Chevron Left
Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
1,847개의 평가
432개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

최상위 리뷰

AD
2019년 3월 25일

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM
2021년 2월 27일

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

필터링 기준:

Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science의 425개 리뷰 중 401~425

교육 기관: S. U

2020년 8월 9일

Interesting topics, lots of puzzles, but lacks structure. Lectures are well-prepared, but as someone new to this space, I would have preferred a bit more structure to the learning, with a clearer idea of how we would incorporate the concepts into something more than simply solving odd parlor trick puzzles.

As it stands now, I'm not confident I would recognize when I would be able to deploy any of the skills/concepts taught in the course. A shame, because the instructors are easy to follow and engaging.

교육 기관: Araik B

2020년 12월 28일

I came out of that with a 100% and was confused from start to finish. Some of the classes did help in regards to the other programming class I took.

The beginning message that you do not need to know anything other than algebra and basic math was way off.

I don't feel like i got much out of this specific one but it is part of a package so we will see how the rest develop - usually its by the last class im like OH THIS IS WHY

교육 기관: Jeffrey W

2020년 11월 3일

Not great quality of teaching. They made lots of assumptions about what you knew and could have explained things a lot more comprehensively. They also made a lot of mistakes In their speaking, and corrected them with numerous on screen corrections, which made It hard to get Into the flow of the class.

교육 기관: DINKAR S K 2

2021년 5월 27일

The course itself is good. Easy to hard problems. But the external tools which helps you in solving puzzles does not work. So, you will be unable to get through the course. This may be perfectly OK if you care about the grades, but not if you really want to learn.

교육 기관: Nijat A

2020년 10월 29일

I personally think the content could have been better structured and explained - I had to frequently refer to other materials on the internet to understand some of the concepts. Also, the programming task in Week 6 is not designed for a beginner such as myself.

교육 기관: Ian L

2018년 9월 3일

I got stuck for ages on the last puzzle where you cut the squares, because it was not obvious that the middle square was not supposed to be counted as the shape - it looks like a grid of 9 squares.

교육 기관: Aaron A

2020년 6월 6일

A lot of sections were not explained really well. I had a hard time following the concepts.

교육 기관: Sidney G

2020년 10월 19일

The lecture is good however, it is difficult to understand because of the stuttering.

교육 기관: Matthew E

2020년 4월 27일

Some interesting ideas, but course delivery and content needs a lot of work.

교육 기관: Ramkumar

2020년 4월 22일

i don't know how this course is going to help in computer scien

교육 기관: Luis M V F

2020년 1월 9일

This course lacks of mathematical foundations.

교육 기관: Assael M

2021년 5월 10일

course material was great

교육 기관: Ganesh P

2021년 3월 23일

I can't figure out what direction the course is going, and what the end goal is each lesson or in general. I don't feel like i'm learning anything objective but that i'm just being presented with loose and abstract ideas, that can't be applied anywhere.

You need to watch the video a couple of times to understand what they are talking about and even then you don't know why we are learning to solve that puzzle, what can be taken away from it that is useful anywhere else.

ABSOLUTE WASTE OF MONEY!

There is no refund, so I cancelled my subscription but watch everyday anyways to get my money's worth, hoping to see if by chance i find something useful to apply in my programming, but it's fruitless. Even by the poll results from quizzes, you can tell, most people aren't following.

To think this is course is provided by a university. Youtube provides much better content for free and I just found a good course

교육 기관: Khan S H

2020년 5월 21일

week 2 to week 5 does not cover much, especially does not provide any clue how that could be used in computer science. It shows many ways to solve the problem but give zero direction how one could think about a new problem. When you have a new problem, you do not know which theory will apply. How should we think to decide which theory will work, this should be covered.

교육 기관: Onur S S

2020년 9월 3일

I'd give 5 star, i just wanna indicate a problem. After week 3, 3rd party puzzle app links are broken. I can't do exercises. I see '502 Bad Gateway nginx/1.18.0' error on my page. Apart from this, course is awesome.

교육 기관: Riley K

2021년 6월 15일

Link for quiz tool did not work and wasn't fixed after a month. The order of the units seemed like it made little sense in my opinion. Some questions were worded poorly or crucial information was left out or vague

교육 기관: rajinder s s

2020년 12월 13일

I did not get much from the course. while the material is interesting but somehow some instructors lack the ability to explain things very clearly.

교육 기관: Balakumaran

2020년 4월 12일

The worst course I have ever taken. Concepts have been explained very poorly. Please please don't waste time on learning this course.

교육 기관: kaushik

2020년 6월 10일

some of the topics were fucking bad the explanations could have been a way more clearer felt bad

교육 기관: Andrea Z

2020년 4월 26일

good content, but I have to say that is very and I mean very hard to understand the teachers

교육 기관: William L H

2020년 8월 24일

I'm not sure which is more bizarre, the topics being discussed or the quizzes.

교육 기관: CH C

2021년 6월 21일

solutions are contradictory. i am trying to unenroll, please help me, thanks

교육 기관: RAYADURGAM K K

2020년 5월 17일

By far the worst Coursera course, I've taken

교육 기관: Yiqing L

2020년 2월 26일

quiz is too hard!!

교육 기관: forat s

2020년 11월 26일

Very poor