Chevron Left
Climate Adaptation in Africa(으)로 돌아가기

케이프타운대학교의 Climate Adaptation in Africa 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
67개의 평가
29개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course explores why climate change adaptation is important in the African context. Africa is considered one to be one of the most vulnerable regions to climate change. Historically, climate-related hazards such as drought, flooding, pest and disease outbreaks, coastal storms and heat waves have had devastating impacts on people and the environment in which they live. Often the damage knocks back progress that has been made in social and economic development, slowing down the achievement of development goals. Climate models suggest that many of these climatic hazards will intensify as the global climate warms. Building resilience to climate risks, through adaptation, is critically important for future development in Africa. The course will examine adaptation in theory and in practice, through a focus on four sectors that are critically important for climate resilient development in Africa: Water Security, Agriculture and Food Security, Ecosystems and Ecosystem Services and Resilient Cities....

최상위 리뷰

TM
2020년 7월 6일

i learnt a lot from this course. not only do i know more about climate change impacts on the environment, but also how to mitigate risks related to climate change and how to adapt to those risks.

SN
2018년 10월 30일

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested.

필터링 기준:

Climate Adaptation in Africa의 29개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Etienne K K

2020년 5월 4일

Very good course. Very knowledgeable tutor. Mark was very clear, each point presented fitted very well with the content being discussed. The examples used were very practical and very informative.

This was a very excellent course and highly recommended for even African leaders.

However, the grading of peer reviews could be improved. The points could be better distributed to cover various scenarios. For example, if a question requires a list of 3 items and an explanation of each, it needs to have pointing systems that range from 6 to 1. meaning if 1 is missing from the list, then we can score 4/6. Or if 1 is listed without explanation, then it is a 5/6 score. In many cases, grading was easy, but assigning a score was not so easy as in-betweens were needed.

교육 기관: Andrew J C

2020년 7월 14일

Mark's clear and well layered explanation of the present climate situation in Africa, the predicted climate and ways to adapt to it are excellent. Mark puts the continent under a microscope for us, as he says Africa is the sharp end of climate change so this really opens our eyes to what will happen elsewhere the world and what can be done about it. The material he provides is easy to understand even if the ideas are complex. His guests provide a well balanced picture of the whole of Africa. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to understand climate change and adaptation.

교육 기관: Jasmin R

2020년 5월 4일

I found this course super interesting! It discusses a wide range of different adaptation issues, taking into consideration both the environmental and humanitarian aspects of climate change. Even though the focus is on Africa, the information can be adapted to other contexts as well. I was fairly well educated about climate change before taking the course, but I feel like it really boosted my knowledge of the adaptation and development aspect. I would definitely recommend it!

교육 기관: Fazla Z A

2020년 8월 22일

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested. i learnt a lot from this course. not only do i know more about climate change impacts on the environment, but also how to mitigate risks related to climate change and how to adapt to those risks.

교육 기관: ABHAY K J

2021년 5월 5일

The course is very helpful to know the real value of the resources around us and how we have to use and save these for entire population. Instructor of this course has also good tongue which make it mores easier to understand. The best part of the course is the case study done by the peoples familiar to African conditions.

교육 기관: David M G

2021년 2월 16일

Course is comprehensive with well-structured presentations and easily understandable explanations. Both theories and study cases are relevant to global climate change, beyond Africa, thus would recommend in renaming the course as simply 'Climate Adaptation.

교육 기관: Andrea C

2020년 8월 24일

Thank you so much Coursera, UCT and ACDI. The course content is informative and well structured. I have thoroughly enjoyed working through the material and feel that I have developed a good base understanding in this field.

교육 기관: Jessica A

2020년 3월 27일

So well presented, great content and useful exercises. Professor New has created a must-have course for anyone starting out in climate change adaptation, or those who need a refresher. I recommend it widely.

교육 기관: Tanaka M

2020년 7월 7일

i learnt a lot from this course. not only do i know more about climate change impacts on the environment, but also how to mitigate risks related to climate change and how to adapt to those risks.

교육 기관: Sizwe N

2018년 10월 31일

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested.

교육 기관: Mouloukou K

2020년 6월 29일

Very good course to understand Africa`s current & future challenges related to climate change and what could be possible to do in the African context. I highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Carl A S

2019년 8월 31일

A comprehensive introduction to the current and potential long-term effects of climate change on the socio-economic well-being of the African continent.

교육 기관: Thabisile N

2019년 10월 31일

Very informative course for people who want to learn fundamental issues of climate change adaptation in the African context. Highly recommended course.

교육 기관: Alexander B

2020년 5월 21일

Extremely good and insightful content on an equally pressing issue providing countless examples and progress markers to ensure your understanding.

교육 기관: KOUASSI K T B

2019년 10월 24일

Super ce cours. Je suis bien outillé pour comprendre les questions relatives au climat et les stratégies d'adaptation dans les pays africains.

교육 기관: Renelle

2020년 6월 3일

This is an excellent course. I learnt so much that I can start to apply in my current work environment. Thank you.

교육 기관: Lin K

2021년 3월 15일

For basic knowledge of climate change, this is a very good and useful course.

교육 기관: Danny A

2020년 10월 27일

It was very informative, timely and relevant in my country, the Philippines.

교육 기관: Thembekile D

2020년 11월 16일

Very informative course, well-planned lectures and content. Thank you

교육 기관: Bengt B

2021년 4월 16일

I am fully satisfied , as some of the tasks can be challenging.

교육 기관: Iviwe M

2020년 5월 28일

Very informative and eye-opening

교육 기관: Lily M

2020년 6월 30일

Really interesting course!

교육 기관: Winston A W

2020년 12월 28일

Excellent, thank you.

교육 기관: Kleber L d S

2020년 1월 29일

NOVOS CONHECIMENTOS

교육 기관: Sabitu I A

2020년 9월 10일

An explanatory and very interesting course for a beginner of climate study in africa.If you are a lazy student kindly stay off this course.