Chevron Left
Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications(으)로 돌아가기

덴마크 기술 대학교 (DTU)의 Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
719개의 평가
190개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

최상위 리뷰

AP

Jul 20, 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

필터링 기준:

Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications의 189개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Robert F

Jan 28, 2019

This course is mostly just an advertisement for the particular tools created by the CGE. It would have benefited from deeper explanations of the algorithms at many points. It didn't really build skills, though I am certainly more aware of the breadth of their online tools now.

교육 기관: Sören W

Jan 07, 2019

It is basically a commercial for their tools. Not much content to learn.

교육 기관: Douglas A H

Dec 29, 2017

I quite liked the instructors, but after the first few lessons, the course essentially becomes an advertisement/user manual for their university's (admittedly free) online software tools.

교육 기관: Marwa M M B

Aug 19, 2017

It is totally beneficial course for those who are working in epidemiology, however; I was expected to learn different tools for species and microbial communities identification.

교육 기관: Faizan A

Apr 03, 2020

A well structured course covering a broad range of topics, and being a part of this course was an amazing learning experience..

Thanks to DTU and Coursera family....

교육 기관: Dr. B E S

Apr 24, 2020

A course which is worthy for a researcher who is involved in whole genome analysis and pathogen identification. The course gives a base to the use of cge website.

교육 기관: shilpa y

Feb 20, 2020

If you are willing to learn about the WGS analysis, this is not the course for you. The course is all about tools developed by DTU and how to use them. There is a very insufficient background given for all tools. A lot of time has been spent on explaining unnecessary details about using tools, like where to put email it! Concepts are not explained properly. I find the course structure very poor. Last but not least, the main instructor of the course has an accent very difficult to comprehend.

교육 기관: Sibel Z

Aug 15, 2019

Videos are not comprehensive enough even if one already has some knowledge of that area!

교육 기관: Varun C

Jan 02, 2020

First of all I would like to thank coursera and DTU for providing such a good platform where one can learn and get trained in the subjects of ones interest from the leading experts. The course was very informative and I should say that I have learned something new which I was not familiar with, and would surely look forward for more such trainings by DTU team in future. The way of teaching by the DTU team was very nice especially by Dr Pimlapas.

교육 기관: Pham T T T

Sep 17, 2017

Thank you great team from DTU, I get to understand NGS via your detailed explanation and useful demonstration as well as example exercise. Cheers

교육 기관: Claudia M d l P

Aug 27, 2019

Muy buen curso para iniciar con el análisis de secuencias masivas de cepas que pudieran estar implicadas en brotes epidemiológicos. Felicidades

교육 기관: Erica Y

Oct 01, 2018

Good course for a beginner. Generally, help me understand whole genome sequencing of bacteria. Will follow other course that they have provide.

교육 기관: WK S

May 30, 2020

I am a biology student, who recently started a masters in bioinformatics and have been struggling to try to keep up with the computational aspects and this course was perfect for me. The pacing of the course was really good and the lectures were also well detailed and to the point. I really liked the passion with which Shinny did her lecture segments.

교육 기관: Gourab D

Aug 20, 2017

Madam/Sir,

I am a Computer Science Engineer, I am doing research in University of Calcutta in Machine Learning. I have some interest in Bioinformatics. It is not possible for me to grab all the aspect in that subject. So, I am grabbing it in scattered way. The course I have completed in "DTU" has captured a complete different aspect which I haven't seen before. The most important things is that it is a very neat and clean course with a specific direction. All the labs which I have performed here has been well taught in various videos. Though it is not possible for me to understand every parts of all the videos but still it gives me enough knowledge to complete the practicals. I hope it will help me in future run.

I would like to specify just one problem related with the course. Every course in Coursera has "Discussion Forum" corresponding to every week, which I have found missing, as it solves lot of dynamic problem in each week's tutorial. I am sorry if "Discussion Forum" is already there and I have ignored that.

Thanks You very much,

Gourab Das

교육 기관: Audrey V

Nov 21, 2018

I only just begin taking part in it and all I can say is I am enjoying it even though I am a bit behind schedule and my first attempt was 60%, I will try again and aim high with better understanding. Thank you for the opportunity and the financial aid that was approved for me to attend the course. I am determined to do my best. What I also like is the clear teaching or lecturing manner of all the presenters of the course.

교육 기관: Kira K

Dec 04, 2018

This is a great class presenting a user-friendly web tool CGE pipeline that is ready to help all researches with their bioinformatics data. It can even build phylogenetic trees!

And I loved a small detective game at the end of the course when we needed to process unknown bacteria sequences to see if it was a real outbreak and what antibiotics were able to stop it!

A lot of thanks to the team!

교육 기관: Kristine L C

Jul 09, 2020

Thank you to the entire DTU team that made this course. It's a very informative course with hands-on work using CGE tools developed. Glad that some aspects of the course are related to my line of study and this brought me even more knowledge to my passion in microbiology. Hoping for more courses from you soon! Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Grigore-Mihaita S

Jul 28, 2020

It was a nice experience which i kindly recommend to everyone who is interested in improving their knowledge in microbial genomics, learning to use bioinformatics tools provided by the Center for Genomic Epidemiology but also to interpret the resulting data. Thank you for this amazing experience!

교육 기관: AKM F H

Jun 10, 2019

This is a really good course for beginners as it explained the use of some fantastic web-based tools to detect bacterial ST, resistance, plasmid, MLST, and phylogeny. I have learned a lot of new techniques to analyze the whole genome of a bacterium. Thank you for giving me the opportunity.

교육 기관: Sebin J

Jul 09, 2020

It was a great course which introduced me into the world of whole genome sequencing and application of various tools for finding bacterial sub-typing, serotyping of plasmids and constructing phylogenetics trees. Really satisfied with course and looking forward to more courses like this.

교육 기관: Dr. K M K

Jun 26, 2020

Excellent course, well-planned presentation, very easy to understand. It is really a great learning platform. I Thank you very much to the team for the wonderful presentation and plan. looking for many courses from DTU food. It is really a food of knowledge for everyone. Thank you.

교육 기관: Amro H

Nov 11, 2019

Thank you for the very helpful informative course. Very useful online tools. and great effort.

Only may we try to improve the English subtitles and attach answer for the quiz even at the end of the course?

Thank you again for all of your help, you are doing an OUTSTANDING job.

교육 기관: MITESH S

Apr 02, 2020

The course was very much helpful for my current work and it helped me understand many things especially on data analysis front of whole genome sequencing of bacteria. I would like to thank all the tutors of the course for giving their time for the development of this course.

교육 기관: Mohamed E

Jul 28, 2018

Not to mention, the power of the tools illustrated in this course, I just wanna mention that I am senior student in bioinformatics bachelor degree and Dr. Pimlapas Leekitcharoenphon is by far the best instructor I have ever come across in the field till now. Thank you.

교육 기관: Opeyemi U L

Feb 02, 2018

The module was easy to follow and the class exercises made it very easy to understand. I will highly recommend this course to microbiology students especially the ones without prior knowledge of basic bioinformatics for epidemiological study of bacterial infections