Chevron Left
Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications(으)로 돌아가기

덴마크 기술 대학교 (DTU)의 Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
387개의 평가
101개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

최상위 리뷰

MB

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

XL

Jun 30, 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

필터링 기준:

Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications의 101개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Deleted A

Jan 24, 2019

Such a good course which gives an overview to some of the bioinformatic tools that can be employed in genome sequencing. I'm glad I enrolled for this course because it has enlightened me of the other part of molecular biology I didn't know so much about.

So thanks to all the instructors that dedicated their time to provide us with new knowledge.

교육 기관: Adrián L F

Apr 27, 2018

Es un curso bastante fácil para entender las herramientas bioinformáticas que tenemos actualmente para interpretar el genoma bacteriano. Curso muy recomendable para farmacéuticos, biólogos, médicos, enfermeros, biólogos sanitarios y demás componentes de las Ciencias de la Salud e incluso otras carreras científicas como Ciencias Ambientales.

교육 기관: Michael O S

Oct 25, 2019

Course was great! Practical hands-on knowledge about what it's like to be a microbial bioinformatician (minus coding the tools themselves). One thing I wish they had touched more deeply upon is how WGS itself works, which I was kind of expecting. But I'd say I got enough out of it to merit the price! Thank you!

교육 기관: Jaspreet S P

Feb 01, 2020

The course was a great kick-starter for me. Kudos to the whole team. But the course was more focused on the tools made by the university. It would have been awesome if they have explained the ins and outs of the theory and back end process they are teaching along with their tools usage.

교육 기관: Eric H

Jul 26, 2019

While this course was very helpful in learning about DTU's tools (the final project was pretty helpful), I initially thought this course would also go over non-DTU tools, so perhaps it would be better to clarify that in the course title.

교육 기관: Adeyemi S

Feb 20, 2019

Please, improvements on the bioinformatic tools and the zipped files will be appreciated, i had little difficulty opening and accessing them on my andriod device, however overall, the course was enlightening

교육 기관: Carol H

Apr 01, 2019

The information presented was very good in terms of content. Sometimes the accent of the tutors was difficult to follow and the English translation of the text for the presentations were not always accurate.

교육 기관: Ulla J C

Jan 14, 2020

Please correct the text as there are many mistakes. It it simply not being typed correctly to what the teachers are actually saying. Otherwise I think it was a good course. I enjoyed it. Thanks :)

교육 기관: Sayan P

Oct 01, 2018

This course helped me a lot in determining bacterial typing. Just one question, in some quizzes I got some answers wrong so is there any way of knowing the right answer.

교육 기관: SHAMSUDIN A

Jan 13, 2018

A very interesting course. Simple and easy to follow. I learnt so much from the course. It has increased my desire to learn more about bacterial genomics.

교육 기관: Ben W

Oct 24, 2017

Very informative course. Some practical exercises don't giive alwys the expected result.

e.g. pMLST of question 9 Quiz 4

교육 기관: Jorge G

Oct 17, 2019

Un buen curso para aprender a utilizar las herramientas descritas. Gran utilidad de cara al futuro profesional.

교육 기관: Matthew Y

Mar 03, 2019

Very much enjoyed the course and the practice problems involving Whole Genome Sequencing on the CGE website

교육 기관: ananya s

Nov 07, 2019

VERY THOROUGH AND INFORMATIVE. EAGER TO DO THE OTHER COURSES.

교육 기관: AGBO A A J B P

Nov 29, 2018

perfect course . very instructive and well detail

교육 기관: Yasser M

May 05, 2018

It is one of the best MOOC courses I have Taken.

교육 기관: Ivonne G

Nov 20, 2017

I really like it. Easy and practical.

교육 기관: Bikash K

Jan 15, 2019

Very simple and informative

교육 기관: Romain M

Jul 22, 2018

Great course, thanks

교육 기관: Frédéric B G

Nov 11, 2019

This course has been mainly constructed to explain how the full set of bioinformatic tools developed by the CGE of DTU can be used. Personally, I would have preferred a course with more theoretical basis.

교육 기관: Luisa F D B

Jan 29, 2020

I liked some of the sections but the course is really focused on the platform developed by its university, so despite it is useful it does not give examples of another tool like BLAST

교육 기관: Harvey T

Oct 29, 2019

the presentation skills and the language were not so high. some files that need analysis are not working. But it is useful course by the end.Thx alot

교육 기관: Jing C

Nov 15, 2017

Wish it was more concise.

교육 기관: shilpa y

Feb 20, 2020

If you are willing to learn about the WGS analysis, this is not the course for you. The course is all about tools developed by DTU and how to use them. There is a very insufficient background given for all tools. A lot of time has been spent on explaining unnecessary details about using tools, like where to put email it! Concepts are not explained properly. I find the course structure very poor. Last but not least, the main instructor of the course has an accent very difficult to comprehend.