Chevron Left
Flight mechanics - The basis(으)로 돌아가기

ISAE-SUPAERO의 Flight mechanics - The basis 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
149개의 평가
41개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

More than one century after the Wright brothers' first flight, the flight still defy our intuition. You will learn here how to name the different parts of the airplane and how to describe and quantify its geometry. For that, we need now to share a precise vocabulary to describe the airplane's movement and attitude in space, and a refresher on basic general mechanic principles. You will remind how Newton's 2nd law allows you to determine what force must be applied on an apple - or on an airplane, to modify the magnitude and direction of its speed. Coming back on the concepts of kinetic energy and potential energy, you will discover the very useful concept of total height and you will be able to explain how an airplane can quickly exchange speed for altitude, while changes in total height are much slower. In the end, you will discover that only a very small number of forces apply on an airplane in flight and that you will be able to classify those that change its energy state and those that modify its trajectory. You will discover the concept of load factor and understand why the pilot of a combat aircraft can feel a weight nine-time greater than his actual weight! Finally, we will establish the lift and propulsion equations, that form the basis of flight mechanics, and you will be able to compute the lift and thrust necessary to follow a given trajectory at a given speed. This course is for anybody interested in learning more about how planes work, the physics of flying, or flight mechanics. It will be of particular interest to undergraduate students in aerospace engineering, trainees as well as senior pilots, journalists, and professionals in the aeronautics sector. Although some mathematical formalism may be present sometimes. It is always doubled by sketches, figures, and hands-explanations. So that, anybody can skip the formulas without losing the core understanding of the concepts. No apples were harmed in the making of this course... This course is only a foretaste of the mechanics of flight. ISAE-SUPAERO and Eric Poquillon will offer you other courses and the first specialization in autumn 2021. Initially, three courses will be published to answer several questions: Can we fly as high as we want? What is a stall? Why do some planes have propellers and others have jet engines? Is an airplane always stable? How do you control an airplane following an engine failure? All this and more will be covered in this series of flight mechanics courses. This course is a part of the specialization "Fundamentals of Flight mechanics"....

최상위 리뷰

AA

2021년 11월 3일

The effort put into the course preparation is too good. Some of the quizzes seemed to be a few levels higher than the course but that's the beauty of it. It makes us think. Great job!

GR

2022년 1월 20일

This was an excellent introduction into Flight Mechanics. Eric's video's are great and really helps to understand the concepts explained.

필터링 기준:

Flight mechanics - The basis의 43개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Zoltán N

2021년 8월 5일

It need deep learning and attention to write the correct formulas, but it's a big worthless effort without a certificate.

교육 기관: Olivier D P

2021년 8월 11일

This is a painfull not to provide a certificate for this MOOC. The topic are interesting and we may produce effort & time to succed finally without a gratification. For a school like Supaero with this only MOOC , finally it is better for such a subject to go to an other Academic Provider

교육 기관: Gabriel C

2021년 8월 8일

This course is very useful to learn Flight mechanics, the basics physics, but with the methods of test I get trouble. I got the right answers but the system is very delicate with the commas or the underlines, and give a lot of trouble to approve the test because of that. Also it will be great to have a certificate, but it gives not.

교육 기관: Yu-Cheng C

2021년 8월 15일

T​he content is helpful and inspiring for those who are interested in Flight Mechanics. However, there are some typo in the quiz (and sometimes they affect the meaning of the problems, for example, the incorrect parameter the speed at the top of the loop "n_C" in the final exam, which should have been "V_C" according to the problem setting). I can see the instructor is trying to use different ways for students to interact with the problems, but it seems that some questions like "choose all the words describing the attitude of the airplane" in the assessment for week 2 is too ambiguous and could not be answered correctly. For the last exam, I have to go back to check the discussion forum to see how others program the answer so that the answer can be accepted by the system before I can pass the exam, even though my derivation for the answer is correct (for example, in the problem, some of the parameters have suffix, so I type, for example, "V_A", and the preview shows the correct suffix, but the form accepted is "VA", which is not suffixed). Generally speaking, if you are not that care about the score and want a definite 100% score, you will have a great time learning this course.

교육 기관: alen t

2021년 11월 4일

The effort put into the course preparation is too good. Some of the quizzes seemed to be a few levels higher than the course but that's the beauty of it. It makes us think. Great job!

교육 기관: Jotaro S

2022년 1월 4일

T​he videos were extremely concise, and I felt I really learned a lot from this course. Although I'm 13 years old, I managed to push through with my love for planes.

교육 기관: UDAYA K

2021년 9월 4일

THANKS SIR ERIC FOR TEACHING ME AND OTHERS ABOUT THE BASICS PARTS AND BASIC PRINCIPLES OF FLIGHT AND ITS MECHANICS. A WARM THANKS .

교육 기관: Sunil K G

2021년 10월 11일

Superb course to get along with the basics of flight mechanics. Strongly recommended!

교육 기관: H? X N C

2021년 8월 18일

this is helpful

교육 기관: Gaveau A

2021년 8월 29일

I​nteresting course but the formulas to type are were quite hard.

교육 기관: Abeeha B

2021년 8월 22일

Learned alot.

교육 기관: Ramon C

2021년 10월 1일

w​ell that goos experience taken this course refresh my memory from school time profesor Poquillon

w​as excellent wath he give us in that course some people has to study a couple a years en especial all calculation i have Doug and ask a two former pilot and the can not help wo fin al with that and they give me complements to me al the course and profesor they coment was thatb was acomplete course to any one thatb want to be a pilot or aircraft mechanic.

t​he final tast the shoul be in multiple choice that was some kind the hard but we DIT IT.

T​HANK YOU.

교육 기관: Gudisa S

2022년 3월 21일

An amazing course for students pursuing Aerospace/Aeronautical/Mechanical Engineering

The way problems are approached, the teaching methods, the formal humor, the absolutely amazing practial application probelms and assignments is an icing on the cake!

Highly recommend every dreamer out there to take a look at the course

교육 기관: Natasha

2022년 6월 17일

This was a very interesting course to learn the basis of aerodynamics. I've learned so much and the material was great. I'd like to thank the professor for using so many resources of learning on this, it really helped me get the visual understanding, specially on the more physics and mathematics part.

교육 기관: Jade M

2022년 7월 4일

Great course thanks to great explanations of the teacher ! I learnt many interesting things, loved it so far.

One remark, it would be great to have more explanations about quiz answers.

교육 기관: Carlos E M M

2022년 2월 3일

This is an excellent course. It gives you the basics of flight mechanics explained by a profesor that really understand the core of each topic. I greatly recommend it.

교육 기관: Aayush S

2022년 7월 5일

It was a really great course with short and informative videos and also very meaningful quizzes and assignment. I am glad that I chose this course.

교육 기관: Gert R

2022년 1월 21일

This was an excellent introduction into Flight Mechanics. Eric's video's are great and really helps to understand the concepts explained.

교육 기관: Eric T

2022년 5월 27일

V​ery good course that give the basics principles of Flight Mechanics, recommended for anybody interested to learn aerospace engineering

교육 기관: Gustavo G

2021년 11월 10일

Excellent explanation, very clear concepts and great mastery of the teacher !

교육 기관: Jessica A

2021년 9월 17일

It was great learning opportunity. I wish it has a certificate of completion

교육 기관: Semachew F M

2021년 11월 15일

I need the certificate. And you should provide that.

교육 기관: Caroline A

2022년 5월 10일

​greatest course and teacher too! Thanks a lot

교육 기관: Mehmet M

2021년 11월 25일

thank you very much, it is really great course

교육 기관: Imtiyaz R

2022년 3월 5일

benifical for aeronautical engineers