Chevron Left
Bioinformatic Methods II(으)로 돌아가기

토론토 대학교의 Bioinformatic Methods II 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
430개의 평가
75개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I, dealt with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. This, the second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, will cover motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course although some command line work (though within a web browser) occurs in the 5th module. Bioinformatic Methods II is regularly updated, and was last updated for February 2021....

최상위 리뷰

RG
2017년 4월 5일

Gives the student real world exposure to the tools to study proteins gene regulation, etc. Instructor is involved and friendly. Highly recommended for someone who is interested in contemporary

MS
2018년 8월 19일

It was a very complete course to understand protein interaction and how to use data bases to quantify it\n\nI recommend this course to every master student doing molecular biology or genetics.

필터링 기준:

Bioinformatic Methods II의 73개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Rafael O B

2019년 11월 4일

The course is a great introduction to bioinformatics to anyone who has never had any contact with it before. The lessons are taught in a very simple and understandable language. The only downside is that its a bit too focused on tools that are only available for plant scientists.

교육 기관: Nissi P M

2018년 1월 9일

Hi Nicholas, Thank you so much for giving a lot of information. Bioinformatic Methods II was little difficult but understood after repeating the lad discussions. Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: Mateusz J

2020년 4월 25일

The first part is very well presented however what I did not particularly like was the part where R program was included. It basically taught to copy and paste R commands into the program without teaching how the program really works, so in the future, we still won't be able to use it. Other than that, great course!

교육 기관: Alexander K

2017년 6월 8일

It is excellent and absorbing cource of bioinformatics. I enjoyed it a lot: many interesting and complex topics are explained by Prof. Provart. And almost everything becomes clear.

Only one topic was significantly difficult for me - the topic about gene expression, where R programming is applied. Some commands work only in online version of R. I nees some more time to realize the algorithm of this magic.

I recommend this course for most advanced students of medical university, and they have been expanded their horizonts of understanding biochemistry.

교육 기관: PRABHJEET K

2020년 5월 24일

Very good course and yes it is definitely levelled up compared to first course. but you can always do well as there are instuctions given at each step when doing the lab. There are so many things that i explored in this course like viewing protein structures in PyMOL, visualizing expressed genes as a heatmap, and exploring gene expression databases such as BAR. GOOD EXPERIENCE AND THANKU PROFESSOR NICHOLAS PROVART.

교육 기관: Benson N M

2017년 6월 2일

I really enjoyed the course -- especially learning more about proteins, gene expression and cis regulatory elements for example. The material provided has extra readings to augment what was done in the lectures and Labs. The discussion forum is active and from time to time the instructor answers the questions in the forum as well as mentors. A good place to start if you're starting out learning bioinformatics.

교육 기관: Stefano G

2015년 9월 11일

Bioinformatics Methods II provides a broad overview of several bioinformatics techniques for co-expression analyses. Lessons & Labs are as interesting and exciting as the ones of Bioinformatics Methods I - which I suggest to attend as well.

Again, this "training on the job" approach is useful for achieving familiarity with this rich and many-sided subject.

Thanks professor Provart & team for this!!!

교육 기관: Göksu

2020년 10월 31일

I have benefited from this course a lot. I now know how to do bioinformatic analysis with using various of softwares. In this course I have learned to analyze the protein motifs and profiles, use databases to investigate protein protein interactions, visualize the structures of proteins and the expression of genes. As an undergraduate student, I really enjoyed doing this 8-week hands-on practice!

교육 기관: Sumit K

2021년 1월 3일

If you're not sure where to start with Proteomics this is the best course to go with. Thank you so much for such a comprehensive course. I really enjoyed the course, especially the lab work given every week. I feel confident to explore these tools and databases for my projects. Thank you once again.

교육 기관: Katherine G B L

2018년 4월 1일

I just loved the course, I learned several tools in a short time and I hope to take advantage of them in the future. This course encouraged me to continue with similar ones.

Many thanks to Professor Provart, for his simple way of explaining, I hope he continues to dictate other courses in the future.

교육 기관: Ali P

2020년 5월 22일

It is really so informative professional course which provides the support to the modern molecular biologists and other scientists in bio-sciences to understand the basics of genomic data and how to analyze it professionally. Many thanks to the course team.

교육 기관: Joy D

2020년 8월 23일

Informative and well explained ! I have learned so many skills from this course and will recommend both of the courses ( I and II) to anyone who is interested in learning bioinformatics! Many Many thanks to Sir "Provart" for making such an amazing course.

교육 기관: Ji-Young K

2016년 10월 2일

I absolutely loved this course. The material is highly relevant to someone who works with large databases and computational tools. The lab portion really demonstrates how different online resources can help answer research questions.

교육 기관: Nurudeen O

2019년 9월 12일

The course is nicely put together. The hands-on experience with the lab exercises makes the course more experiential. I have gained both the knowledge of the latest tools and programs used in Bioinformatics.

교육 기관: Robert G

2017년 4월 6일

Gives the student real world exposure to the tools to study proteins gene regulation, etc. Instructor is involved and friendly. Highly recommended for someone who is interested in contemporary

교육 기관: mariano r

2018년 8월 19일

It was a very complete course to understand protein interaction and how to use data bases to quantify it

I recommend this course to every master student doing molecular biology or genetics.

교육 기관: Carlos A P R

2021년 8월 9일

In general it is excellent, the only problem is the installation of HISAT on PC, the teacher cannot give technical assistance on this, but the online version works great.

교육 기관: Mim A

2016년 1월 30일

I really appreciate these series of courses, I want to thank Prof. Provart and his coligues for their great job on preparing and presenting these series. Thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Anja R

2015년 8월 24일

Excellent course with excellent support by the Professor and Mentor. Covers what you need to know about protein bioinformatics and detailed expression analysis.

교육 기관: Ana P

2020년 11월 12일

Very good job in introducing new programs for analysing data in this field. Interesting and I hope it will benefit me in my masters degree. I recomend !

교육 기관: NARAYANA S K

2020년 5월 19일

Great way of teaching. Step by step procedure followed in this course enable the learners to grasp quickly and efficiently. Thank you

교육 기관: MARIO C

2020년 9월 10일

Very recommendend after had attend BM 1. Prof. Provart always available to answer every question. Best couple of courses until now.

교육 기관: Wambui K

2018년 12월 18일

The course was great. I have developed and learnt so much that can be applied to my thesis. i especially love the hands on lab.

교육 기관: Carlos M H

2019년 2월 20일

Very useful for gene expression analysis, I have learned a lot and now I have a list of useful websites for future researches.

교육 기관: michelle

2015년 10월 27일

I use this course as a good resource it has been very helpfull for me the explanation of Dr Provart are incredibly good.