

your course on big data with scala is the very first online course I participate in.

I enjoy the way you explain the material and receive a real aesthetic pleasure.

교육 기관: Luca D S

2017년 12월 1일

It surely opens your mind, even on unrelated topics, I found myself able to apply some of the distributed computing logics even to imperative sequential programming. Good job.

교육 기관: Mani P

2017년 4월 9일

Excellent material. Very good flow. Heather has an amazing way of walking through the flow and simplifying the concepts. Great assignments -- takes a bit longer than 3 hours.

교육 기관: Piotr A

2017년 3월 16일

Great course. Very informative. I have learned a lot. Lessons are very well prepared and structured. Implementation tasks are interesting. Thanks to all EPFL team. Great job!

교육 기관: Paweł W

2020년 4월 3일

Well explained with many details, both: theory and practice really well prepared. I highly recommend to take this course if you're interested in Spark and big data analysis.

교육 기관: Mykola S

2017년 6월 30일

Great course with nice explanations of some Spark concepts. The third week was particularly useful for my understanding of Spark shuffling and partitioning. Thanks a lot!