Chevron Left
Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare(으)로 돌아가기

런던 대학교의 Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
99개의 평가
57개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This free course from the University of London explores critical thinking, and the interpretation of texts, through the Shakespeare authorship question. Using doubt about Shakespeare’s authorship as our playground, we will explore the key concept of authorship attribution, while developing skills in literary analysis, interpretation, and argument. Through forensic exploration of key texts, you will learn why Shakespeare’s authorship is questioned, and what evidence is cited on both sides of the debate. For those of you interested in exploring the works of Shakespeare from a new angle, or just wanting to hone your analytical thinking skills, this course offers an introduction to a fascinating area of interest. Those of you already interested in the Shakespeare authorship question will be encouraged to question your own assumptions in fruitful ways. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London BA in English, this course will be food for thought....

최상위 리뷰

JQ

Feb 21, 2018

Great Course with many interesting and innovative concepts. Thanks to all the folks who must have worked hard and long to put this course on the internet. Dr Quincy

JC

Feb 18, 2019

This was an extremely interesting course. I loved that it questioned traditional thinking. I truly believe that more courses like this should exist. Excellent

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare의 55개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: David P

Apr 17, 2018

This course gave me a much deeper insight into the Shakespeare Authorship Question, and why there are so many conflicting and contradictory points of view about the whole subject. Recommended for anyone wishing to broaden their knowledge about this topic.

Dave Patrick, Editor, 'The View Beyond: Sir Francis Bacon - Alchemy, Science, Mystery' (Polair Publishing, 2011)

교육 기관: Molly W

Mar 14, 2018

I've been researching this topic privately for a decade. It was immensely useful for me to take this basics course which reinforced my understanding of the fundamental facts of the case, and helped me to root my own inquiry in the conversation at large.

교육 기관: Armin A

Mar 10, 2018

Excellent presentation. Well done!

교육 기관: Beau P

Mar 19, 2018

I see much to value and love about this course that gently urges the student to consider ideas and concepts that can be contentious and controversial. It's the essence of learning that mysteries explored and uncovered provide the stepping stones for understanding life in general. This course will not only take you to a better understanding of the subject, but point you to constructive and positive methods of looking at all subjects. I was particularly impressed with Dr. Barbur's initial framing of the topic, acknowledging its difficulties, and urging open minds and a rigorous thinking process. I believe I have learned a great deal both about the Shakespeare authorship question, and about seeing the world in general, in a more realistic way. Thank you.

교육 기관: Heidi J

Feb 22, 2018

This course provides a gateway into the realm of the Shakespeare authorship question. The key pieces of authorship evidence are presented for consideration, the instructor is knowledgeable and engaging, and the guest interviews present thoughtful insights from literary scholars and actors who find this topic worthy of further exploration. Some technical glitches were quickly remedied by the attentive instructor, which helped to make this course an educational and enjoyable experience.

교육 기관: Julie M

Mar 13, 2018

For anyone seeking to discuss the Shakespeare authorship question this is a great course. If you do not believe this question should ever dare be asked it isn't the course for you. The course does not trumpet one "candidate" over any other, but encourages one to look closely at anything provided, on all sides, as evidence. It does ask one to question things we may have previously accepted with little query. There were some technical difficulties to begin with but the course leaders worked hard to sort them. The skill and joy of Shakespeare is never in doubt but who exactly Shakespeare might be is.

교육 기관: Libby G

Apr 06, 2018

i was impressed with the class and Dr. Barber's work of presenting it. I enjoyed all the work that went into the support of the lectures. I especially liked the text that was available for the hard of hearing a group that I am included. I would take it again if it is offered and possibly additional material was added.

교육 기관: olivier h

Mar 02, 2018

I did not finish first week yet, but felt the need to rate the course with the maximum score, just in case the producers need extra encouragement to finish the course with at least the same quality as at the beginning (is it new? I only have access to first week)

The way it is organized so far is just perfect. The videos are well realized, diverse (you get a lot of interviews of different experts) entertaining and effective. Ros Barber does a great job.

I particularly like the way quizzes are done. No matter the answer you chose, you get an extra explanation why you were right or wrong.

Thank you team!

교육 기관: Judith P

Mar 18, 2018

Really interesting. I am inspired to look into this subject more deeply.

교육 기관: Brian R M

Mar 03, 2018

This is an excellent course on a fascinating topic which, even though I have read several books on the subject still came up with much information and insight. It has encouraged me to explore further avenues regarding the authorship, hopefully with an open mind which is the main requisite

교육 기관: Jafor I

Mar 17, 2018

Knowing all of these authorship questions just makes Shakespeare more interesting! Encourages you to read him more carefully! No matter which alternate author you become drawn too, you will not relate Shakespeare's writings to 'Shakspere' any more.

교육 기관: david b p

Mar 13, 2018

Excellent! advances the position that the Authorship Question is a valid and necessary subject for Academic research!

교육 기관: luce n

Mar 03, 2018

G

교육 기관: Walnea C

May 08, 2018

the issues are really interesting and well explained and supported and developed.

교육 기관: Francis M

Mar 20, 2018

Fascinating subject. The content of this course is offered no where else. The course is well organized and presented with enthusiasm by Dr. Barber

교육 기관: Jose M R C

Sep 16, 2018

Brilliant, really interesting and very professional course about Shakespeare (and Shakspere). Thanks to Ros Barber, Goldsmith College and the University of London for offering it. I always wanted to base my PhD on this topic (PhD that I hope I can make some day) but after finishing this course I am even more interested. Thank you.

교육 기관: Malu C

Jul 17, 2019

As an avid Shakespeare reader, I found this course fascinating. Listening to Roz and to the interviews with prestigious scholars opened my eyes to new perspectives and points of view. It encourages me to continue reading and to submerge myself into the Shakespeare authorship and the question ho wrote Shakespeare

교육 기관: Michael G

Jul 20, 2019

Thank you. I really enjoyed this course. It opened my eyes to new ideas regarding the authorship of the plays we know as Shakespeares. Ultimately, it left me wanting to find out more, and to keep an open mind when considering all aspects of this fascinating topic. I started this with very little knowledge, as a by default Stratfordian. I'm now curious to read more evidence on all sides. That's great! Thank you Ros for your enthusiasm, and for this course.

교육 기관: Ivy A D S

Aug 18, 2019

What I learnt most was the art of approaching any topic of study with an open mind rather than with presets. It helps open up a world of possibilities and endless discoveries for me the perpetual learner.

교육 기관: Addison J

Nov 02, 2019

It was refreshing to see the authorship question seriously examined. Most teachers disregard it.

교육 기관: Carmen m S

Sep 05, 2019

The course was fantastic! I did this not really knowing what I was getting into, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I cannot wait to start another course.

교육 기관: Alex R

Oct 24, 2019

Excellent course. Very well prepared and wonderfully interesting

교육 기관: John B

Mar 09, 2018

Excellent course. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I loved Dr. Barber's presentation and especially the discussion interviews. I have been interested in the authorship question for many years and was very happy to see it given such a presentation. I have long thought that the actual facts of the authorship should be taught in schools rather than the assumptions that have built up around the lack of factual evidence.

교육 기관: Steven J L

Mar 17, 2018

Excellent, thorough introduction to the principle textual, artistic, contemporaneous sources

교육 기관: Toni P

Mar 25, 2018

This course provided some excellent, detailed material for exploring various aspects of the Shakespeare authorship question. I especially enjoyed the content of the interviews with Mark Rylance, Greg Thompson and William Leahy, partly because, on a mooc there needs to be a human dimension, but mostly because they gave thought-provoking into this issue from their own specialist and knowledgeable perspectives.

I understand why it was not possible to include material on other candidates, and internal evidence from the texts, on this course but I feel that it is difficult to avoid these two key aspects of the debate. It would be great if the University of London provided further courses in these two areas, linked to this one.

It is always good to get to know your fellow participants on the programme, and I enjoyed conversing with a number of individuals on the threads on various aspects of the SAQ. However, it was noticeable that only a small number of participants took part in these discussions. It would be worth thinking through whether there might be a better way of bringing participants together in a way which encourages everyone to exchange views and ideas, rather than just a dedicated few.

Ros Barber managed the course very well, dealing with problems effectively, and presenting the evidence in an engaging and well-conceived way. The only issue I had with the content of the course was the use of quizzes to test the memory,, and the fact that this was mainly on information which tended to be favour a non-Stratfordian perspective. I didn't feel that this was a very effective way for me to test my own critical thinking on the various matters discussed, although I understand that it would be difficult for the small team involved to deal with written material from participants.