Chevron Left
Survival Analysis in R for Public Health(으)로 돌아가기

임페리얼 칼리지 런던의 Survival Analysis in R for Public Health 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
233개의 평가
55개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Welcome to Survival Analysis in R for Public Health! The three earlier courses in this series covered statistical thinking, correlation, linear regression and logistic regression. This one will show you how to run survival – or “time to event” – analysis, explaining what’s meant by familiar-sounding but deceptive terms like hazard and censoring, which have specific meanings in this context. Using the popular and completely free software R, you’ll learn how to take a data set from scratch, import it into R, run essential descriptive analyses to get to know the data’s features and quirks, and progress from Kaplan-Meier plots through to multiple Cox regression. You’ll use data simulated from real, messy patient-level data for patients admitted to hospital with heart failure and learn how to explore which factors predict their subsequent mortality. You’ll learn how to test model assumptions and fit to the data and some simple tricks to get round common problems that real public health data have. There will be mini-quizzes on the videos and the R exercises with feedback along the way to check your understanding. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. The three previous courses in the series explained concepts such as hypothesis testing, p values, confidence intervals, correlation and regression and showed how to install R and run basic commands. In this course, we will recap all these core ideas in brief, but if you are unfamiliar with them, then you may prefer to take the first course in particular, Statistical Thinking in Public Health, and perhaps also the second, on linear regression, before embarking on this one....

최상위 리뷰

LA
2020년 7월 2일

Great course superb support and very clear professor. This course is a good motivator to continue to explore public health and statistics.

VV
2019년 8월 26일

Good and practical introduction to survival analysis. I liked the emphasis on how to deal with practical data sets and data problems.

필터링 기준:

Survival Analysis in R for Public Health의 55개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Todd D

2019년 11월 25일

Overall, the series on Stats in Public Health was worthwhile, well-constructed, and very informative. This last course (survival analysis) was equally informative, but desperately needs attention to the course presentation. The video transcripts were still raw (there needs to be an easy way for students like me who created cleaned video transcripts to upload them), two of the Week 4 quizzes would not accept the correct answers generated by the current software release (answer key needs to be updated), and the course itself needs someone to spend a few hours looking for bugs, typos, and doing polishing. The content is great but the presentation undermines it. Still, I would recommend the series, the course, and the instructors to other students.

교육 기관: Aboozar H

2019년 3월 6일

This course does not discuss different types of survival model such as competitive event models. It only discusses very basic ideas such as the hazard function and the cox model which could be discussed in like 20 minutes. There are a lot of unnecessary discussion around multivariate regression and missing values that belong to a course on regression analysis and not survival analysis. The R code is a bit faulty and could be improved. Overall, I don't think this could be a good course on survival analysis.

교육 기관: Amir A

2019년 5월 16일

There are few videos and too much text. The exercises have not been well prepared and some outcomes and results have not been discussed, in particular for different types of residuals in the last week.

교육 기관: Paco C

2020년 7월 22일

Very shallow and uninformative. Nothing that cannot be learned with a 30 minutes read plus another 30 minutes looking at the survival package in R. Certainly doesn't merit the cost of subscribing to the specialization

교육 기관: Kenil C

2020년 2월 8일

I expected the course to be more in-depth about the theory about survival analysis, but it only covers the very basics and the exercises are simply copying-and-pasting some R statements and getting some p-values.

교육 기관: Victoria

2019년 8월 26일

Good and practical introduction to survival analysis. I liked the emphasis on how to deal with practical data sets and data problems.

교육 기관: Retham L

2020년 5월 11일

This course can be improved by fixing mistakes (especially the ones on quizzes), and instructors need to be more active on the forums and help students with questions.

교육 기관: SAVINO S

2020년 9월 30일

A bit thank you to Alex Bottle for planning this course in such a nice way. I completely agree on his choice to leave out as much algebra as possible, and i like his way to talk through all the topics with a simple (though precise) language. I'll be missing it when, in the future, i will try to find help or guidance in some forum or website full of formal statistical language (eg. just look at the R online help for functions)

Thanks a lot again. Now that i've finished this specialization i'm more confident in dealing with health data and, who know, i may embark in some advanced statistical course! ;)

교육 기관: Merce G P

2020년 5월 25일

Very nice course to get an introduction on survival analysis in R.

Well organized combination of theory and practice.

Also very nice it you have previous experience on survival analysis with other software like STATA.

Keep in mind that it is for a beginner level and basically covers kaplan-meier and cox, that's all.

교육 기관: Eleanor H

2020년 6월 11일

Great introduction to survival analysis, explaining key concepts in a simple and effective manner. The combination of videos, reading material and practical R sessions were a great variety and kept you engaged. Minimal prior knowledge required, and a great practical application. Would highly recommend this course!

교육 기관: Nevin J

2020년 2월 1일

Brilliant course from the Imperial team taking you through survival analysis using R. Practical, applicable and well explained. I finally understood a topic that I have had trouble with. It builds upon foudnations and beautfilly builds as u progress. it uses assessments really well to test knowledge

교육 기관: Qusai A K A A

2020년 11월 26일

I took the entire specialization, and I am delighted I did!

All 4 courses in this specialization are wonderfully designed for beginners such as myself to get into statistics and R!

A big thank you to both instructors, you did a great job!

교육 기관: Lucas G

2020년 11월 12일

Excelente curso introductorio para el análisis de sobrevida! Repasa los conceptos básicos de manera muy didáctica y llevadera. 100% recomendable para aquellos que quieran iniciar el proceso de análisis de tiempo al evento!

교육 기관: Dr. S P

2020년 1월 4일

The course has been designed to cater to the requirement of budding public health professionals who want to enhance their skills beyond basic of epidemiology and biostatistics and gain a competitive edge.

교육 기관: Lesaffre A

2020년 7월 3일

Great course superb support and very clear professor. This course is a good motivator to continue to explore public health and statistics.

교육 기관: Xiyang S

2020년 5월 10일

Thanks the course team especailly the instructor presenting great martirals, hope to see more related courses with more mathematics in it!

교육 기관: Assal h

2019년 8월 2일

Excellent course to learn about survival analysis, with very explicit explications of the application of the models on R

교육 기관: Roxana P

2020년 12월 29일

Very well explained including aspects not commonly covered in other tutorials such as assumptions testing.

교육 기관: Kaoma M M

2020년 5월 30일

Very enjoyable course, and simple but effective application using R which I know very well in my practice

교육 기관: Karina S

2019년 11월 12일

Great! It's very interesting! Thank you. I would like to find out about prediction based on Cox model

교육 기관: Rahul R

2020년 12월 31일

The course is wonderful and very informative. Only feedback is the final quiz was pretty hard.

교육 기관: Sergio P

2019년 11월 7일

Excellent course. Definitely a MUST DO if you would like to learn statistics in RStudio.

교육 기관: ITALO E S E S

2021년 5월 18일

The course is very interesting and provides insight into the use of survival analysis.

교육 기관: Faisal A

2019년 7월 22일

Very nice introductory course on survival analysis in R. Exercises were well designed.