Chevron Left
The Worldview of Thomas Berry: The Flourishing of the Earth Community(으)로 돌아가기

예일 대학교의 The Worldview of Thomas Berry: The Flourishing of the Earth Community 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
65개의 평가
23개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Thomas Berry (1914-2009) was a historian of world religions and an early voice awakening moral sensibilities to the environmental crisis. He is known for articulating a “new story” of the universe that explores the implications of the evolutionary sciences and cultural traditions for creating a flourishing future. This course investigates Berry’s life and thought in relation to the Journey of the Universe project. It draws on his books, articles, and recorded lectures to examine such ideas as: the New Story, the Great Work, and the emerging Ecozoic era. The course explores Berry’s insights into cosmology as a context for locating the human in a dynamic unfolding universe and thus participating in the creative work of our times. In particular, we will examine Berry’s reflections on renewal and reform in the areas of ecology, economics, education, spirituality, and the arts. Course Rationale: Thomas Berry was an original, creative, and comprehensive thinker, especially regarding the critical nature of our global environmental crisis. His intellectual importance resides in his response to the ecological crisis by bringing together the humanities and science in an evolutionary narrative. In addition, he articulated the need for the moral participation of the world religions in addressing environmental issues. He came to this realization largely through his study of cosmologies embedded within religious traditions. Sensing the significance of these stories as “functional cosmologies” he explored the widespread influence that these stories transmitted through a tradition, for example, in rituals, ethics, and subsistence practices....

최상위 리뷰

US

Jun 23, 2019

I love Thomas Berry and they way he is able to tell us the story of the universe. This is an amazing course, an eye opener and a spiritual journey overall.\n\nThank You.

TA

Sep 29, 2017

This course will give new insight, grand thought concerning everything, the all things exist in the universe, to you. I want you to have these things as I have.

필터링 기준:

The Worldview of Thomas Berry: The Flourishing of the Earth Community의 23개 리뷰 중 1~23

교육 기관: Juliet B

Mar 20, 2017

A fantastic course that deepened my understanding of the brilliant thought of Thomas Berry, bringing to life his personal story and the stories he told.

교육 기관: Colleen S

Jun 08, 2017

This course has so inspired me to learn more and to motivate others to celebrate our Earth Community by learning how to better care for the planet.

교육 기관: Annabella R

Nov 20, 2018

Love love this work. I am just getting to know the work of Thomas Berry and how edgy these thoughts were some 20 years ago. thank you for introducing this seminal work and allowing for an understanding of context . i also appreicate learning about how we are more the same , than different, across our different "spiritualities" Thank you.

교육 기관: Fogan A

Jan 19, 2019

Great worldview teaching, if even i don't agree with everything... But sure you are right on many pints about accepting eac other and living together the future out our world and how to care bout the environment...

교육 기관: Kathleen D

Dec 14, 2018

Excellent !

교육 기관: Cornelia S L

Feb 04, 2017

I had never read Thomas Berry and with this course I just couldn't stop reading his books and the vision he had about the earth and his view of Teilhard de Chardin.

교육 기관: Michelle S

Mar 27, 2017

Thomas Berry was a visionary, illuminating our context and leading the way forward to give hope to our generation and those to come. This is a call to action from the future. The vision of a flourishing Earth community, where humans enhance and nurture, brings me great hope and purpose. What a gift.

교육 기관: Климова А И

May 21, 2018

A very good course!

교육 기관: louis f d m p s

Feb 26, 2017

Nice; contemplate this wonderful jorney

교육 기관: Julian P P

Jul 07, 2017

Loved learning about Thomas Berry's amazing writing and the 'Great Work'.

교육 기관: mansi g

Jul 02, 2018

it is superb

교육 기관: Deleted A

Sep 27, 2017

What a great person Thomas Berry was!

교육 기관: Великодный А И

May 21, 2018

It is one of the best courses I have ever studied!

교육 기관: Fernando B

Mar 19, 2018

A transformational course, a spiritual journey. -

교육 기관: Hyunsook K

Nov 27, 2016

It's beautiful! I've never described any coursera courses this way. This lecture guides us widen and enhanced world around us. I believe it make us becoming better beings. Thank you!

교육 기관: Teresa N Y S

Mar 03, 2017

Amazing! Awe-inspiring! I have found great energy, wisdom, and respite from this series of courses, as I work everyday to maintain environmental policies and laws. I loved the organization, and will continue to write on these subjects. I appreciate all your extraordinary effort in putting these courses together.

교육 기관: Silvia D B

Aug 30, 2017

This was an eye opener and an amazing and inspiring experience for me. I couldn't wait to watch the videos and read the portions of the books, downloaded all the transcripts to read later again! I didn't know anything about Thomas Berry and had a sort of skepticism towards a catholic priest approach to environmentalism. But I was blown away by his amazing vision and open mind. I loved that the course is respectful of religious (and non religious) views. Thomas Berry simple but transformational experience in the meadow and his love and understanding of nature and nature's rights completely transformed my own thinking and approach to the Great Work ahead for each one of us. Just before completing the course I attended an Art of Mentoring experience and between these two, they sealed my commitment to the Great Work. Thank you!

교육 기관: Tun L A

Sep 29, 2017

This course will give new insight, grand thought concerning everything, the all things exist in the universe, to you. I want you to have these things as I have.

교육 기관: Karim F

Apr 11, 2017

This course should be made mandatory is all schools and work places around the world NOW !!!

교육 기관: Ujjawal S

Jun 23, 2019

I love Thomas Berry and they way he is able to tell us the story of the universe. This is an amazing course, an eye opener and a spiritual journey overall.

Thank You.

교육 기관: Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

교육 기관: Devin M O

Aug 13, 2019

Top tier education and eye opening experience.

교육 기관: Kevin K

Aug 14, 2017

It is not so academic as I thought. Thomas Berry is an extraordinary scholar undoubtedly, but the lectures put too much personal affection onto Thomas Berry, which makes me uncomfortable.