Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
2,173개의 평가
737개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

최상위 리뷰

JJ
2020년 3월 21일

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

AP
2020년 8월 11일

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

필터링 기준:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity의 725개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Heike S

2018년 4월 26일

“One should not pursue goals that are easily achieved. One must develop an instinct for what one can just barely achieve through one’s greatest efforts.”

― Albert Einstein

The course was varied and motivating in its structure. Professor Larry Lagerstrom is an outstanding personality. It was a very enriching experience.

교육 기관: Steven G

2018년 6월 21일

Excellent course. I feel I gained some insight into the core concepts of special relativity. I took to heart the "festina lente" ethos exposed early in the course by the instructor. Larry Lagerstrom is a fantastic teacher, he has the ability to explain often complex material in a way to that makes it understandable.

교육 기관: Felix S G

2020년 5월 11일

This course offers an excellent and intuitive entry to the special theory of relativity. In my eyes, it is suited for everyone being fascinated by space-time and the "weirdness" of our universe and at the same time wants to dig a little deeper into the physical and mathematical framework of special relativity.

교육 기관: Gaurav B

2017년 7월 4일

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and it was informative and we'll presented. I think I will miss listening about time. For me its been much therapeutic. It challenges my brain to even visualize these concepts and hence I can spend as much time studying it. The presenter knows his stuff and like his simplicity.

교육 기관: Daniel H d A C

2017년 9월 5일

An outstanding course, it was what I was looking for to get a good understanding of the topic.

Really good course progression, well explained concepts. I am definitely happy and "1000%" satisfied with this amazing course, Professor Lagerstrom is simply amazing and he definitely deserves a strong acclamation!!

교육 기관: Solai S

2017년 6월 24일

It was incredibly interesting and enjoyable experience,the course instructor was fabulous and i could understand many mind baffling information with a surprising ease.I am looking forward for stanford university's course on the general theory of relativity and i hope that it is taught by the same professor.

교육 기관: Sujoy M

2020년 8월 2일

Great Course. I wish there would me more courses like this in other topics like general theory of relativity. Discussion forum is very active. Mentors are available to clarify any topics. Videos are a bit slow though, but you can always fast forward. I am grateful to the course instructor of this course.

교육 기관: Randy G

2018년 2월 14일

Absolutely wonderful course. I am grateful to Mr. Lagerstrom for making haste slowly in his explanations during the lectures. Really helped to cement the concepts and the math into the mind. This course comes with my highest recommendation to anyone who is interested in learning about Special Relativity.

교육 기관: Aman B

2017년 10월 18일

Excellent course which explores every concept of the theory deeply. It is a very interesting experience to see the theory build up little by little from scratch.

The discussions forums are great with active mentors.

I highly recommend it to anyone interested in science and willing to take some time out!

교육 기관: Deleted A

2017년 2월 5일

This is one of best courses I have ever taken. Professor Lagerstrom did an outstanding job in this clear,consistent and careful introduction to what is arguably one of the most revolutionary theories of all time. I am taking the 5 stars and multiplying by a lorentz factor of 1.2 to achieve 6 stars!!

교육 기관: Harjit B

2019년 1월 8일

Dr. Lagerstrom has done a beautiful job in giving an in depth view of the matter in a very accessible fashion. A complex phenomenon is explained in all its detail in a very nice blend of geometry and elementary algebra, The problem sets and the quizzes make you think. I fully recommend this course.

교육 기관: Vijayatha V

2018년 2월 3일

This course is amazing!! Even a person without physics and mathematics background can understand it. Its also very help for physics undergrad students like myself. The professor explains every concept patiently and refreshes the concept before going to the next one. Every one must try this course!!

교육 기관: Amar M

2020년 9월 11일

The methodology of the Professor to tech and explain this topic was amazing and helped me understand the concept which I otherwise would have never understood. I recommend this course for people from non-physics background but have keen interest in understanding the Special Theory of Relativity.

교육 기관: Nitin G

2020년 5월 21일

I had been trying to understand this concept from a long time and could never understood it.

This is the best course i had done and the Instructor Sir in awesome, just awesome.

I will let my daughter also take this course.

Would require a signed photo autograph of Larry Randles Lagerstrom , Please.

교육 기관: Felizitas R

2018년 12월 28일

Dieser Kurs war für mich als Neueinsteigerin genau richtig. Es wurde sehr verständliches Englisch gesprochen und die Begleitmaterialien waren ausführlich und hilfreich. Im Forum wurde auf Fragen immer sofort ausführlich geantwortet. Mir hat der Kurs sehr gefallen und ich habe viel gelernt.

교육 기관: Mohammed M

2018년 11월 4일

This is the most interesting topic I've ever learned in my life.Tons*C2 of thanks to professor Lagerstrom who explained everything clearly and patiently and thanks to Stanford university too. I would so recommend this course to my fellow science enthusiasts and thanks to you too coursera.

교육 기관: Shashank D

2018년 5월 26일

Very well designed course with good content and information. Also takes a methodical approach to teaching and is easy to follow and get a good understanding of the underlying concepts behind special theory of relativity with context around how it was conceived and developed by Einstein.

교육 기관: Tristan

2017년 3월 30일

Great class. The professor is very careful, clear, and methodical. If you know basic algebra then you'll be able to understand everything that goes on in this course. The progression is nice and slow so that when you get to the "weird stuff" it all makes perfect sense. Highly recommend.

교육 기관: Shubham J

2017년 9월 19일

We made haste slowly. :)

And, it helped absorb some concepts which I've read multiple times over and over but could never accept.

Despite having completed the course once, I keep revisiting the videos every now and then. It helps me further get the concepts as a part of my intuition.

교육 기관: Victoria P

2020년 6월 3일

Es un curso espectacular para los curiosos que estén dispuestos a hacer el esfuerzo que se requiere para entender. El profesor es claro y preciso y el curso es llevado de manera que se va acelerando suavemente hasta llegar al núcleo de la teoría. Muchas gracias! Lo disfruté mucho.

교육 기관: Olga G

2018년 6월 25일

Very well built and easy to digest course, even for somebody who is very far from maths and physics in day-to-day reality. Special thank you for refresh on school maths needed for the course - very helpful. The course takes some time and thinking, but worth it. Absolutely recommend!

교육 기관: Liviu A

2017년 12월 12일

Great, approachable course of the high summits of the human mind. I am grateful that I had the chance to understand this (for now) - or merely to be in the position of asking educated questions - during my lifetime. Thank you, professor Lagerstrom, Stanford University and Coursera!

교육 기관: Gustavo P

2017년 10월 21일

An excellent course! The professor's explanations are brilliant! And the exercises are well chosen and fit perfectly well the contents of the course. I cannot be happier with this course. Now I really feel I have a sound grasp of the Special Theory of Relativity and Einstein's life!

교육 기관: Dhananjay S

2018년 5월 6일

Great place to start the journey into the theory of relativity. Loved the Lectures, the Professor, the layout of the course. Being a Physics student this course seems to run a little slowly in the first few weeks but the detailed explanation of all the basic concepts was very good.

교육 기관: Mohamed R

2017년 7월 22일

One of the best courses i have ever taken it uses simple everyday language,also it is great for those who want to take a quantitative approach to the whole concept of relativity.This course also features one of the best if not the best professor of physics that ever taught to me .