Chevron Left
The Art of Vocal Production(으)로 돌아가기

버클리음악대학교의 The Art of Vocal Production 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
210개의 평가
68개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course addresses recorded vocal performances and the technologies used to highlight and support them in modern record production and mixes. Most of us know that vocals serve as the focal point of modern recordings but many do not know the tools used or when the tools are used best in modern record production. The course begins with simple vocal placement in a mix, where you will also learn the fundamentals of compression and equalization. You’ll further study delays and reverbs before moving to advanced concepts in audio editing, synthetic processing, automatic & graphic pitch correction, time compression, time expansion, flex and elastic audio. Through analysis and/or hands on projects that the students will post for peer review, the student will gain an understanding of the many choices available to modern record producers as they record and mix with a modern tool set. You’ll see, in action, the Vocoder, Auto-Tune, Melodyne, Elastic Audio, Flex Time, VocAlign, tempo based editing and a host of other file modification protocols that are readily available on most Digital Audio Workstations. This course gives students a thorough look at the expanded choices that have risen in the art of vocal production as a result of these modern tools. The goal of the course is to help interested novices understand the recordings they are listening to, performers find an expanded language for their recorded voices and for vocal producers to be able to create musically artistic visualizations using singers as their paintbrushes....

최상위 리뷰

AE

Nov 27, 2018

This course was really fun, I have learned so much. And I am glad I took the time to complete it. I work with vocals all the time. And now I feel much more confident now. Thank you Mr Prince.

VI

Aug 15, 2019

Course was great! I was able to learn a lot of new things and the lecturer was so on point! I recommend this course to anyone who is interested in vocal production!

필터링 기준:

The Art of Vocal Production의 67개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Jan

Mar 18, 2017

Just Great :)

교육 기관: Alexey S

Apr 10, 2018

После прохождения этого курса появились не только новые, структурированные знания, но и освоена профессиональная терминология на английском. Спасибо!

교육 기관: Pam S

Jan 05, 2018

Although I wasn't comfortable how quickly the segments went and felt like they were over my head most of the time not really feeling like I got it...feeling kind of lost...when it came time to do the quiz I always passed so I must have learned something without realizing it. I especially loved the talkbox segment...made me want to find a plug in for that and play around with that...love the way it sounded ...

교육 기관: William B

May 26, 2017

Very informative and useful course, no doubt!

교육 기관: Wil K

Jul 21, 2017

Excellent intro course on the subject of producing vocals. The videos are focused and structured which make each concept easy to digest for the student. In-depth focus on stacking and doubling vocals is really well done and thoroughly explained. Could not think of a better way to organize and teach the Filtering, Delay, Reverb and more exotic FX like Vocoder and Talk Box. I have been producing R&B, Jazz and Gospel style vocals for artists, including some on Def Jam, Jive, Universal Records, using these very techniques that we pioneered and learned in the studio setting back in the 90's. It is great to see an organized, structured presentation of these topics in an academic setting that retains all of the practicality of real-world vocal production. Prince Charles is a phenomenally detail-oriented, effective instructor with a huge body of experience paired with technical and musical knowledge. A gem of a course!

교육 기관: Allison T

Aug 31, 2017

Great course with a lot of good information. Now I just have to work on putting what I learned into actual practice in the studio.

교육 기관: Jatin S

Jul 30, 2017

Amazing and Wonderful Content... Beautifully explained...You'll definitely make my life which has been in ruins...I wish I could come to Berklee for a regular course (Yeah That's...m dream now)...Love you

교육 기관: Fedelin G

Jan 12, 2017

I cannot step toward without testify my gratefulness to Coursera and most specially to Prince Alexander for the outstanding job in teaching this class! This Vocal Production teaching class puts me in higher level in my performance at church!

Thank you

교육 기관: Nadim J S I

Jul 02, 2017

Not even finished the first week and im already feeling really satisfied with the information

교육 기관: Mihail B

Mar 15, 2018

Strongly recommended!

교육 기관: Anastasiia A

Jul 01, 2017

Great course! I wonder why it is not in the Music Production Specialization, because I got a lot out of it, even though it is mostly working in ProTools while I work in Logic. Combined with Loudon Stearn's course it is a bomb! Though I struggled in the very beginning, it seemed not that cool in first few videos, very soon I realized it's priceless, and I recommend it to anyone interested in Music Production.

교육 기관: Tomislav

Jun 26, 2018

Great introductory course to vocal production. Highly recommended if you are a novice.

교육 기관: Mitch R

Jun 04, 2017

I was surprised by how good this course was. I wasn't sure what to expect, but even after all my years and experience in studio recording and production....I learned a lot. Prince Charles Alexander showed us how to be much more efficient in our use of time, and gave great demonstrations on how to do things better. I've already started implementing some of these techniques in my current project.

교육 기관: Sunny

Feb 19, 2017

I audited this course. Had I been more serious on the music side, I would have done the specialization or completion certificate. The videos were great breakdowns of effects common to most DAWs. The walk through of using the effects made me more comfortable with exploring different settings other than what is in the defaults.

교육 기관: Sanilmon L

Mar 12, 2018

Awesome Course

교육 기관: Isabel G

Jan 26, 2018

Very informative, it gives you the tools that you need, and explain them accurately, I really enjoyed it. Thank you.

교육 기관: OMAR Y G

May 05, 2018

awesome so far

교육 기관: Geok L K

Apr 05, 2018

Instructor is both knowledgeable technically and has invaluable real word music experience. I enjoyed the course as a novice and learnt a lot from the techniques used in the industry. I can now listen to music in a more critical manner and understand what the producers and artists are trying to achieve.

교육 기관: Britney B

Oct 26, 2017

This course took a topic that has generally intimidated me and made it accessible. I had so many aha moments in this class it pushed me to complete the course. My first Coursera class completed!! The information I learned I have applied immediately and will continue to revisit. I also enjoyed learning from my peers and understand the value of doing so because of this class. Thank You Prince Charles, Berklee, and Coursera for creating this course!!

교육 기관: Todd C

May 04, 2017

Outstanding vocal production overview! Prince Charles Alexander is a multi-Grammy winning vocal mixer and producer. This course will greatly help those of us, like me, producing pop vocals. From here, students can explore pop vocal strategies in their future songs, using these ideas to think from.

I would only recommend that prince Charles Alexander's impressive credentials be featured more prominently in the introduction and course name, that the week 2 quiz be a little more relevant and harder, and that students should seek out techniques to bring out the best vocal production. A great vocal production starts with a great performance, not covered in this short class.

교육 기관: Paul W

Oct 15, 2017

great all around information from a passionate teacher

교육 기관: Robert A S

Jan 23, 2018

very interesting and helpful couse! Besides the course material a good platform to discuss and share thoughts and knowledge with classmates!

교육 기관: Jonathan P

Oct 14, 2018

Really well explained and taught!

교육 기관: Daniel W

Jul 26, 2018

Nice!

교육 기관: Eric J R S

Aug 13, 2019

Prince Charles is amazing!!!!