Chevron Left
Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court(으)로 돌아가기

로잔대학교의 Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
161개의 평가
47개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The aim of this course is to promote critical thinking with regard to forensic science. Today, in general, most people are dazzled by the technical possibilities offered by forensic science. They somewhat live in the illusion that forensic evidence is fool proof and brings factual findings with 100% certainty. This course – given by specialists in the field – goes beyond the conventional image that is promoted through TV series such as CSI. It alerts (without alarming) the public on the limits of the techniques in order to promote a sound administration of forensic science in the criminal justice system.  It allows participants to understand the importance of probabilistic reasoning in forensic science, because uncertainty is a constitutive part of forensic science. The course is constructed as a series of causes célèbres that could or have led to miscarriages of justice. Some of these cases have been part of case reviews carried out at the School of Criminal Justice of the University of Lausanne....

최상위 리뷰

SS

Dec 03, 2019

The course is excellent. The teachers are very competent and teach in a friendly manner. I am a teacher of Criminal Law in Brazil and I also indicated the course to my students. Congratulations!

JR

May 27, 2020

The instructors are very helpful and accessible. The course is enlightening and very important in the effective interpretation of forensic science. Thank you for preparing this course!

필터링 기준:

Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court의 47개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Abhishek U A

Apr 29, 2020

It helps your analytical thinking and logical reasoning.

교육 기관: Caroline

Jan 21, 2019

This course is a great introduction into the hierarchy of propositions and our duty to the court as expert witnesses. It discusses in length the importance of reporting two alternate hypothesis in a balanced and transparent manner. It also drills home the risks involved, and uses several real life case studies to demonstrate what happens when science isn't followed or communicated correctly – that is, the associated dangers of misrepresentation and misinterpretation of results by both practitioner and judiciary. If you're skeptical and still questioning the importance of improving current state reporting and testimony (particularly within the pattern matching disciplines), then watch the interviews of victims affected by high profile erroneous fingerprint identifications (McKie/Mayfield). It not only humanizes what we do, but reminds us that we have a duty to the court, to the science and to public safety. It was a great privilege to be taught by leading forensic practitioners! Their collective wealth of knowledge is evident and I admire the large amount of behind-the-scenes work that would have been put into producing this course. I highly recommend this to people interested in strengthening forensic science, and I look forward to the next installment.

교육 기관: Jan D K

Jan 30, 2019

Well done Christophe, Alex, Tacha and Franco. The explanation regarding the different cases was very interesting to read. I wasn’t aware of all the impact and only know part of the stories behind the forensics.

This course is also very interesting to non-scientists and I am curious to see if the prosecutors understand the concepts of it. In our common previous experience, I was very disappointed in our attempt to explane the ENFSI guideline to Eurojust.

I look forward to see more of the same stuff here on coursera. Take care, Jan DE KINDER

교육 기관: BOUZAID

Jan 12, 2019

Cours vraiment intéressant, qui a un intérêt autant pour les scientifiques que les magistrats, et permet de mieux comprendre l'interprétation des données scientifiques en forensique. La forme du cours est idéale : des vidéos courtes et qui reprennent plusieurs fois les notions importantes. Merci aux créateurs (des pointures du domaine forensique) du cours et vous qui hésitez encore, lancez-vous !

교육 기관: Coreen S

Apr 13, 2019

Great Course, learned a lot on evaluative report writing and how forensic science should speak to the course. However, it would have been interesting to see how offender profiling in a expert witness context should speak to courts.

교육 기관: Merisa C

Jan 03, 2019

Beautifully designed course, interesting and on point lectures, creative and motivating lecturers. Loved included real cases. I enjoyed very much taking the course. Thank you for such constructive and helpful course!

교육 기관: sandro s

Dec 03, 2019

The course is excellent. The teachers are very competent and teach in a friendly manner. I am a teacher of Criminal Law in Brazil and I also indicated the course to my students. Congratulations!

교육 기관: Courtney B

Apr 04, 2020

An excellent course; particularly for law students with an interest in pursuing criminal law and broadening their understanding of the applications of forensic evidence in the field.

교육 기관: Gowtham A

May 09, 2020

This course helped me in various aspects of forensic science with interesting case law and overall i made use of quarantine Productively

Thank you

교육 기관: Cobus-Henry S

Apr 29, 2020

Excellent content offered by pioneers in the field of scientific experts and how evidence is to be presented in courtrooms worldwide.

교육 기관: Bill P

Mar 21, 2019

Terrific course. Excellent instructors with essential guest participation and interviews. I'd very much like to see followup courses.

교육 기관: Victoria

Oct 06, 2019

Gives you a strong framework about what considerations a forensic expert has to consider with respect to the evidence vs the court.

교육 기관: Gaston P

Jan 11, 2019

Excellent Course, The transcripts should also be translated to other languages for the sake of non english speaking participants.

교육 기관: NKOSINGIPHILE T

Sep 01, 2019

Nice and interesting course indeed!. Lot of skills I have acquired and I will be aware of mistakes that we normally do.

교육 기관: lelievre

Nov 14, 2019

cours très pédagogiques, formats adaptés, contenu adapté à la pratique, à conseiller! et à appliquer en pratique!

교육 기관: massimiliano s

Jan 02, 2019

I found in this course all the things that one forensic scientist must be aware about! Thank You

교육 기관: Dan C

Mar 24, 2020

excellent. I learned a few things that I was unaware of. Good teaching and excellent examples.

교육 기관: Felix A

May 05, 2020

VERY HELP AND I WILL RECOMMEND TO ALL, ESPECIALLY THOSE IN THE FIELD OF INVESTIGATIONS.

교육 기관: Aarushi

Apr 11, 2020

the teaching methods and articles provided a lot of help! It'a course worth doing.

교육 기관: Germán E C H

Sep 30, 2019

Very important course to clean and use an appropriated language in court.

교육 기관: Clene A O

Apr 12, 2020

Very educative and eye opening course.

I enjoyed it thoroughly.

교육 기관: Jennifer O

Aug 12, 2019

Very interestin and well presented course.

교육 기관: Flavio L R

May 24, 2019

Great course with much useful information.

교육 기관: ABHIJIT R

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent Course

교육 기관: Diego N A

Oct 14, 2019

Excellent course