Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Teaching Language Online(으)로 돌아가기

애리조나주립대학교의 Teach English Now! Teaching Language Online 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
473개의 평가
160개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Whether you have already taught English as a Second Language and want to start teaching it online, you've already been teaching ESL online and want to sharpen your skills, or you are new to teaching and interested in teaching ESL online, ASU and VOXY provide you with the basic ideas and concepts you need to know in order to successfully teach ESL online. This course uses a fun and interesting theme of "International Travel" to deliver content in an entertaining way. There are also plenty of real, recorded online session videos from VOXY in the course to show you examples of what it looks like to teach ESL online. In this course, you will learn about the best practices for teaching English as a Second Language online. This includes an introduction to online teaching, Second Language Acquisition theories and how they apply to ESL learners, conducting a needs analysis, curating content for your courses, designing lesson plans, and effective teaching strategies that will help you to become an successful online ESL teacher. The course consists of a variety of videos and readings, followed by quizzes. In the last module of the course, actual VOXY online ESL teachers share their experiences in the online classroom....

최상위 리뷰

MD
2020년 11월 24일

This course is an excellent choice for anyone interested in teaching ESL. Weekly Lessons/Modules are well-planned. Videos were informative and enjoyable. The instructor, Emilia, was wonderful!

RN
2020년 8월 23일

Wonderful course! I felt great going through evidence based teaching methods and the pleasing demeanor of Emilia. The fictional video simulations were well choreographed. Overall, I loved it.

필터링 기준:

Teach English Now! Teaching Language Online의 157개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: KIYINGI I

2019년 11월 19일

Great skills though the practicum is too expensive. Thanks for the wonderful experience though.

교육 기관: Bonnie S

2019년 7월 25일

Overall, the course was helpful, but it needs some better QA.

The pop-up quizzes during the videos were often right BEFORE the material answering the question was presented. (So you could only answer the question correctly if you read ahead in the transcript before answering.)

The fill-in-the-blank questions were very hard to get right. Even when I copied text verbatim from the course, it was marked wrong. E.g., "switching pairs for each activity" was wrong, I needed to enter "switch pairs." A human would have marked my initial response correct.

Some of the multiple-choice, multiple-answer questions were also frustrating, such as "why do you take notes during the lesson?" -- there would be one answer clearly supported by the course material, but the lesson quizzes demanded multiple answers to be marked correct. But then when you got to the same exact question on the final exam, it was a single-answer multiple -choice question.

교육 기관: Tabaev R D

2020년 4월 7일

It's awful. Most of quizes are incorrect with answers, that students can't find in the course videos. For example, quiz 2 in week 4 has questions that we even haven't heard before. In order to have 100% for quiz 1 in week 1 you must choose incorrect answer in question 7 (or it doesn't relate to this week). What is more, you need to pay approximately 25 dollars for that profanation! I've already passed three courses from ASUs' TESOL certification, and those courses were awesome, they have really helped me in my present career. But, nevertheless, this course is a shame for the entire Arizona State University. Fix it, please, or don't lie to your students!

교육 기관: virginia e t

2020년 8월 18일

This is a course about Task Based Language Learning in an online environment. It may not be suitable for all types of language learning, but gives helpful tips and advice.

교육 기관: Gretchen

2019년 10월 29일

Good solid background course for teaching language on-line. Some course material seemed out-of-order, and some was repeated. However, all material was applicable, and I enjoyed the presentation and pace of the course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Syeda N F

2020년 4월 10일

the only difficulty for M-1 , L1 instructions are not given clearly means for last question it was asking to apply all choices of answers where as not for other which really consumed lot of time. we would have used this consumed time for other learning or other worthy work. such a great university to whom I will be very grateful because really i have learnt a lot in this course about how to teach English online ; but really very much disappointed for the time i have wasted for M1-L1 quize. please add clear instructions to attempt question.

교육 기관: Victoria K O M

2020년 8월 29일

I most say that, i am richly beefed up for the challenges ahead in my online classes. Before i did this course had alot of doubts, but now, there is no mountain facing me now that i cannot surpass. Thanks alot for everything. Ready for the future now, to meet all my learner's needs.

교육 기관: Kelly R

2020년 5월 9일

I flagged many issues, but ASU replied saying they were fixed, so I highly recommend the course if problems have really been fixed.

교육 기관: David E F G

2020년 5월 25일

This is a good, easy, friendly course that will help you if you want to get into the world of teaching languages online.

교육 기관: Romanovskaya M V

2019년 11월 30일

Было очень полезно

교육 기관: Gyuzal T A

2020년 4월 23일

I liked this course very much!!! Because it gave me not knowledge how to conudct a lesson online, but also to it gave me confidence that it is not so difficult as I thought about it to be. I fancied the structure of this course, step by step you acquire thohse skills you need. Especially, I liked the section about Feedback and Lesson plan. I liked videos. I liked the quizes especially, even if some quizes seemed to me difficult, some not, but there were some difficulties with those questions where were several answers. I would like to appreciate and thank all teachers who created and participated in creation of this useful course!

교육 기관: Isaac M H G

2020년 10월 13일

It's a very well-made course. I loved being taught by Emilia because she looked so passionate by doing this course. One thing I didn't like a lot were the bad acting most of the people did, even Emilia sometimes, It seemed very fake and nothing authentic, however it is a very appropiate course if you want to introduce yourself in Online Teaching, it summarizes everything you need to know before starting teachinn online and it has a lot of REAL RECORDED EXAMPLES which was the thing I enjoyed the most.

교육 기관: Mohammad M

2020년 5월 6일

This course taught me a great deal of how to run an effective online English teaching course. I highly recommend to both traditional English teachers who want to broaden their territory of their career and to those who just want to start teaching English in a fascinating way. In the end, I want to express my gratitude to instructors for creating such great experience.

교육 기관: Yalamanchili S

2020년 3월 29일

Course material and organization of the course are great. Though it's an online course , I felt like the instructors are with me in my efforts to take my first steps of online teaching. The theory is so systematic, scientific and interactive that makes me more enthusiastic about creating my first online lessons. Thanks to Coursera and Arizona University People.

교육 기관: Rakesh N

2020년 8월 24일

Wonderful course! I felt great going through evidence based teaching methods and the pleasing demeanor of Emilia. The fictional video simulations were well choreographed. Overall, I loved it.

교육 기관: Rafael G

2020년 2월 12일

It's almost impossible to give the right answer to the questions in which you have to type, even knowing the right answer.

On the second test of the first week is not possible to give a right answer to the seventh question.

교육 기관: Idiomas c V

2020년 4월 8일

Good content, but that is all. No peer interaction, no possible way of asking questions or talking with someone from the course staff. Several errors in the quizzes which nobody bothers to correct

교육 기관: Briseida E V

2021년 10월 21일

When the pandemic hit and we were all forced to start teaching via Zoom or other such platforms, it also affected education paraprofessionals who give support in the classrooms. I may not be a certified teacher, but I do help with small intervention and/or learning groups at the elementary school level. I mostly work with kindergarten and English learners, so I wanted to do anything possible to better assist the teachers and students I support. This course had taught me fundamentals on how to be more patient and understanding with students' struggles, a better understanding of language acquisition in general, and how important well-thought out feedback is to leaners. These skillsets and more have helped me be a better "teacher" during breakout rooms, and transfer the aid we give teachers in a physical classroom to a virtual one. Thank you immensely for this course at such an opportune time!

교육 기관: Marlene J F A

2020년 9월 12일

I really love the creative way you presented and carried out the whole course. Examples were very useful and enlighting. Also, the reflection at the end helped us to land our learning throughout this course. Sadly, I cannot take the Voxy opportunity, I´m taking this course because the Guatemalan government is giving us the opportunity to take this courses for free - I believe through an agreement - but I really can´t afford the US$1,000 that the practicum requires. But, for sure, I´m going to put into practice everything I have learned therein. Thanks a lot! You also gave ideas to present topics to my own students. I believe Voxy would be a great tool to be used in our courses, I will recommend it to my supervisors. Thanks again for all the learnings received and for sure, put them in practice here in Guatemala.

교육 기관: Marceli A

2021년 1월 6일

I really enjoyed taking this course! I was afraid that I might not be able to follow it, since English is not my native language. But it was easy to understand, well structured, with plenty of definitions and examples. Sure, it will help me in my future lesson planning and feedback. I just learned so much on these two subjects and could figure out where I can improve as a teacher. I would love to take the practicum, but unfortunately, I cannot afford it. I am happy for all what I have learned and refreshed regarding teaching ESL. Thank you so much!!

교육 기관: Anna E

2021년 10월 2일

This course is amazing! I'd like to thank all instructors who created it! It was well-organized and easy to follow. I found the topics discussed in the course helpful and practical for me. My favorite part was a set of interviews with ESL teachers who shared their experience about teaching online. It was really interesting to know what benefits teaching online has and what kind of drawbacks might appear during the live session. I would recommend taking this course if you have time on your hands!

교육 기관: Raúl Á R M

2021년 3월 29일

I am very proud myself for this achievement and I can't be thankful enough, but still I want to congratulate everyone involved in the development of this course. The way the instructor determines the content for every lesson in a clear and understandable tone to the easily comprehensible writings. Most information was unknown for me and I can't wait to see what I can achieve as a future instructor. Thank you!

교육 기관: carol b

2020년 10월 8일

This class covered topics I did not learn during my TEFL class so long ago. I found it engaging, challenging, and do-able. I enjoyed the around-the-world theme. It was interesting to listen to different teachers present their teaching methods. Dr. Neilson was very pithy with TBLT teaching. Overall, it is an excellent class and I feel better prepared to teach online.

교육 기관: Anna A

2021년 1월 28일

The course was fundamental and resourceful.No doubt I gained knowledge and experience.I sorted out in my mind and I will try to use everything in my future lessons. The practicum would be significant and useful but I can't afford it since I am unemployed for long...Anyway I appreciated all and I really thank you, for that!!!

교육 기관: Kitty S

2021년 11월 21일

Great course! All the information was provided in an easy, funny, practical and little-by-little way. I'm not a native English speaker, but I could understand almost everything. When not, I was able to use the transcription provided by Coursera. Thank you, Coursera! Thank you, Arizona State University!