Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
976개의 평가
292개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

최상위 리뷰

EG

Jul 02, 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

필터링 기준:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description의 286개 리뷰 중 226~250

교육 기관: Viviana H A

Jun 21, 2020

This has been very useful.

교육 기관: magdalena

Mar 21, 2016

Excelente e inspirador.

교육 기관: Renan A S L C

Nov 12, 2018

Favourite one so far!

교육 기관: Kashish S

Jul 26, 2020

Much in-depth course

교육 기관: Paola G C

Dec 18, 2018

I loved this course!

교육 기관: Julian M

Aug 05, 2017

Loved these classes

교육 기관: xiaoqiang

Jan 29, 2019

aworesome course !

교육 기관: 19BU1T0017

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent courese

교육 기관: Hemant R J

Oct 02, 2017

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Ruben C

May 31, 2020

Wonderful course

교육 기관: Tim J

May 26, 2017

Excellent class!

교육 기관: Farid H

Sep 10, 2016

excellent course

교육 기관: Elizabeth G

Aug 06, 2017

I learned a lot

교육 기관: Michael J J

Sep 30, 2016

Great course!

교육 기관: JOHN Q

Jun 25, 2016

Great Course!

교육 기관: AMIR R A

Mar 28, 2019

very helpful

교육 기관: josé c l h

Nov 06, 2019

EXCEPTIONEL

교육 기관: Iris R

Jun 29, 2016

Thank you.

교육 기관: Ana C O G

May 30, 2018

Loved it!

교육 기관: Rachel M

Aug 07, 2017

excellent

교육 기관: Patricia R

May 16, 2017

Very good

교육 기관: Janie A

Aug 01, 2020

I am really enjoying the Creative Writing course, having completed 4 sections, which has helped me tremendously in developing my awareness and writing technique and skills. Now, when I'm reading a book or watching a movie/series, I find myself analyzing the character development, plot structure, etc.

My only criticism of this course is the lack of adherence to instructions by peers when reviewing the work of others. Too often, they simply reply to the review questions with one-word answers. This should somehow be monitored by the course administrators, and they should not receive credit for completing the 3 mandatory reviews in order to proceed with the course, since we as learners rely on constructive feedback.

교육 기관: Sophie S

Aug 06, 2018

I didn't love the videos in this course very much – they just weren't very helpful. They had some interesting thoughts, but for the most part they felt repetitive and for someone who hasn't written much creative writing.

However, I really liked the assignments and peer editing. This course challenged me to think about descriptions I wouldn't have otherwise, and made me think more about how the heart of a story is really in the description and setting. I got a lot more out of challenging myself with the assignments and getting surprising feedback than watching the videos.

교육 기관: Casey

Mar 18, 2016

I joined late, much too late to participate in many of the assignments with my busy schedule, but I took notes and read all the required reading. From this course I will take into my writing new, helpful skills. My favorite lesson was setting and description where I learned that the environment should not be described frivolously, but through the emotions and opinions of the character(s) who observe them. Thank you very much for your lessons, Amity Gaige, I'm now not as terrible as I was when I first started.

교육 기관: Adam M

Jul 03, 2020

This was a great course and Amity did a lot to make it as engaging as possible. It stands above most of the other courses in this specialisation due to the fact that there's actually required reading. For some reason 2 of the other courses didn't have this requirement, which seems little absurd to me. It would have been a 5 star review if not for the pitiful peer review system, which plagues every course in this specialisation.