Chevron Left
Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court(으)로 돌아가기

로잔대학교의 Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
309개의 평가
95개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The aim of this course is to promote critical thinking with regard to forensic science. Today, in general, most people are dazzled by the technical possibilities offered by forensic science. They somewhat live in the illusion that forensic evidence is fool proof and brings factual findings with 100% certainty. This course – given by specialists in the field – goes beyond the conventional image that is promoted through TV series such as CSI. It alerts (without alarming) the public on the limits of the techniques in order to promote a sound administration of forensic science in the criminal justice system.  It allows participants to understand the importance of probabilistic reasoning in forensic science, because uncertainty is a constitutive part of forensic science. The course is constructed as a series of causes célèbres that could or have led to miscarriages of justice. Some of these cases have been part of case reviews carried out at the School of Criminal Justice of the University of Lausanne....

최상위 리뷰

AM
2021년 2월 20일

Very interesting course developing an understanding of forensic science and its use in various criminal cases as well as highlighting the limitations and challenges associated with its use in court.

SS
2019년 12월 2일

The course is excellent. The teachers are very competent and teach in a friendly manner. I am a teacher of Criminal Law in Brazil and I also indicated the course to my students. Congratulations!

필터링 기준:

Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court의 94개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Abhishek U A

2020년 4월 29일

It helps your analytical thinking and logical reasoning.

교육 기관: Caroline

2019년 1월 21일

This course is a great introduction into the hierarchy of propositions and our duty to the court as expert witnesses. It discusses in length the importance of reporting two alternate hypothesis in a balanced and transparent manner. It also drills home the risks involved, and uses several real life case studies to demonstrate what happens when science isn't followed or communicated correctly – that is, the associated dangers of misrepresentation and misinterpretation of results by both practitioner and judiciary. If you're skeptical and still questioning the importance of improving current state reporting and testimony (particularly within the pattern matching disciplines), then watch the interviews of victims affected by high profile erroneous fingerprint identifications (McKie/Mayfield). It not only humanizes what we do, but reminds us that we have a duty to the court, to the science and to public safety. It was a great privilege to be taught by leading forensic practitioners! Their collective wealth of knowledge is evident and I admire the large amount of behind-the-scenes work that would have been put into producing this course. I highly recommend this to people interested in strengthening forensic science, and I look forward to the next installment.

교육 기관: Jan D K

2019년 1월 30일

Well done Christophe, Alex, Tacha and Franco. The explanation regarding the different cases was very interesting to read. I wasn’t aware of all the impact and only know part of the stories behind the forensics.

This course is also very interesting to non-scientists and I am curious to see if the prosecutors understand the concepts of it. In our common previous experience, I was very disappointed in our attempt to explane the ENFSI guideline to Eurojust.

I look forward to see more of the same stuff here on coursera. Take care, Jan DE KINDER

교육 기관: sandro s

2019년 12월 3일

The course is excellent. The teachers are very competent and teach in a friendly manner. I am a teacher of Criminal Law in Brazil and I also indicated the course to my students. Congratulations!

교육 기관: Courtney B

2020년 4월 4일

An excellent course; particularly for law students with an interest in pursuing criminal law and broadening their understanding of the applications of forensic evidence in the field.

교육 기관: Gowtham A

2020년 5월 9일

This course helped me in various aspects of forensic science with interesting case law and overall i made use of quarantine Productively

Thank you

교육 기관: BOUZAID

2019년 1월 12일

Cours vraiment intéressant, qui a un intérêt autant pour les scientifiques que les magistrats, et permet de mieux comprendre l'interprétation des données scientifiques en forensique. La forme du cours est idéale : des vidéos courtes et qui reprennent plusieurs fois les notions importantes. Merci aux créateurs (des pointures du domaine forensique) du cours et vous qui hésitez encore, lancez-vous !

교육 기관: Coreen S

2019년 4월 13일

Great Course, learned a lot on evaluative report writing and how forensic science should speak to the course. However, it would have been interesting to see how offender profiling in a expert witness context should speak to courts.

교육 기관: Merisa C

2019년 1월 3일

Beautifully designed course, interesting and on point lectures, creative and motivating lecturers. Loved included real cases. I enjoyed very much taking the course. Thank you for such constructive and helpful course!

교육 기관: Cobus-Henry S

2020년 4월 29일

Excellent content offered by pioneers in the field of scientific experts and how evidence is to be presented in courtrooms worldwide.

교육 기관: Bill P

2019년 3월 21일

Terrific course. Excellent instructors with essential guest participation and interviews. I'd very much like to see followup courses.

교육 기관: Victoria

2019년 10월 6일

Gives you a strong framework about what considerations a forensic expert has to consider with respect to the evidence vs the court.

교육 기관: Gaston P

2019년 1월 11일

Excellent Course, The transcripts should also be translated to other languages for the sake of non english speaking participants.

교육 기관: NKOSINGIPHILE T

2019년 9월 1일

Nice and interesting course indeed!. Lot of skills I have acquired and I will be aware of mistakes that we normally do.

교육 기관: Jenny O

2019년 8월 12일

Very interestin and well presented course.

교육 기관: Flavio L R

2019년 5월 24일

Great course with much useful information.

교육 기관: ABHIJIT R

2020년 4월 19일

Excellent Course

교육 기관: Alexis M C

2019년 1월 7일

It is a course to pay close attention because of the type of information taught. Forensic Statistics was difficult for me. I did learn a lot and believe I could use this information in my own Criminal Cases here in Yucatan, Mexico.

교육 기관: Maria C F L

2020년 8월 26일

Difficult but interesting course. Topic (but then its math) is still a little abstract. Discussion could be clearer.

교육 기관: ADAMS M

2021년 2월 21일

Very interesting course developing an understanding of forensic science and its use in various criminal cases as well as highlighting the limitations and challenges associated with its use in court.

교육 기관: LYNELLE T W Q

2020년 7월 11일

One of the most well-structured online courses I have taken so far! The objectives and learning points are clearly emphasised every lecture and overall this was a great course.

교육 기관: lelievre

2019년 11월 14일

cours très pédagogiques, formats adaptés, contenu adapté à la pratique, à conseiller! et à appliquer en pratique!

교육 기관: massimiliano s

2019년 1월 2일

I found in this course all the things that one forensic scientist must be aware about! Thank You

교육 기관: Dan C

2020년 3월 24일

excellent. I learned a few things that I was unaware of. Good teaching and excellent examples.

교육 기관: Felix A K O

2020년 11월 17일

VERY HELP AND I WILL RECOMMEND TO ALL, ESPECIALLY THOSE IN THE FIELD OF INVESTIGATIONS.